We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westshore Fish Cafe

Westshore Fish Cafe
Ranked #31 of 194 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a lovely meal with of chips and fish and a glass of beer. A variety of fish to choose from I had the John Dory and it was excellent, the chips were good and it came with mushy peas.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    38
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just great fish served by people who care”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We went to Westshore Fish Cafe on 16th March 2014 because our motel owner recommended it and he was absolutely right. The cafe is licensed or byo, food is great, plenty of locals eat there because the owner and his wife are passionate about food and service.
Very unpretentious and a little off the beaten track. But go find it and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KentWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal here, beautiful fish and excellent service. Just up the road from where we were staying so very handy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank di k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I love your fish and chips they are beautiful esp with your tartae sauce! Always a wait but soooo good! I always recomend this shop!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could be in Scarborough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I am from the North of England and we know our fish and chips! where I'm from, growing up fish and chips were the only fast food available. We have tried fish and chips from every place in Napier and this place is by far the best, to be honest it is the last place we tried as it is the furthest one from where we live. The freshness of the fish and crispiness of the batter really reminds me of growing up in Yorkshire and my visits to Scarborough where we always had fish and chips as we walked along the beach.
The service is very friendly and efficient.
I am now bring my kids up on great fish and chips, worth the trip!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westshore Fish Cafe also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Westshore Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing