We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ordinary” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fern Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fern Motel
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed one night in a "deluxe studio". Room is probably good for one or two persons with only one bed, but in the twin configuration we needed was quite cramped with difficulty finding somewhere to put suitcases so we didn't trip over them. Kitchen space was good, and room was clean. Beds were clean and comfortable. Shower and toilet both very cramped (except vertically, the shape of the building made them great for giraffes), be careful when using the hand basin not to bang your head on the small shelf above. The motel was obviously built before the nearby road became so busy, and while the building of a high wall along the road, and the addition of a virtual extra wall on the rooms cuts out the noise adequately, the idea of being able to sit outside or leave a window open is laughable.
If you book at this motel, make sure you either print off, or have the location firmly set in your mind because Westminster Ave is a very odd shape and if you start at the wrong end, it's easy to lose track of.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable sleep. We are sorry that you were a bit disappointed with your stay at our motel and felt a bit cramped in the Studio but for $35 more you can get a Family Unit with plenty of space for your suitcases and walk around your beds. I understand that you would definately recommend us to tall people and giraffes so that is a good thing! I agree that Westminster Ave is very confusing if you start at the wrong end but I can assure you that if you stay on the SH50 and follow that until the second roundabout from the North and the first roundabout from the South we are right there so very easy to find and perfectly located to explore all Hawkes Bay has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    34
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
75
31
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Last minute late booking. Was not a problem. Unit was one of the best I've stayed in. Recently refurbished. All the mod cons. Service was above and beyond!! Definitely recommend! Will most certainly stay again and recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blenmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your positive review, we are very happy you liked it so much. We would love to welcome you or your friends and family again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here not 5 star but has just been refurbished ie painted inside clean and tidy,nice friendly hosts only five minute drive to town and we could have out wee dog with us in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. We like to give people who travel with their pets the opportunity to stay at our motel. It was nice to have you stay at our accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

For the last three years I have travelled to Hawke's Bay in many occasions. Since I discovered Fern Motel, it became my home away from home. Communication with Finy and Bernard has always been very easy and clear. After spending the day working/studying it's great to get to a place that I am comfortable and can relax. It is also great value for money compared to other places. Wish you guys all the best!

Room Tip: I have always stayed in room number 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alessandra_ufv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hi Alessandra,
Thank you for your warm wonderful words. We are happy you feel at home in our motel. We enjoy you staying with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again next year. All the best.
Kind regards,
Bernard & Finy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

When we stayed at the motel, we were arriving from taupo, so this was on our way and easy to find. We saw the swimming pool, unfortunately it was too cold to go for a swim, but even the pool looked clean! So, good for when you're there in the summertime. The room that we stayed in was very neat and tidy. The beds were very comfy and shower and kitchen up to date.
We understand why Fern motel is a 4 star motel :) Keep up the good work owners!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hetty v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I got a relatively good price to stay at this motel over New Years. Arrived about an hour before check in, we were asked to come back later which we did, and our room was still not ready. When we got our room it was clean and tidy, but a bit disappointing - I was under the impression (rightly or wrongly) that I had paid for a renovated room, it was really quite old and the bathroom in particular was very dated and old. It was ok for a few nights but I would pay a little more to be closer to Napier waterfront, and in something more modern. It would probably be good value for a young family, however.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happywhalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were a bit disappointed and that your unit was not ready for you in time. We upgraded all units with heatpump/aircons and new beds & linen but for $15 more you get a renovated unit with new kitchen, bathroom, furniture & flatscreen tv.Maybe you would like to try this next time. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Just got back from new zealand from almost 2 months vacation. We stayed at more than fifteen 4 star hotels across NZ north and south islands. My wife and I rated this one - the worst one. Very dated facility for shower, cooking, --- etc, and noisy during the night. We suggest to stay away from this hotel.
Good part: close to mission winery and owners are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_pcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience in Napier, but we believe it was not in our motel. We had a look at all our bookings but no guests from Taiwan have stayed with us over the last 6 months.
As for the 4 Star rating: we had our yearly Qualmark assessment this week and were rated a solid 4 Star again.
If you or your friends/family ever visit New Zealand again we would love to welcome you to stay at our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
2.9 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
2.4 mi away
Albatross Motel
Albatross Motel
#12 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palm City Motor Inn
Palm City Motor Inn
#7 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Court Motel
Cedar Court Motel
#20 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Motel

Property: Fern Motel
Address: 4 Westminster Avenue | Tamatea, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fern Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Motel offers you Family Friendly Kiwi Hospitality. We have 18 ground-floor units with natural surroundings. They all have fully equipped kitchens, en-suite bathrooms, heat pump / air con & free wireless internet. So that your stay is pleasurable we provide Standard and Deluxe Studios and Family Units –the Deluxe units have been beautifully refurbished with new kitchens with dishwasher (Family Units), flat-screen TVs, new beds, carpet, linen & modern decor.We also have one new 2 Bedroom Unit.It has a beautiful large kitchen with dishwasher, big fridge/freezer and large ceramic hob. Bedroom 1 has a queen and bedroom 2 has 3 singles.Both bedrooms and the lounge have flatscreen tv’s. The lounge is stylishly decorated and has a sofabed and a nice dining area. All units have secure off-street parking and their own private courtyard where you can sit outside or entertain in the BBQ area. You can watch the kids swim in the large pool and play in the children's fenced playground area. Just off the HB Expressway, Fern Motel is conveniently located between Taradale & Napier City, close to Napier Airport, Park Island Sports Complex, Pettigrew Green Arena, Onekawa Aquatic Centre & Church Road and Mission Estate Wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fern Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing