We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So quiet you can actually hear the conversation”
Review of Fox on the Quay - CLOSED

Fox on the Quay
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Piha, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So quiet you can actually hear the conversation”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

When our host said he want dot go to Fox on Quay as he could hear the conversation, I thought you know that is so important and over the last few years with busy establishments you have forgotten that the art of conversation has been lost to sound blasting walls! So not only could we hear the conversation, but the food was fantastic! There was an awesome selection to choose from, it was beautifully presented and the turn around was just right. We finished on a great cheese board, that was just right in regards to the selection and the amount. A perfect meal!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Piharian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    22
    8
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Very Nice food, good portion sizes, Waiter was excellent and price was decent. Only small comment would be they should wait a bit before serving your main meal as we had a Seafood chowder for Entrée, was hard to finish our main as it was served quite fast. Would highly Recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krissystar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Foxy style”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

A casual cafe style atmosphere with good food. We booked via the website but the response seemed a wee slow.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LesW2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“the fox has it all !”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

A great meal (their scallops are to die for), great service and great atmosphere. This has to be one of the best restaurants I have ever gone to and clearly, I am not the only one thinking like that since the place seems to be full most of the time with lots of returning customers and that speaks for itself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotteofvarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No service here!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Where do i start. We were looking forward to celebrating our civil union with friends at Fox on the quay , The waitress was very abrupt to the point of being rude, when we enquired about the wine selection as we weren't given a drinks menu we were promptly told we are not a bar but a restaurant, at this point it was a bit of a downer for us as we just wanted a nice bottle to start the evening, The food arrived staggered which meant we had to eat separately. All in All we arrived Happy left very disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 59boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox on the Quay also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing