We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place - life savers!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge
Ranked #28 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place - life savers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Travelling down to Napier on a petrol free road we found ourselves in urgent need of 'gas'. Passed the sign to the camp and decided it would be better to break down there than in the middle of the road. No one at reception at that time of night but we got a warm welcome down the phone and asked if we could make it down to the camp site. The owners were great and very accommodating, getting us drinks and a simple meal even though it was very late (and we definitely hadn't booked!). After star gazing (awesome black sky), we set up camp. The morning showed us to be right next to a great piece of river and mountains - the views were fantastic. We bought petrol from them and made our way to Napier. A genuinely great find and lovely people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJToyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    16
    3
    4
    12
See reviews for
29
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked to stay here with the GrabOne voucher. We arrived quite late at night and it was quite difficult to find our way around. To be honest, I was really disappointed with our chalet - it wasn't what I was expecting and I didn't realise there would be no toilet/shower in our accomodation and we would have to use a communal block. In the rain and mud this was not much fun! The room was really basic and didn't feel very clean. The shower and toilet block were pretty disgusting and I don't think it was cleaned at all the whole time we were there - hair, dirt and bugs everywhere (yuck!) The location itself is absolutely stunning but I felt it was really badly let down by the poor customer service. The owners seem pretty disinterested and I felt like I was annoying them if I asked a question. I also felt there were times they could have been more helpful but seemed like they couldn't be bothered. In saying this, we found the daughter on reception really lovely and as helpful as she could be. We did a horse trek which was really good and we enjoyed a lot. I wouldn't recommend the food - overpriced for what it is. I don't think I would pay full price for the chalet - just didn't seem worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dinosaur10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainV, Owner at Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your feedback Hayley. We appreciate you taking the time to put comments on this site however it’s very disappointing to hear some of what you had to say.
The bathrooms are cleaned daily and “the whole time you were here” was one full day - hardly time to comment that they were not cleaned regularly , however we have addressed cleanliness issues with our cleaners based on your feedback. We never attempt to hide the fact that there are no bathrooms in our chalets – as a camping ground shared ablutions are fairly standard.
We think that your disappointment in the customer service wasn’t very fair either. You chose to drive over a kilometre on a flat tyre then were disappointed that we didn’t neglect our other guests to help your partner fix the problem. He and Doug didn’t think he required more assistance just to change a tyre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caen, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

In addition to all the positive comments I just want to say that we went there during the low season (end of May) and still had a really good time. We were the only 2 people staying in the whole domain. It was a bit scary because we arrived at night and it as rainy, it felt like we were in a scary movie in the middle on nowhere. But when we woke up in the middle of the mountains with the river just down the chalet it was quite amazing. We went there using a voucher for 2 nights and 1h of rafting. We really enjoyed the rafting, and one of the advantages of going there during low season is that we had the raft guide just for ourselves and it was really relaxed.
We will definitely go back there with friends in summer time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nounouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

The staff where fantastic, I highly recommend this to anyone in NZ and especially any overseas travellers that love the outdoors, beautiful views, and the staff are just wonderful, I dear you to go to this lovely spot miles from any dairies/shops and spend a weekend there. You will not be disappointed and it just shows New Zealand to the world that its a beautiful place with beautiful people

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsalaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times, working for accomodation. It's a bit far into the middle of nowhere but worth the drive. The property is awesome, with great activities, and excellent weather. And if you're lucky you'll be helped by James who will do anything to make you happy, even if he is super busy he'll take a few minutes to help out with anything else. I don't think the guy stops moving.

In between a couple mountain ranges the weather always seems sunny, seen light rain a couple times but that's about it. I went rafting, riding, and paintballing. The activities are are worth it, but I think rafting would be my favorite. I guess I've been riding and paintballing before and new experiences always take the cake. Our raft guides were helpful, informative on the area, and of course very nice. As for the horses they're very easy to control, and basically do the work for you, and paintballing is always a ton of fun.

The beds are comfy, and there is free tea in each room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Explore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

After purchasing a 2 night&1hr activity deal off grabone, we booked for the last weekend before the voucher expired. Although the rooms which the voucher was for were all booked out, the daughter (who was nice) took our booking & accommodated us in a smaller room & gave us a free dinner (which was simple but tasty). Upon arrival down the 5km narrow gravel road into the dark mountains at 10pm, we found out that we needed to have booked the activity prior as the one included in the deal had sold out. Tired we said we would organize it all out the next day. After not getting a map of the park (yes, we did ask) we got terribly lost and drove around longer than necessary but found our room in the end. The next morning we had to ask another camper where the shower block was!

The manager failed to understand the booking book, which was a mess, and had to get another person to organize me & my partner into a horse ride (we had to pay extra to go on the longer). The horse ride was amazing however the instructors got quite fed up with some asian riders who obviously hadn't had much experience and the treatment of these tourists I thought was appalling as at one point the instructor complained that Japanese people cause trouble at the park.

Overall, the place is beautiful, and initially I thought the deal was really good value but the place was severely lacking of good customer service. The saviour of the trip was chatting to the mum who was absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joneslangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Whilst some distance from Wellington (4 hours by car) and somewhat deceiving at first impression (this is a rather nostelgic throw back to bygone years when summer holiday caravan parks were a popular kiwi past time), my wife and I enjoyed our short stay very much.

We were after all, one of the few guests to be treated like royalty and got to know the proprietors on a personal level.

The park clearly has had some substantial reinvestment for corporate client retreats in recent years. To that end some suggestions have been to incorporate toilets in the chalets for the ladies as opposed to communal ones, some obvious maintenance or the installation of dedicated double beds especially for those more vigorus couples amongst us.

Having said that, and whilst we were simply a couple, there are plenty of activities for the younger members of the holidaying family, such as archery, white river rafting, horse trekking and clay shooting for the men.

We warmly recommend the experience to those considering it.

Room Tip: Try the food and wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
24.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
21.4 mi away
Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels
26.2 mi away
Kennedy Park Resort Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
26.5 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 48 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
23.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Napier
Econo Lodge Napier
#25 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge

Property: Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge
Address: 408 McVicar Rd | RD2, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge & Camping Ground is a slice of paradise hidden on the mystical Mohaka River in Hawke's Bay on the Napier-Taupo road. Escape for a while and have an adventure or just relax in our serene setting. There is something for everyone including Rafting, Horse Trekking, Archery, Mountain Biking, Bush Walks, Paintball, Claybird Shooting & Swimming as well as a Bar & Restaurant. Accommodation ranges from self-contained cottages to camping; lodge rooms to cabins. Grab the family or rustle up some friends and come on a true blue kiwi holiday at Mountain Valley! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing