We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal place to stay”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Spent two nights at the Bella Vista in January 2013. Ideal location, 2 minutes from town centre, supermarkets and beach. The room was exceptionally clean, as was the kitchen area and bathroom, all the little touches made a difference. Having been fortunate enough to have done alot of travelling I can honestly say that this little Motel is the cleanest place I have ever stayed. The bedding and towels were pure white and smelt lovely, I felt the need to congratulate Melanie and John as it was obvious that both have very high standards and work hard to maintain these. Would definatley recomend the Bella Vista.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmar186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvnapier, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and of course our super Art Deco city. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    58
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
70
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed one night.Pleasant friendly hosts,very clean motel and quiet at night.Great to be able to sit outside on a hot summer evening and have a cold glass of wine before strolling into town for dinner.
Easy walk into the city and up to Marine Parade and sea walks.
Two big supermarkets within 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvnapier, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Glad we found this motel. It is very well situated and the owners make guests feel welcome. A big plus is the choice of restaurants nearby, and just across the road is an RSA that offers superb roast dinners.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatronEpsom_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvnapier, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your super review, we love the position of our motel, close, but not too close, just right.

Our own travel experience tells us, that eventually you are ready for a good 'home cooked' meal, and the RSA provides a cracker!

Enjoy the rest of your NZ adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshbydelaZouch
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Unfortunately the weather wasn't on side during our stay but Napier is nevertheless worth a visit- pleasant seaside location and great collection of art deco buildings built after the 1931 earthquake.
Our Bella Vista motel didn't disappoint - friendly hosts, very clean and comfortable accommodation and located a block back from the beach.
Surrounded by roadworks during our visit but once we had worked out how to get to the motel, had now further problem and experienced no noise.
If visiting Napier, can recommend as a pleasant place stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very clean and tidy motel. Friendly and helpful hosts. A small mistake with our original charges was handled well. Enough wifi included in the room fee for emails and internet browsing. One block away from the beach, and just a few minutes walk to the town centre and local supermarket. Good restaurants also very close by. Got our holiday off to a great start and set a high standard for the rest of our trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvnapier, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your super review of our business and the surrounding area.

We would love to welcome your party back to Napier in the future. Hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
228 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is one street back from the beach, its modern and very clean, but it is a motel, not a hotel, so things are pretty basic, great for work accomodation but not the spot for a romantic weekend.

Location is a 5 mion walk to town, offstreet parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slamminsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our unit was on ground floor but being tired we never noticed until we were settled in that the "kitchenette" we asked for actually only consisted of a microwave but on discussion with the owners we decided to stay put and just eat out. The RSA right across the road provided an excellent Saturday night smorgasborg meal which is open to anyone, not just members.
There were road workers outside improving and making way for extra footpaths etc. while we were there but that did not bother us. In the big bathroom and toilet (one room) the shower is not boxed off so the water is drained off and can leave the floor quite wet if you don't mop it up.
The queen bed was firm but comfortable and we slept well and enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor so I don't know what the upstairs units are like but there are plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvnapier, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.

We have two Wheelchair Access units available in our complex, these rooms do have wetroom facilities designed especially for wheelchairs guests, but if not required for this purpose, they are not left empty, but utilised for other guests. All other units have a conventional shower boxes or a bath with a shower over. In all our website listings, we are careful to described what facilities are available in each room type.

The road works have now been completed. We have new storm water and water supply pipes, footpaths, curbing and seal, all set for another 10 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.3 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Motor Lodge
Edgewater Motor Lodge
#17 of 47 in Napier
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
549 reviews
2.0 mi away
Deco City Motor Lodge
Deco City Motor Lodge
#15 of 47 in Napier
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 314 Hastings Street | Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WiFi. A great central location with 18 superior units, short walk to CBD, shops, restaurants and the renowned Marine Parade with its majestic Norfolk pines. Tour the unique architecture of our city, or stroll down the ocean-side walkway where you will encounter the National Aquarium of New Zealand, Sunken Gardens, Ocean Spa Swimming Complex and Mini Golf to name just a few. Ideal corporate location, we are the closest motel to the town centre, public building sector, and business & conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing