We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redcliffe Homestead
Ranked #4 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here for 2 perfect nights a quiet retreat after Wellington. Sue and Brian are perfect hosts, welcoming and knowledgable. Nothing was too much trouble and Sue made such an effort to make homemade gluten free chocolate brownies and muffins. We had the delight of going to Mission Winery for a meal as it was my husbands birthday which just topped it all off. The homestead is set amongst a kiwi fruit farm which just delightful. With Napier just down the road what more could we ask for!

Room Tip: Burgundy has ensuite and is very spacious.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judeandclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Redcliffe Homestead
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

A lovely overnight visit to this beautifully restored homestead. From the lovely music wafting out across the lawn on our arrival, a welcome cup of tea with homemade chocolate cake, spotless room and outlook, comfy bed, beautiful linen and homemade breakfast, we cannot fault this lovely B & B. We also enjoyed hearing about the history of your 'rebuild' of the homestead, the attention to detail in your property and your obvious love for what you do and where you live.
We will definitely return, thank you K and M

Room Tip: the room with the little balcony was nice, great to open the doors first thing in the morning
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadiewellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and we got hospitality and informations for 3 weeks. We learnt al lot of NZ from Sue and Brian. We had a nice dinner together and we loved to have breakfast together also with grandma and grandpa. The room to the garden had everything we needed for a nice stay and it was very quite we slept well. Thank you so much for everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at Redcliff unexpectedly. What a fantastic experience. Excellent property, amazing hosts. Would highly recommend this property. The Calcinai's are great hosts could not do enough to make our stay perfect. The rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable. The setting peaceful but close to town. Lots in the area biking, wine tasting etc. Hope to go back.

Room Tip: This is a small property so all rooms are perfect
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandKiwis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were delighted to return to Redcliffe, this time with Tammy our little wire-haired Dachshund, for three very relaxing, extremely comfortable nights. Sue and Brian looked after us beautifully in every way, taking special care with breakfasts and dinners to suit tricky dietary needs. This is such charming a property, with very special hosts. The Burgundy room with ensuite, is beautifully appointed, with French doors opening on to your own verandah area, the perfect spot for drinks and yummy pre-dinner treats. Tammy enjoyed the company of her big pals Sophie and Zara and slept very happily in the hallway outside our bedroom door. She (and us) are looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Redcliffe Homestead is magnificent! It is a beautifully restored cosy and comfortable farmhouse surrounded by lovingly tendered gardens. Our two day stay here was enhanced by Sue's easy and natural hospitable nature. ( We unfortunately did not have the pleasure of meeting Brian). I must also mention the lovely company of the two gorgeous Labradors also helped us to feel at home. The freshly baked muffins were a treat each morning such to the point that I have now sourced the iconic NZ recipe book from which the recipes came so that I feel like I am taking a little piece of Redcliffe with me. I agree with a previous review regarding the bed - so soft. Best sleep I had on our holiday around the North Island. It is well located - a short drive to vineyards and lovely restaurants for lunch or dinner. It is a real treat to stay here - strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniebarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Redcliffe Homestead. Sue & Brian. It is a dream package. I loved staying here so much I want to have my own B&B. The property is full of beautiful fruit trees and magnificently landscaped, the house has been restored and has wonderful warmth and charm. The rooms are beautifully appointed, softest bed I have ever slept on, the cooking and baking and using fruits from the orchard - just amazing...I could rave on and on. What makes this place so wonderful are Sue and Brian. Brilliant hosts who are beyond helpful. This was a significant trip for me and I wanted to know a lot about the locals....Sue was brilliant in helping me in ways that exceeded my expectations and constantly went out of her way. Brian was a delight and took us for a tour around the orchard and gave us history on the homestead

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JenGWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
6.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
6.7 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
5.7 mi away
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#7 of 41 in Napier
53 reviews
2.5 mi away
Watea Lodge
Watea Lodge
#3 of 41 in Napier
98 reviews
10.6 mi away
Esk Valley Lodge
Esk Valley Lodge
#11 of 41 in Napier
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcliffe Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcliffe Homestead

Address: 107 Springfield Road | Taradale, Napier 4183, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: $114 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Redcliffe Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redcliffe Homestead offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in a renovated 1880's villa on our kiwifruit orchard. Enjoy the tranquil rural environment, just 2kms from Taradale with its wide variety of shopping, cafes and restaurants. At Redcliffe Homestead our aim is to provide you with a quality accommodation experience that is both economically viable and socially responsible, as we manage our impact on the environment by minimizing waste, energy consumption, water usage and pollution. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing