We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Fox on the Quay - CLOSED

Fox on the Quay
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant last year and we were suitably impressed.
We decided to go back this year. We were not disappointed. Great food, good wine and very pleasant service.
We shall be back next year when we return for the Art Deco weekend.

Helpful?
Thank Belgiananddane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    22
    8
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dundas Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great meal from small establishment!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The menu was not overwhelming but we were offered enough choices that all in our party of four were able to make an agreeable selection. The food was superb as was the service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, NZ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unwelcome locals”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Two visits, around one year apart. There won't be a third visit.

Take I. Arrival 5pm, practically turned away by waitress after requesting an early evening drink and platter at an outside table. NO other patrons, rude service, finished our drink and left.

Take II. 12 months on, arrival 12:10pm for a lunchtime drink and potentially something to eat. The waitress snarled at us (with curled lip) and when we asked what the problem was, she said they were "open for lunches not drinks". With 3 of the 20 or so tables filled, they were clearly flat out (not). My husband paid for his already opened drink, though we could not stomach staying to drink it.

Are you in "hospitality"?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

From walking in the door the staff were excellent they were very efficient. The service was quick without feeling you were being rushed. I ordered 2 entrees both were excellent my partner the scotch fillet which was cooked exactly how it should be. The desserts were very tempting but unfortunately we were totally full but next time we will certainly sample them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBHawkesBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Foxy treat”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We wanted to try a restaurant that was off the beaten (tourist) track so we asked a store owner and learned of the Fox on the Quay (pronounced "key"), a 10 minute drive from the Art Deco Center area.
Our meal was outstanding! I started with the calamari which had a little kick to it. My wife had the ravioli stuffed with eggplant and spinach on a bed of homemade tomato sauce which was delicious although a little bit cool - the only blemish on the meal. For our mains we both had the snapper on a bed of risotto which was simply Devine! Service was prompt and courteous and the setting was intimate but not stuffy, overlooking a marina. Quite lovely.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox on the Quay also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing