We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Venue, Friendly Staff”
Review of The Dome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dome
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Beautiful Venue, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were beautiful - just a pity I was doing a day trip and not an overnight stay. I only used a meeting room, but the views across the street to the coast were exceptional, a nice change from other venues for having meetings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
53
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay at the Dome. Loved the combination of the beautiful Art Deco building with an ultramodern interior. Slept deeply every night in the supercomfortable bed (the sea air probably helped as well). You can hear the waves at night if you open your window!

Napier isn't well known outside NZ. It's a pity that most international tourists focus on the traditional overhyped NZ destinations. They should give Napier a try -- they may be pleasantly surprised. The beach is wonderful and everything you need is within a short walking distance from the Dome. If you prefer the big city then Napier is not for you, but there is plenty to do here. The natural beauty and unique charm of this place makes it well worth a visit.

It was so good we are planning another trip right now.....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lotuseater93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We recently stayed for the weekend in the Deco Decant suite at the Dome in Napier. The quality of the fittings were excellent and in keeping with the art deco architecture but with a modern twist. Every detail was top notch with small things like underfloor heating in the bathrooms making all the difference. Whilst the Dome is more expensive than a lot of other hotels in Napier, we found that between four adults, the price is actually quite reasonable with the added bonus of being right in the centre of Napier.

The Deco Decant had a circular dining room underneath the dome that gives the hotel its name. Also lovely balconies with views of the ocean.

I actually can't fault anything about our stay - it is well worth it for a special weekend.

Room Tip: If there are more than four people, I highly recommend the Deco Decant room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimiscoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Dome for our staff xmas do. Ailne also allowed us to used the stunning ballroom to host a few people (35!) for a couple of hours for wine, nibbles and a presentation...The service was impeccable! A truely amazing hostess.
Later that evening after 3 hours in the luxurious spa we all had revitalising sleeps on the super comfy beds... What an absolutely fabulous place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in October 2012. The hotel is in the heart of Napier and is an iconic element of the town's art deco environment. The owners have restored the property beautifully - and cleverly. The property lends itself to multiple configurations making it suitable for couples, families, groups and even larger parties who could potentially book the entire property. The owners were fantastic, showing us through the property and giving us great tips on where to eat and visit. It was a pleasure to meet people who understood their business and their clientele so well.
As to our accommodation, our suite overlooked the ocean to the horizon - literally from our bed. The suite adjoined a common kitchen and sitting room ( which we also had to ourselves for the two days) and opened out on to the plunge pool and spa.
We can't recommend this property highly enough. We have stayed in a succession of 5 star accommodation this holiday and I can honestly say staying at the Dome was a real highlight of the whole trip. We don't doubt we will be back - probably with a group of friends.
Next time we plan to stay in one of the penthouse apartments which are truly fantastic.
Thanks to Alina, Brent and Kath for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: The Cape View suite has a large balcony and uninterrupted views of the ocean to the horizon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent a couple of nights in the Cape View apartment at the Dome and it comfortably exceeded our expectations. Napier is a slightly sleepy and old-fashioned place, with a pleasant enough seafront but not a great deal else happening.

Once we ascended in what must be the ancient original Art Deco era lift we were very pleasantly surprised to find ourselves in a spacious, well-designed open plan apartment with two good-sized bedrooms for us and the kids, plus pretty much every creature comfort you could wish for. We didn't use the pool or balcony, as it was unseasonably cold (December is supposed to be summer but we didn't notice it). The view over the bay was excellent and cheering in the morning as the sun came up.

We took good advantage of the appliances, as we had been in hotels for the previous few days, and used the washer and dryer to avoid hotel laundry bills. It was also nice to be cooking our own breakfasts, though the controls on the rather flash ceramic hob baffled us for a while - it's one of those pointless designs where somebody somehow thought a 3-step process to turn on a burner was a better idea than turning a simple knob.

I should note that it's well located on the sea front at the centre of the town, with all the principal shops in walking distance on the streets behind (bar the main supermarket which is a little further away). We ate at the adjacent Mason's hotel both evenings we were there and found this convenient, reasonably priced and tasty.

The only slight annoyance is that the Dome has no parking of its own and you have to unload and then move your car to a lot a couple of blocks away. No biggie if you're not coming and going a lot (we weren't) but I can see some might find this inconvenient.

Room Tip: Cape View apartment is the best: good layout, great view, sleeps 4 comfortably and 6 at a push.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacDaddyinSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Dome is in an excellent position, is very well managed, and very well presented. We stayed in the Cape View appartment and the design was thoughtful at all levels, with best use made of great views.

Whether for 4 persons in our party or for visiting groups for meals and for entertaining it was ideal.

The induction/briefing from Dome staff was detailed, warm, friendly, exceptional.

The consumables on site well thought through, ample to make simple breakfasts, plenty of paper towel, dishwasher tabs. Everything worked in terms of electrics and plumbing and all accessories. An exceptional place that is well run and well maintained.

Room Tip: There are two appartments. Cape View has the better views, Deco has a layout that would suit busines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
899 reviews
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 47 in Napier
784 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
575 reviews
1.3 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dome

Property: The Dome
Address: 101 Marine Parade | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dome 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dome apartments provide the highest level of contemporary modern living and pure luxury. Complete with: spacious living areas, generously apportioned bedrooms and fully equipped kitchen and dining facilities. Many of the bedrooms include, balconies and panoramic sea and cityscape views. This is complemented by luxury decor, with furnishing from designers like Philippe Stark, and artwork by renown local artists like Martin Popperwell, Dick Frizzle, Fane Flaw and Richard Brimmer. The Dome offers an exclusive and privacy which has made it a popular retreat favored by local and international artists & celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing