We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All You Would Expect From A Great Motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
258 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“All You Would Expect From A Great Motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Just a few minutes from the promenade and the centre of Napier the accommodation was spotless, the facilities great and the bed very comfortable. The free wi-fi is limited to 50 Meg per day, but this proved to be plenty for our needs. The owners have a lot of information on the local area and you can charge the cost of meals at many local restaurants to your room.

We would recommend you try the three course buffet dinner in the restaurant of the RSA club opposite the Motel. The food is good, there are lots of choice and at $25 per person very good value for money. Ask the Motel owner for a voucher and you also get a free glass of wine or beer each.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvnapier, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you Dexx for your review.

Our guest internet system is quite new, and we are feeling our way with the allowance given. In the last week the per day FREE Internet allowance has been increased by 100%, to 100mb per day.

The RSA is certainly a great place for a meal, prices range from NZ$20 to $25 for a two course meal including tea and coffee. The price depends on which night of week you go, they are open 7 nights a week, and yes ask us for a drink voucher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    57
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
69
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

After staying with Sue & Kevin at Bella Vista Rotorua, we were looking forward to our stay in Napier. The motel here was clean, comfortable, the studio room we had was smaller but we had been warned of that before we arrived. The internet was free but not unlimited and had a 50mb per day free quota which was OK for us, but we felt we had to keep an eye on the usage meter. The room was functional but no sink to wash up or fill the kettle except the basin in the toilet. The motel is situated 1 street away from the seafront and it is a short walk to the town and to the takeaways, supermarkets and the intercity bus stop. It did suffer from a small amount of road noise at times and slight noise from plumbing in other rooms, but this was bearable. The reception was very efficient and Melanie was very helpful and even replaced some crackers that had attracted some ants.
All in all it was a good quality budget option for Napier.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvnapier, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Many thanks for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in Napier.

Bella Vista Napier, like all of our fellow Bella Vista Group motels, have a variety of Studio type units, ranging from the Mini/Compact to the King Spa. The King studio's offer more space and a microwave kitchenette, including bench and sink provisions. All units have crockery and cutlery, so if you would like to buy your food from the local supermarkets, deli or organic shop, and enjoy a leisurely meal in the warm evening sun, maybe a glass of wine to go with it, you can do that too.

Bella Vista Napier, is a 4 star Qualmark rated property, we also have a Silver Enviro award.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Bella Vista does not have a vista, but is good anyway. I was in room 4 on the ground floor which was clean and well fitted out. It was handy being that close to the car also.

The staff are very helpful and nothing was a problem – the kind of helpfulness that keeps you coming back. The location is great just off the foreshore and opposite the RSA club. A short walk to Restaurant Indonesian ensured a great stay.

You get 50mb of free internet which is enough for email etc.

Room Tip: Ground floor is good if you have large bags. Eat Restaurant Indonesian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvnapier, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your super review.

Two worthwhile tips..We all probably take more items in our suitcases than we need, I know we did when travelling back to the UK, where I was born, but you learn quickly for the next trip and adjust your packing! So, please do request a ground floor unit and we will do all we can to help out.

And yes, Restaurant Indonesia is a great place to eat and experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

this motel is well located being a very short walk to the art deco centre of Napier and an even shorter walk to the sea front. The standard room we had was clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. During our travels we found many hotels and motels advertising internet access only to find that it was restricted to the lobby area or only only wired internet or was very expensive. Not so this Bella Vista. The rooms have wired access but we were provided with a router for wireless access for no charge and the internet was free! Just what is needed when trying to stay in touch with friends back home or book tickets for an attraction.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairviewbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvnapier, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Where would we be without the Intenet, can you remember back that far!

We have now installed a fancy new system and software package, which means all units have the choice of Cable or WiFi Internet. We will give you 50MB per day FREE, to catch up with freinds and family back home, or check the all important bank balance. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is a great little motel with very friendly and chatty people who were keen to help with maps and restaurant reviews. It is very well located and a good price for the modern rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlecoldkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

We and several of our family stayed in two rooms at the Bella Vista for four nights in December. We booked Queen rooms, but were allocated in the rooms adapted for disabled guests on the ground floor. These were quite spacious and were clean, smart and well equipped and decorated. Being disabled rooms, the bathrooms were fitted out as wet rooms, which sounds grim, but they were fine, with large shower area and curtains that minimised wet splashes, and there were soap and shower gel in wall dispensers, and tissues.

The rooms had a kitchenette, with a fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, teapot and cafetiere, and enough crockery and cutlery for two. There were tea and coffee making facilities and fresh milk was provided on check-in. The room had a double wardrobe with adequate hanging space, but there's very little drawer space. Many of the ground floor rooms - and several of those on the first floor - had a table and chairs outside, which made having a drink and a chat on warm evenings a pleasant experience.

The location is very good, just five minutes' walk to the centre of Napier and even closer to the seafront. There are a number of good restaurants nearby, the Cathay Delight (Chinese) being a good example. The Lone Star in the town centre offers large portions, particularly of their ribs, and the Hog's Breath offers good steaks, but avoid the miniscule lamb cutlets if you're hungry.

Overall, a good choice of motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHassall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvnapier, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Many thanks for your positive review of our Motel. We might be a small town but we do have some super places to relax and enjoy an evening meal. Our motel is situated well, to the CBD, Ocean and to take great advantage of the afternoon and evening sun, which also provide us with some stunning sunsets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed for 1 night, owners very welcoming on arrival as we were the last guest to arrive (late), explained where the eating places were and how to get to the supemarket. Rooms were very clean and all amenities included. The motel is in walking distant to the CBD and beach as well as walking distant for my meeting. Would reccommend this motel to others.

Room Tip: Very handy to CBD and beach within walking distant, owners were very nice on arrival, explained wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seakimcel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.3 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#21 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel de la Mer
Motel de la Mer
#22 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.0 mi away
Deco City Motor Lodge
Deco City Motor Lodge
#18 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 314 Hastings Street | Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WiFi. A great central location with 18 superior units, short walk to CBD, shops, restaurants and the renowned Marine Parade with its majestic Norfolk pines. Tour the unique architecture of our city, or stroll down the ocean-side walkway where you will encounter the National Aquarium of New Zealand, Sunken Gardens, Ocean Spa Swimming Complex and Mini Golf to name just a few. Ideal corporate location, we are the closest motel to the town centre, public building sector, and business & conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing