We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kennedy Park Resort Napier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kennedy Park Resort Napier
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston north
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great family accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a villa, very clean and spacious, has every thing needed for a comfortable stay. Surprisingly quiet considering how busy the facility was. Air conditioning unit a bit weak, seemed too small to cool the unit, but was adequate. Reception staff varied from very helpful to almost rude, depending on who you got. Jumping bean was out of action which was a disappointment. I think you pay top dollar to stay here, but it is an excellent facility for children, they have a great time, I wouldn't chose to stay here without children.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandSPalmerstonnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write this review, great to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our Villas. We will take look at the air conditioning units as we have not had this issue arise before. Regarding your experience with reception, I am very disappointed to hear that some of our staff were not providing the quality service we at Kennedy Park pride ourselves on, we will ensure our Front Office Manager is advised of this matter. It is unfortunate our jumping pillow was out of action whilst you were here, however the pillow was mended by the next day. Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    122
    42
    13
    10
See reviews for
149
84
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We checked into this Motor camp on sunday Jan 2014 and could not believe the high standard and thought that had gone into making a stay in a motorcamp so enjoyable. we had a motorhome that was completely self contained, however there facilities were so nice we did not use our camper (except for sleeping). They set the bar, I thought top 10 were good but Kennedy Park resort take camp grounds to another level. We have stayed in many campgrounds all across the north island and recently a top 10 in Blenheim but nothing compares to this place. you would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to submit this exceptional review. We are very pleased to know your experience with us was everything you wanted and more, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

My family and my sisters family continue to come here every year for a week of sun and to enjoy the attractions Hawkes Bay has to offer. We have continued to choose Kennedy Park as our accommodations because the resort offers everything for everybody! The kids have the playground (of which the jumping pillow is the highlight) and the adults get the 'on the go slow' vibe that is created by walking in jandals, drinking a cold beverage in the evening and enjoying the kids enjoy themselves… The Pool complex looks amazing, they've done a fantastic job doing that up. My only complaint is that I find the temperature chilly - especially the large toddler pool area (not to be confused with the small toddler pool that is located at the end of the main deeper pool, the temperature there is warmer). At the end of a hot day, with the sun heating up the water, we could finally use it. Which is a shame, because if it wasn't so cold , there would be little reason to leave the resort during the day, because the little kids would be able to enjoy it! As it is, they get cold after 2 mins in it. The larger pool still seems to get used during the day as the older kids seem to not feel the chill! lol) I've mentioned it on here before but it doesn't seem to be something the resort are looking at (or even thinking) needs changing, which is there prerogative. I've swam in many a pool, and stayed at numerous holiday parks, and Kennedy Park's pools are on the colder side most definitely. Whether other places crank up the temperature I'm not sure…. At any rate, with so much to see and do in Napier, it's no biggie. We would often go out to the Marine Parade for a play, the Beach, the Ocean Spa (hot pools + cold pools), Splash Planet and the Local Acquatic centre, that when we returned to the resort in the later afternoon, we could cope and enjoy the onsite pool. Kids really loved the jumping pillow the most tho, definitely a highlight! I was impressed at how quickly they addressed and fixed it after it busted and tore! We were without it for just a day! We really appreciated that and thought they did well with getting this addressed. The grounds are always clean and tidy. The park is beautifully maintained. We stayed in Cabins so have no advice to offer for those tenting. We did like to wander around checking out all the tent layouts tho. Some people win points for creativity and awesome 'home away from home' layouts! We often used the communal bbq's - which are great, tho only 2 seemed to be in working order, but we didn't mind waiting. The kids LOVE the vending machines (located in the central walk through and over by the bbq's) and gave them daily joy… All in all just a happy time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to submit this great review. We will definitely take your feedback regarding the toddler pools temperature into consideration, without this kind of feedback we do not have the opportunity to make changes so thanks again. We look forward to seeing you and the family next year for another week of summer ‘on the go slow’!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We originally booked a 1 bedroom apartment for 2 nights, for 2 adults and 2 children. The room turned out to be really small, not very comfortable and not air conditioned as advertised on the site we booked through. As its quite hot in Napier in the summer, I really wanted air conditioning! Since the room was not cheap, we decided to ask what else was available. For slightly more money we moved to a 1 bedroom motel unit which was not air conditioned either but was much larger and more comfortable. And on the second night we moved to a 2 bedroom villa, which was wonderful. It was large, TVs in the lounge and each bedroom, a good kitchen, dining table and a nice bathroom. It was more expensive of course but worth it. Otherwise - the pool and playground were hits with our kids. Overall I would say this was a nice place to stay so long as you know what you are booking.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom villas are the only rooms that are air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank-you for your feedback. We are pleased you ended up in the accommodation which suited you best. Our 2 bedroom Villas are the only units with air conditioning included, we will ensure all websites are checked which may state otherwise. We are also currently looking into getting more cooling devices installed in the other units as it can get pretty hot in the summer time. Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have just left Kennedy Park after an 8 night stay in a deluxe ensuite cabin.

The cabin was brilliant for our family of 6 and everything we needed was provided. We chose the cabin over the villas which were bigger and more modern because we could sleep all 4 kids in the bunk room without needing to use the lounge area for sleeping. While the villas are great the cabin worked fantastically well for us and we will definitely book one again. Each has its own deck and a picnic table for use outside. They are situated in a nice quiet area of the park and we enjoyed being nestled away in a peaceful spot.

The camp facilities are excellent. Kitchen, bathrooms and laundries are clean and well maintained. The play ground is brilliant for kids of different ages and we all spent many happy hours in the pool.

In the early part of our stay we had occasion to raise a small issue direct with the General Manager who we noted personally responds to reviews on this site. His immediate attention to the matter we raised, his genuine concern to ensure that the matter was dealt with and the positive response from other members of the management team really illustrated that guests of the resort are truly valued. It makes Kennedy Park a place we will look forward to returning to and one that we will recommend without hesitation to others.

Room Tip: Kennedy Park has a kids club and if children are members there is a great discount of the accommodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajfNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Many thanks for your fantastic review and recommendation. We are pleased to hear you were happy with your Deluxe Ensuite Cabin, we are proud to offer modern accommodation for those with larger families at a reasonable price. We are also glad our management staff were able to help with the small issue you had, we definitely value all of our guests and are ready to go the extra mile to ensure everyone is satisfied with our services. Thanks again, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed one night in a non-powered tent site while we were travelling around the North Island. Our site was great as it had a large tree which provided shade and both sites on either side of us were empty so we had more privacy. The camp itself is well maintained. The toilet facilities seemed clean and quite modern for a campground.

This would be a great campground to take kids as there was a large playground, a pool and a bouncy pillow which all the kids seemed to love. You can also hire peddle bikes for use around the campground.

The on-site restaurant was good. They were closing up when we went in but were still happy to accommodate our requests and packaged up a couple of desserts for us to take back to our campsite.

Altogether it was pretty good and probably the most modern campground I have been to.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JaimeNZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank-you for your kind review, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our restaurant staff were accommodating. We pride ourselves on our well-kept and modern facilities and it’s always great to hear they are well used and appreciated by our guests. Thanks again for your feedback we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

From the 30-12-13 to 4-01-2014 we stayed at Kennedy park.
We booked a non powered tent site and were happy where we ended up as we had a tree for shade.
We had friends and family at various sites around the park and some had no shade which was a real shame as really hot in summer.

The pool was nice and it had a separate toddler pool which was nice warm and shallow.
There was also another toddler pool which was really big but no one used as it was ice cold, even adults did the walk by, put foot in, pull a face and keep walking!

The toilet and shower blocks were clean and well serviced.
Very well equipped kitchen block with heaps of work stations.

The onsite restaurant is what it is.... a camp restaurant.
What ever you order will come with a scoop of chips which could feed four.

But the whole setup is really good, you can buy ice blocks at reception and book a peddle bike, or a road bike if you want to ride to the town centre and Marine parade.
The women at reception can be a little rude and huff and puff when you want to book a bike as they have to turn around an open a drawer to get a form for you to sign. But Ignore that and don't let that ruin your holiday. All male staff are friendly and happy.
Expensive to camp but it does have great park, pools and facilities so worth it.

Room Tip: If you booking a tent site make sure you have a tree .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Lynley,
Thank-you for your review. We are pleased you found our facilities up to standard and enjoyed the majority of your stay. However we are disappointed to hear your experience with our reception staff may have put a bit of a damper on your holiday - Our Front Office Manager will be investigating the calibre of customer service quality provided with all staff as it is our duty to make guests feel welcome, not like an inconvenience.
Our restaurant and cafe adapt to meet the seasonal requirements of our customers and I was pleased that our family Christmas Holiday Menu’s exceeded your needs, our evening A La Carte menu also features generous portions of quality New Zealand meats and seasonal vegetables and is available all year round.
Thanks again for your feedback it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napier
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
1.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
2.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Napier
Econo Lodge Napier
#24 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels
10.1 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
2.1 mi away
Parkside Lodge
Parkside Lodge
#2 of 36 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennedy Park Resort Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennedy Park Resort Napier

Property: Kennedy Park Resort Napier
Address: 11 Storkey Street | Napier 4110, Napier 4110, New Zealand (Formerly Kennedy Park TOP 10 Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kennedy Park Resort Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennedy Park Resort Napier has simply the best selection of accommodation in Hawke’s Bay. Whether you are on a leisurely holiday, organising a large family or special interest group, or are a business seeking accommodation for individuals or a conference - Kennedy Park has something for everyone. We are Hawke’s Bay’s largest holiday park, providing a variety of accommodation deals and a bed to suit every budget.Arrive, take a deep breath and be prepared to relax! There’s no need to rush out to find ways to keep a family entertained – it’s all right here at our place.You’ll find quality New Zealand accommodation to suit your needs and all our on-site facilities to keep your family entertained. If you want to venture out to enjoy all the great Hawke’s Bay activities, our friendly team will point you in the right direction.You don’t stop having fun because you’re getting old; you get old because you stop having fun! So stay young and have some fun with us at Kennedy Park Resort Napier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Kennedy Park Resort Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing