We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what you look forward to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Front Motel Napier
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Piha, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just what you look forward to”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Arriving to the room late at night, it was a welcome relief. It is like a liitle home away from home. You could imagine that it is what apartment living is like. It makes a huge difference from just the straight out room with a bed.

The cleanliness is second to none, the white titles in the bathroom were sparkling. My only regret is that I didn't get the time to enjoy the spa bath which is ajacent to the bedroom.

Also the bed does move around a bit so somehing to watch out for :-)

One to return to.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piharian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    139
    43
    6
    6
See reviews for
68
213
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
874 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We are very pleased to have found this place, a prize at that. We are on the ocean front, large room, deck with chairs,, spa bath and kitchen to boot. We also have an iron and board and bathrobes to lounge to around in our room. Price is reasonable from what we have seen. A lovely clean town and friendly people. WiFi is $5 and I am happy to have it available. A jumping off place for wine tasting in the Napier and Hawkes Bay region.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

The location of this hotel is great that there are many nice restaurants on both the front and back streets and a lovely children's play park infront of the hotel. Beautiful views of the ocean made the big difference. The kitchenette was great as well as other facilities in the room. The cleanliness and maintenance of my guest room (suite) and the bath room were more than my expectations. Friendly and helpful staff.

While we thoroughly enjoyed using the spa in the room, we were a bit concerned, that much after the bath, the spa made fart like noise intermittently all through the night, which did disturb our sleep. Is it due to some blockage in the drain or is it unwise to have an open spa in the bed room?

One other problem we faced is that although it is indicated that the rooms are smoke free, the people staying below our room were constantly smoking outside and the smoke bothered us the whole time we were there. The prices are a bit high compared to some of the other hotels on the same beach front.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach were the best. There was no noise from the road on 1st floor room and the cur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerPorirua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

If you're looking for a room with a spa, you can't get better than this! Huge spa bath with view of LCD TV, - big enough for two people! Fluffy white bath robes, clean, quiet room, located on the top floor right across the road from the beach and within walking distance of the city.
Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5stargirl2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I've been coming to stay at Beach Front for the past ten years and in that time, it has remained a fabulous place to stay and relax in Napier. The views from the actual beach front rooms are great but I prefer staying on the city side because it's quiet away from the road, it's darker cos the morning sun does not stream in (love the black-out curtains too) and it's a bit cheaper.
The spa bath is enormous and luxurious. It is a clean, well kept motel. I love the white tiled bathroom with great shower. The beds are extremely comfortable and love the super king size. In time, it would be good to see the Beach Front upgrade to flat screen tvs and perhaps make the decor more neutral, it is starting to date, but really no problems at all, and I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to all my friends. I travel often to Napier and have stayed at a few motels nearby on Marine Parade but this is my favourite place to stay.

Room Tip: City side lacks a view but is very quiet. If you don't mind traffic noise and the sunlight wakin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerieeeeeeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

My 3 year old daughter and I got very cheap tickets to fly to Napier, and car rental prices in Napier were sky high ($140 for one day's rental!). So I decided to just take a shuttle back and forth to our lodging. But this meant that our lodging had to be in a really good place since we'd be walking every where.

Well, the Beach Front Motel has a great location. You are 5 minutes walk from the national aquarium, 5 minutes walk from the Ocean spa (which has inexpensive use of their heating outdoor pool), and right across the street from the beach and an extensive playground. We couldn't find any place to eat for breakfast within a short walking distance, however, so you'd want to be prepared for that. (You can order breakfast at the motel; if I had known, I would have.) The dairy nearby is almost all junk food, so it wasn't helpful at all.

The room was nice. The furniture is older but in good condition. The heating worked great. Most of all, the hot tub was enormous and fantastic. My daughter took 2 baths in it - what fun!

Service was excellent. Unfortunately the motel did not have the sky TV kid's channel, but they let me borrow a DVD player and even let me use some of their grandchild's DVDs! This was nice in the evening when my daughter was collapsing from the excitement of the day and had none of her toys or other things to play with. I couldn't figure out how to work the DVD player, and they came over and got it working.

Overall, this is good value for the money - a great location, good facilities, and one of the less expensive options on Marine Parade.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everglades_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed here on a one night mid week business stopover in a room booked by someone else in my company and scored a second level room at the back of the complex that didn't face the ocean.
Apart from the musty smell at the bottom of the entrance staircase and the garish nautically themed decor I couldn't fault the place
There are obviously nicer places around but I would quite happily stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.5 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Front Motel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Front Motel Napier

Property: Beach Front Motel Napier
Address: 373 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#13 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Front Motel Napier 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure beside the sea, we offer 46 spacious studio and family size units. All units have a spa pool or spa bath, and a kitchen. Some with balcony and sea views. Some with air con. Walk to city centre and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Front Motel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Front Motel Napier Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing