We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Albatross Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$90
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$150
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
expressotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$90
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art Deco Masonic Hotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$240
$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$126
$112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Napier Travel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$95
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Front Motel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
$124
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
46
16
4
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
16
4
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmohaka riverhorse trekkingwater raftinglovely hostskitchen facilitiesjulietaupoplayground
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 82 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Booked Tui Cottage with my husband and friend and really didn't know what to expect. Right from the offset we were impressed by the hospitality. They couldn't have been more helpful. The cottage was great and tastefully done with decent linen and a fab shower. It had everything we needed.
We opted for the Funyaking with Deon which lived up to it's name. The dogs Beau and Jack were a delight. I fell in love with little Beau!
It is in a great location but you're in the country so remember the insect repellant.
Thanks for a fun couple of days. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gayleh-w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

It was a great time with an other family. We did kayaking, rafting mountain biking and horse treking.

It is in a beautiful valley with a neat "adventure" back country feel.

We stayed in a chalet which comfortably slept two adults and two teenagaers.

Jess is the best horse. ( all trekinbg horses seemed bomb proof!)
Nice bar and restaurant. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Nice bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Bring some food or drink to put in your chalet fridge.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Whether you seek peace and quiet or adventure this is the place for you . Have just returned from a short weekend ( not long enough) away with 7 girlfriends. The staff were brilliant when helping me choose which package would best suit my group. Accomodation( lodge) very comfortable and ideal fro a group with a budget. Thankyou for the lovely evening meal and breaky. Very personal service from all the staff - nothing was too much trouble.
Some of us went for a gentle horse treck which allowed us to enjoy more of the fantastic views.I have stayed here several times over the past few years - usually in our caravan. The facilities and activities just get better and better. Too cold at this time of year for me but rafting trips have been a blast . Especially when I opted for the BBQ after the action.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spainoNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

This lodge is about 45 minutes from Napier. It is set in the most stunning location. We stayed only one night, in a 4 bed room with shared facilities. The room was clean and neat, with a well-functioning heater (which was required!!). We were cooked a beautiful dinner by the staff, and drinks were cheap! (By NZ standards). In the morning, we went for a 3 hour horse trail ride up into the back country. It was freezing, but the views were beautiful!

Room Tip: Book an ensuite room
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sssshhhh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Were booked at the adventure lodge hoping to find a nice quiet spot to go camping but what we found was this amazing place! If you are not into real camping book one of the little cabins cause this is not a holiday park.
My husband and I got a spot by the river and it was just great, we went on the funyaking the next day and the staff are just so friendly.... We'll definetly come back when we are back in NZ.
Do not forget to take insect repelent and the food you need cause their is not shops around and the closest town is at least 40 min away.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chiquimonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews