We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot for family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kennedy Park Resort Napier
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best spot for family holiday”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

You can't go wrong here if you have kids in tow. They will be well and truly entertained here. Lots of activities for children from about 2 years they to teens. Awesome playground, games room, huge bouncy pad thingy, pools etc. well laid out venue. We had an older style 2 bedroom unit. It was great. Pretty much everything you need is in it and it's clean and tidy. There's a big cooking space nearby if you want to BBQ or cook up larger quantities. Very good service from the staff here too. This is our 2nd stay here and I know we will return :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPwhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to submit this wonderful review it is always great to recieve positive feedback on our facilities. We are pleased to hear you and your family had an enjoyable stay we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    125
    44
    16
    11
See reviews for
154
92
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This Holiday Park is well taken care of! It's clean and comfortable. Rather close (approx 3 km) to the town center and the "Marine Parade". Make sure you see all the art deco buildings and also try to visit Rest Indonesia on Marine Parade when you stroll around.
Thank you from Sweden!
TeamVidar

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamVidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank-you for the wonderful feedback, great to hear you enjoyed your time in the Hawkes Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night with our small camper van and everything was good! We got a free voucher for the wifi and a warm welcome at the check in. The BBQ was free and clean and very tasty :-).

If we come back, we would stay here again...

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to submit this positive review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Kennedy park is a bit of an advancement on the classic kiwi campground. Great facilities to help keep people young and old entertained.

We liked the use of the free bbq's.

We would recommend it to anyone lookung for a little time away.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank borrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank-you for your positive review, we are pleased you have enjoyed you stay with us and made good use of our facilities onsite. Thanks again for the feedback, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Basic but clean and functional facilities - the Top 10 Resort addition to their name is misleading, its by no means a resort but does have a wide range of basic accomodation facilities from tent sites to bungalows. WiFi is availible but you have to pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Many thanks for your review. A resort is a place used for relaxation or recreation, attracting visitors for vacations and/or tourism. The term "resort" is also used for a self-contained commercial establishment which attempts to provide for most of a vacationer's wants while remaining on the premises, such as food, drink, lodging, recreation and swimming pool (we do have a heated swimming pool complex). We at Kennedy Park feel this describes us well, hence the ‘Resort’ term. As for the ‘Top 10’ title, we have just recently gone independent and are no longer part of the Top 10 group. We are also pleased to announce we have free Wi-Fi available at the Resort. Thanks again for the feedback it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We picked up a Hot Deal for Kennedy Park over the October School holidays. I'd previously stayed in a tent in the camping area several years ago and had memories of traffic noise. My friends raved about Kennedy Park, so with the deal on for two bedroom 'villa' accommodation we thought we'd give it a go.

Check-in was easy and quick. We arrived an hour past check-in time and our villa was ready. It is a gated security entrance, so park in the parking bay before the security gate to check in before using the code or swipe fob to gain entrance. Don't do as one couple in a huge camper did and park right in front of the barrier while you see if there is any availability and thus blocking in everyone who wanted to get into the grounds on a hot day!

The villa was quite nice and spacious. One bathroom with the main bedroom and second bedroom either side. Three TV's and a Blue Ray DVD player in the lounge. The villa we had looked straight onto the playground and swimming pool - both a good thing and a not so good thing, depending on your needs. Linens were in good order and towels were terrific and plentiful. The second bedroom in villa 107 did have a bit of an odour that was more prevalent when the sun was shining into the room but it was a minor odour and probably due to the window having security stays on it so it couldn't be thrown open for airing the room fully.

The kitchen had only a two ring stovetop - inadequate to cook on for a family unless you resorted to using the microwave to do veges in. A dishrack would have been welcome too but otherwise it was a well kitted out kitchen.

I'm unsure if villa 107 was specifically laid out as a disabled access villa or all the villas are laid out so. The shower was fully kitted out for anyone who needed rails and a seat. The floor was non-slip lino in the shower but the rest of the bathroom had terribly slippery lino and the bathroom was soaked despite everyone being very careful with the water. We had to use a load of towels post shower to soak up the water around the toilet and the rest of the bathroom floor as my son fell badly on the floor with only a minor amount of water. Surely the addition of a solid wall between the shower and the toilet would keep from swamping the toilet area?

The park play area is great for kids. My kids enjoyed the pool and the main play area but were put off the bouncing air pillow due to two teen sports groups (one from Christchurch and one from Wairoa) who totally took over the pillow and proceeded to do flips etc on it, completely ignoring the sign right beside it and with all their adult supervisors looking on! It was sad to see all the smaller kids look so disappointed and just play quietly on the swings and slides.

The major problem we had was with the person delivering the paper in the early AM would get on the deck and storm past the bedroom. The first morning it was 0555 and we thought someone was trying to break in. The next morning it was 0525 and just as noisy. I didn't get back to sleep afterwards. I asked the very helpful reception staff to get the person to put the paper on the step of the deck the next morning and they agreed the that the noise was unacceptable. The next morning the person delivering the papers walked more quietly right across the deck again, not realising that the sound was still terribly noisy inside. We were checking out that day, so I gave up and began packing up before 6AM.

The reception and ground staff teams do a great job. My kids enjoyed the playground area to an extent but one of my children said he'd love to come back to Napier but would like to stay somewhere without the big kids and quieter - I do agree. For the price we paid for the Hot Deal it was reasonable, but the rack rate for a peak night in a villa is higher than what I'd pay for a 5 star two bedroom apartment in Singapore!

Room Tip: Make sure if you are in a villa to tell the reception staff for the paper delivery person not to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kapitibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank-you for your feedback it is much appreciated, we are pleased you enjoyed the majority of your time with us. The Villa you were given #107 is one of our popular units as it overlooks the kids play area giving parents the ability to watch over their kids from their unit – staff generally place families in these ones for this reason. Villa 107 is also a disabled access unit which is why the bathroom facilities are slightly different to the rest, we have noted your concern about the flooding problem and will endeavour to have this looked at and altered as we do not want any further accidents happening in the future!
As for the teenagers misusing our jumping pillow, our staff at Kennedy Park Resort do their best to solve any behavioural issues around the park, however we do need to have these reported at the time so we can solve them quickly and ensure all our guests are happy. This also goes for noise control - the park can get pretty busy especially during school holidays, once again please make sure your raise these concerns with our staff and we will do our best to solve the problem.
Regarding your complaint about the noisy, early morning newspaper deliveries - we do appreciate you bringing this to our attention and will pass on the message to our deliverers to ensure guests aren’t woken up in the early hours of the morning.
Once again thank-you for your feedback it helps us see areas of the complex that may require improvement, from there we can look at making positives changes to ensure all of our guests get the most out of their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at this park and were pleasantly surprised by the facilities. It was a quick stay, but I was happy to have a clean, warm shower and a kitchen just in case. There were lots of kids around and it was a little out of the way, but it did the trick! We left early the next day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaAnnJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank-you for your feedback. We are pleased you have enjoyed your short stay with us and that our facilities have met your needs. We do have quite a few children around the park at times as we are a family friendly park, however we do try to place couples away from the play area so they can get the peace and privacy they need. We look forward to seeing you again soon - hopefully for a longer stay so you can relax and enjoy Napier and its wonderful attractions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
2.1 mi away
Parkside Lodge
Parkside Lodge
#2 of 34 in Napier
264 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marineland Motels
Marineland Motels
#26 of 47 in Napier
147 reviews
5.3 mi away
Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
1.2 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
552 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennedy Park Resort Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennedy Park Resort Napier

Property: Kennedy Park Resort Napier
Address: 11 Storkey Street | Napier 4110, Napier 4110, New Zealand (Formerly Kennedy Park TOP 10 Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kennedy Park Resort Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennedy Park Resort Napier has simply the best selection of accommodation in Hawke’s Bay. Whether you are on a leisurely holiday, organising a large family or special interest group, or are a business seeking accommodation for individuals or a conference - Kennedy Park has something for everyone. We are Hawke’s Bay’s largest holiday park, providing a variety of accommodation deals and a bed to suit every budget.Arrive, take a deep breath and be prepared to relax! There’s no need to rush out to find ways to keep a family entertained – it’s all right here at our place.You’ll find quality New Zealand accommodation to suit your needs and all our on-site facilities to keep your family entertained. If you want to venture out to enjoy all the great Hawke’s Bay activities, our friendly team will point you in the right direction.You don’t stop having fun because you’re getting old; you get old because you stop having fun! So stay young and have some fun with us at Kennedy Park Resort Napier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Kennedy Park Resort Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing