We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kennedy Park for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kennedy Park Resort Napier
Ranked #6 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kennedy Park for families”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is a great, central resort with heaps of options for families. It can be pricey though and their insistence on paying the first night in advance, and then prepaying the rest on arrival is a bit annoying, although the transactions are seamless and it allows for a quick getaway at the end. The rooms are basic but very clean, although the weird blankets will either tie you up in knots or more likely end up on the floor. I was disappointed that 2 tiny slivers of soap were expected to last a family of four for four days - I would have expected them to be replaced every day or to be big enough to last. Also although you are told to put your towels in the shower if you want them changed, it would be nice if the cleaners had enough initiative to replace a bath mat with muddy feet marks on without being asked. It would also be nice if the dishes were done and the beds were made, especially at a rate of over $170 per night for a 1 bedroom unit (school holiday price). The bins were emptied every day and that was all that was done, unless you put the towels in the shower, which were then changed. Very, very basic servicing. The grounds are immaculate, and the communal kitchen facilities are great for a school group.

Room Tip: Regardless of who you book through, research the room options on their website thoroughly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artiandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you, we appreciate the time taken for you to feedback on your experience with us. We operate on a Rack Rates system so that the early birds catch the worm so to speak. The earlier you book the cheaper it will be. We like to offer deals frequently which you can see on our website and Facebook when available or by subscribing to our e-newsletter. Payment upon arrival is the standard practice of many businesses. We are sorry you were disappointed with the level of servicing in your unit. We do have different type of accommodation ( as well as different level of service depending on your unite type) to suit every budget. We are always happy to help improve your stay where we can. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, the team at Kennedy Park TOP 10 Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    125
    44
    16
    11
See reviews for
153
90
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had a kitchen unit over Easter. Loved staying here and lovely unit! Awesome showers! Clean and tidy and friendly staff! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porkynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Many thanks for staying with us here at Kennedy Park this Easter. We're delighted you had a great time and that you enjoyed our spacious kitchen units. The staff here at Kennedy Park love meeting new guests and I'm glad that you found their service excellent. We look forward to seeing you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Loevly holiday park, especially for kids! Stayed here for 1 nt on a family campervan holiday, has heaps to do, kids playground, jumping pillow, games room, tv rooms, pedal carts, pool (though not heated). Friendly reception, would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kraver71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2012

awesome service and able to cater to large groups.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We checked in slightly early to this camp site which worked fine, and pitch themselves are fine a bit less room then some of the other camp sites we stayed but still plenty of room. The facilities were good, and very well organised. The showers and toilet facilities were also good and got plenty of hot water for showers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunedin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We booked here because for a group of 16 guys on a golf trip we could not find anything else in Napier or Hastings to stay. Yes, I would stay here again. Nice rooms. Everything there, clean and comfortable. Good staff and well organised. Great value for dollar and a convenient location for us playing golf.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunedin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Some 17 years ago we stayed at Kennedy Park when I was on transfer from Christchurch to Napier. We were so impressed with the service and cleanliness of the place that we stayed some 6 weeks.

This year we revisited Kennedy Park and stayed for four nights in one of their motel units. It had been carefully maintained by the City Council who own the complex and the standard of service was as good as before.

It is an ideal base to explore Napier from and is particularly suitable for families and those on a tight budget.

During out stay the country experiences a rare "weather bomb" which meant we were confined indoors for a day. Our motel unit was cosy and warm.

If I had one small 'quibble' it would be that many New Zealand motels just vacuum their vinyl and tiled floors; they need to wet mop from time to time as well. Kennedy Park could address this as well.

All in all a great place to stay and value for the money. Napier phtos at http://www.worldlense.com/napier.html.

Room Tip: These are not 5 Star units but a very respectable 3 Star+
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingersTomTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and your choice of accommodation. Thank you for returning to stay with us again. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napier
1.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
2.1 mi away
Parkside Lodge
Parkside Lodge
#2 of 35 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennedy Park Resort Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennedy Park Resort Napier

Property: Kennedy Park Resort Napier
Address: 11 Storkey Street | Napier 4110, Napier 4110, New Zealand (Formerly Kennedy Park TOP 10 Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kennedy Park Resort Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennedy Park Resort Napier has simply the best selection of accommodation in Hawke’s Bay. Whether you are on a leisurely holiday, organising a large family or special interest group, or are a business seeking accommodation for individuals or a conference - Kennedy Park has something for everyone. We are Hawke’s Bay’s largest holiday park, providing a variety of accommodation deals and a bed to suit every budget.Arrive, take a deep breath and be prepared to relax! There’s no need to rush out to find ways to keep a family entertained – it’s all right here at our place.You’ll find quality New Zealand accommodation to suit your needs and all our on-site facilities to keep your family entertained. If you want to venture out to enjoy all the great Hawke’s Bay activities, our friendly team will point you in the right direction.You don’t stop having fun because you’re getting old; you get old because you stop having fun! So stay young and have some fun with us at Kennedy Park Resort Napier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kennedy Park Resort Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing