We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the Family”
Review of Fern Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fern Motel
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for the Family”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Fern Motel. Not only was the room layout perfect for us, but the place was so clean and tidy with the plus of having a full kitchen. The reason we chose the Motel was because of the swimming pool and the play area, where our two boys got to have so much fun and meet lots of other kids. Full credit to the Owners who let all the kids have a late night swim (under parent supervision) up until 10pm on our last night - this was the absolute highlight of our 11 year olds entire 3 week holiday. We will definitely come again for our next trip to Napier, after staying in many motels in that area - Fern Motel beats all. Thank you for such great hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write so positively about your stay at our motel. We are very pleased you were happy with your Unit and our facilities.
We thoroughly enjoyed listening to the laughter of all the kids having a late night swim in our swimming pool.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    34
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
76
32
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful time. Our second visit to the Fern Motel and even better this year. We stayed 4 nights, with the whole family and everyone had a great time. The grandchildren made friends and loved the playground and pool, as much as we enjoyed relaxing, watching them have fun. Our two dogs were made very welcome and the nearby walks in the park and along the stream were really handy. The standard of the room and all the facilities were excellent

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caren_black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is great for us to hear that you had a wonderful time at our motel. We are looking forward to seeing you again next year. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a great time at Fern Motel , the rooms were in pristine condition with flatscreen TV, a nice kitchen,a nice bathroom and the kids loved the swimming pool. Bernard and Finy the owners of the motel gave us great service and advice on the places to visit in the Bay. We stayed for 5 nights and we will be back in the near future for sure ! Thanks for giving us a great time.

Room Tip: We had a family room, very spacious. oh and try the breakfast thats a must. Yumm
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EshTp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Great to hear that you had a good time and were happy with the accommodation and service we provide. Thanks for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed a total of 11nights and would not fault a thing. Thank you for such a great stay. I arranged bookings for a number of family members and had no problem with consistent email contact to change dates and every family member was happy with stay. No noise problems from road, swimming pool was amazing and owners were so accommodating with any request made. With a total of six rooms booked for family over Xmas there was never a complaint. Thanks we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emzski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your positive words. We are very happy you had a great christmas with your family at our motel and it was great for us to see you having such a good time together.
It would be wonderful to welcome you again some other time. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at The Fern during the weekend. Arrived to find dirty laundry behind the bathroom door, poor explanation given. Phone wasn't working on arrival and had to be replaced along with the jug which also wasn't switching on properly. On the second day, we had to ask for our room to be serviced as we were forgotten about. The room was serviced but no toilet paper was given so we ended buying our own as we felt we had already 'complained enough'. Rooms are very small also and our particular room had alot of light shining into it at night. We were alittle suprised that we weren't offered some sort of discount after so many hick ups so to speak? On a good note, the staff and cleaners were friendly and the beds real comfy! We won't be returning as we feel we could get much better value for the same price elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed. Some of the things that happened to you was just bad luck like the jug that was only 6 months old and broke on you. However we sincerely apoligize for the mistakes we have made during your stay. One of our cleaning ladies left us without notice in our busiest time so it was very hectic and full on for our other staff and us as well. Still no excuse but understandable we hope. We have found another cleaning lady in the meantime and all these problems are resolved so we would like you to come and stay with us again so we get the opportunity to make it up to you and give you the service that we normally present and you deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The motel is okay, beds are comfortable with quality sheets...shower was not great, pressure not too good. However, overall motel is certainly worth staying for one or two nights. The location is not central to Napier , 10 mins to town.. So if you want to go to the port or Napier city you will have to drive... Which shouldn't be a problem as you must have driven to the motel in the first place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank PFD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are on a low pressure system for the showers for environmental reasons. We are proud to be not only 4 Star Qualmark rated but also Enviro Silver. Small sacrifices can make a huge different to our future. We are happy that you liked the rest of our motel and that the beds were comfortable too.
We are centrally located just off the SH50 so Fern Motel is a great base to explore all the things Hawkes Bay has to offer.
Thanks again and we would like to welcome you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed one night in a "deluxe studio". Room is probably good for one or two persons with only one bed, but in the twin configuration we needed was quite cramped with difficulty finding somewhere to put suitcases so we didn't trip over them. Kitchen space was good, and room was clean. Beds were clean and comfortable. Shower and toilet both very cramped (except vertically, the shape of the building made them great for giraffes), be careful when using the hand basin not to bang your head on the small shelf above. The motel was obviously built before the nearby road became so busy, and while the building of a high wall along the road, and the addition of a virtual extra wall on the rooms cuts out the noise adequately, the idea of being able to sit outside or leave a window open is laughable.
If you book at this motel, make sure you either print off, or have the location firmly set in your mind because Westminster Ave is a very odd shape and if you start at the wrong end, it's easy to lose track of.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable sleep. We are sorry that you were a bit disappointed with your stay at our motel and felt a bit cramped in the Studio but for $35 more you can get a Family Unit with plenty of space for your suitcases and walk around your beds. I understand that you would definately recommend us to tall people and giraffes so that is a good thing! I agree that Westminster Ave is very confusing if you start at the wrong end but I can assure you that if you stay on the SH50 and follow that until the second roundabout from the North and the first roundabout from the South we are right there so very easy to find and perfectly located to explore all Hawkes Bay has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
2.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
2.9 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
865 reviews
2.4 mi away
Albatross Motel
Albatross Motel
#11 of 47 in Napier
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
2.4 mi away
Cedar Court Motel
Cedar Court Motel
#23 of 47 in Napier
133 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Motel

Property: Fern Motel
Address: 4 Westminster Avenue | Tamatea, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fern Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Motel offers you Family Friendly Kiwi Hospitality. We have 18 ground-floor units with natural surroundings. They all have fully equipped kitchens, en-suite bathrooms, heat pump / air con & free wireless internet. So that your stay is pleasurable we provide Standard and Deluxe Studios and Family Units –the Deluxe units have been beautifully refurbished with new kitchens with dishwasher (Family Units), flat-screen TVs, new beds, carpet, linen & modern decor.We also have one new 2 Bedroom Unit.It has a beautiful large kitchen with dishwasher, big fridge/freezer and large ceramic hob. Bedroom 1 has a queen and bedroom 2 has 3 singles.Both bedrooms and the lounge have flatscreen tv’s. The lounge is stylishly decorated and has a sofabed and a nice dining area. All units have secure off-street parking and their own private courtyard where you can sit outside or entertain in the BBQ area. You can watch the kids swim in the large pool and play in the children's fenced playground area. Just off the HB Expressway, Fern Motel is conveniently located between Taradale & Napier City, close to Napier Airport, Park Island Sports Complex, Pettigrew Green Arena, Onekawa Aquatic Centre & Church Road and Mission Estate Wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fern Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing