We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome property, amazing weather all the time.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge
Ranked #26 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Leduc, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome property, amazing weather all the time.”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times, working for accomodation. It's a bit far into the middle of nowhere but worth the drive. The property is awesome, with great activities, and excellent weather. And if you're lucky you'll be helped by James who will do anything to make you happy, even if he is super busy he'll take a few minutes to help out with anything else. I don't think the guy stops moving.

In between a couple mountain ranges the weather always seems sunny, seen light rain a couple times but that's about it. I went rafting, riding, and paintballing. The activities are are worth it, but I think rafting would be my favorite. I guess I've been riding and paintballing before and new experiences always take the cake. Our raft guides were helpful, informative on the area, and of course very nice. As for the horses they're very easy to control, and basically do the work for you, and paintballing is always a ton of fun.

The beds are comfy, and there is free tea in each room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    16
    4
    4
    12
See reviews for
29
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

After purchasing a 2 night&1hr activity deal off grabone, we booked for the last weekend before the voucher expired. Although the rooms which the voucher was for were all booked out, the daughter (who was nice) took our booking & accommodated us in a smaller room & gave us a free dinner (which was simple but tasty). Upon arrival down the 5km narrow gravel road into the dark mountains at 10pm, we found out that we needed to have booked the activity prior as the one included in the deal had sold out. Tired we said we would organize it all out the next day. After not getting a map of the park (yes, we did ask) we got terribly lost and drove around longer than necessary but found our room in the end. The next morning we had to ask another camper where the shower block was!

The manager failed to understand the booking book, which was a mess, and had to get another person to organize me & my partner into a horse ride (we had to pay extra to go on the longer). The horse ride was amazing however the instructors got quite fed up with some asian riders who obviously hadn't had much experience and the treatment of these tourists I thought was appalling as at one point the instructor complained that Japanese people cause trouble at the park.

Overall, the place is beautiful, and initially I thought the deal was really good value but the place was severely lacking of good customer service. The saviour of the trip was chatting to the mum who was absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joneslangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Whilst some distance from Wellington (4 hours by car) and somewhat deceiving at first impression (this is a rather nostelgic throw back to bygone years when summer holiday caravan parks were a popular kiwi past time), my wife and I enjoyed our short stay very much.

We were after all, one of the few guests to be treated like royalty and got to know the proprietors on a personal level.

The park clearly has had some substantial reinvestment for corporate client retreats in recent years. To that end some suggestions have been to incorporate toilets in the chalets for the ladies as opposed to communal ones, some obvious maintenance or the installation of dedicated double beds especially for those more vigorus couples amongst us.

Having said that, and whilst we were simply a couple, there are plenty of activities for the younger members of the holidaying family, such as archery, white river rafting, horse trekking and clay shooting for the men.

We warmly recommend the experience to those considering it.

Room Tip: Try the food and wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We live in Napier and booked a GrabOne deal. Because the accommodation was fully booked they offered us a down grade and free dinner vouchers.
The room was basic but still very nice. We upgraded our rafting to a three hour heritage trip which was so beautiful, breathtaking! I highly recommend this trip and to stay at this wonderful and friendly place to everyone, couples and families. There is a nice playground and plenty to explore. Will definitely go back some time.

Room Tip: Next time I would prefer a room with en-suit (although the shared facilities are good) Bring glasse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hieke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Booked Tui Cottage with my husband and friend and really didn't know what to expect. Right from the offset we were impressed by the hospitality. They couldn't have been more helpful. The cottage was great and tastefully done with decent linen and a fab shower. It had everything we needed.
We opted for the Funyaking with Deon which lived up to it's name. The dogs Beau and Jack were a delight. I fell in love with little Beau!
It is in a great location but you're in the country so remember the insect repellant.
Thanks for a fun couple of days. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gayleh-w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

It was a great time with an other family. We did kayaking, rafting mountain biking and horse treking.

It is in a beautiful valley with a neat "adventure" back country feel.

We stayed in a chalet which comfortably slept two adults and two teenagaers.

Jess is the best horse. ( all trekinbg horses seemed bomb proof!)
Nice bar and restaurant. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Nice bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Bring some food or drink to put in your chalet fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Whether you seek peace and quiet or adventure this is the place for you . Have just returned from a short weekend ( not long enough) away with 7 girlfriends. The staff were brilliant when helping me choose which package would best suit my group. Accomodation( lodge) very comfortable and ideal fro a group with a budget. Thankyou for the lovely evening meal and breaky. Very personal service from all the staff - nothing was too much trouble.
Some of us went for a gentle horse treck which allowed us to enjoy more of the fantastic views.I have stayed here several times over the past few years - usually in our caravan. The facilities and activities just get better and better. Too cold at this time of year for me but rafting trips have been a blast . Especially when I opted for the BBQ after the action.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spainoNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
26.4 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#10 of 47 in Napier
552 reviews
26.5 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
672 reviews
26.0 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
25.9 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#19 of 47 in Napier
151 reviews
26.4 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge

Property: Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge
Address: 408 McVicar Rd | RD2, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge & Camping Ground is a slice of paradise hidden on the mystical Mohaka River in Hawke's Bay on the Napier-Taupo road. Escape for a while and have an adventure or just relax in our serene setting. There is something for everyone including Rafting, Horse Trekking, Archery, Mountain Biking, Bush Walks, Paintball, Claybird Shooting & Swimming as well as a Bar & Restaurant. Accommodation ranges from self-contained cottages to camping; lodge rooms to cabins. Grab the family or rustle up some friends and come on a true blue kiwi holiday at Mountain Valley! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing