We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Ballina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballina Motel
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great stay”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Another great stay at the Ballina the past week for work. Enjoy the clean and tidy rooms with everything you need. Very comfy beds are the best! The hosts, as always, make the stay extra special with helping you out with dinner and tourism bookings when you need it - always friendly and great to have a chat with - lots of good local knowledge they can tell you all the 'off the beaten track' things to do which is awesome.
Great place to stay, especially in this hot weather with fantastic air conditioning that you can get to the perfect temperature.... (have also stayed here in winter and the heat pump in each room is amazing!)
Highly recommend this place again - I will be back on my next work trip!! (Or a weekend away!)

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet without noise from the road pollution, its in Taradale so not on that main strip of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fwanklebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    20
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
16
37
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Clean, comfortable rooms. The rooms are modern. We thought the service was good.. I would stay here again for sure if I was in the area. The bathroom shower wasn't a huge issue for me, at least it is clean and new inside. It's not like like you are paying $400 a night to stay here or anything.

Room Tip: I would ask for a second floor room, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dargaville, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Execellent service. Beyond the call of duty. Very helpful.
Well appointed suite.
Hot drink selection included decafe
Spa bath relaxing after busy day. Very comfortable bed.
Would happily have stayed longer.
Easy walk to the local shops, restaurants etc.
Close to Mission Estate & other wineries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael0372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, found the suite very clean and modern. Staff were helpful and friendly. Our stay included a free wine tour and a cheeseboard. The only thing I would say that wasn't that great was the shower. No shower curtain, a lot of wet floor!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here recently and were not very impressed. Room is basic, fridge was noisy and the bathroom was very different, reminded me of a hospital bathroom, there is a wet floor shower/bathroom, there is no curtain on the shower so water goes everywhere, I was not impressed about having to wipe down the toilet seat due to water all over it. There is also no lock on the bathroom. I do not think its value for money. We wont be back. Hosts manner could definitely be improved on as well.

Room Tip: Bring your own shower curtain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The rooms are very spacious and well presented, and impeccably clean. One of the best nights sleep we have ever had away from home. The owners were very helpful, showing us to our room and explaining how things in the room worked. A rare level of service in this day and age! Great location. Just an easy walk to local restaurants and very central. This would have to be one of the best motels we have stayed in and as good if not better than a lot of hotels. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great location for the sports arena; clean and well presented rooms, great service. Nothing was too much trouble and the owners were very helpful. This was booked for visitors from out of town and they were most impressed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank servicecounts-az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.4 mi away
Bluewater Hotel
Bluewater Hotel
#37 of 47 in Napier
149 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
572 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel
4.8 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Motel

Property: Ballina Motel
Address: 393 Gloucester Street, Napier, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ballina Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ballina Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Hawke's Bay's newest luxury air-conditioned motels - the place where those in the know choose to spend their time while staying in Napier. What makes the Ballina Motel special is our small size allows us to focus on those important little details and provide personal service to ensure that your stay is both a relaxing and memorable experience. All our spacious rooms are air-conditioned (to provide some relief from Hawke's Bay's high summer temperatures and warmth in winter), and furnished to a high standard of quality which is reflected in our 4 Stars rating. Our quiet residential location (there are no crashing waves, barking seals, trucks or trains thundering through the night to keep you awake) ensures that you arise fully refreshed to take on the new day's challenges and fully enjoy the great Hawke's Bay lifestyle and glorious weather. Centrally located in Taradale midway between Napier and Hastings city centers - ensures that you are close to all of Hawke's Bay's diverse range of activities and attractions. Within easy walking distance of the cafe's restaurants, bars, and the main shopping center of Taradale. If you are looking for more than a standard motel, but not the excessive expense of a hotel then you are in the right place. Our accommodation makes the ideal base for visitors to Hawke's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing