We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best accommodation in napier”
Review of The Dome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dome
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I had a great stay at the Dome in a lovely studio room, The location couldn't have been better with the shops on the doorstep as well as the marine parade, which other than the fantastic views is ideal for an evening or morning stroll, the ability to just pop out for a meal or a coffee was so appealing. I can only say that this is an ideal place to have a romantic getaway with your partner as the ambience of the Dome creates a great atmosphere for one to pamper their favourite partner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 135 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had the most wonderful opportunity to celebrate a 60th Birthday at the Dome We chose The Cape View Penthouse suites as they were beautifully set up for a gathering of our 40 plus guests and the two bedrooms were so lovely,both having amazing views, for the four of us who stayed the night. The well appointed kitchen,dining and living rooms had everything necessary to create the perfect party,even down to an astounding music and video system, and the whole apartment is graced with a warm and inviting ambience. All our guests were blown away with the venue and the views. We were truly welcomed with much gusto and offered every assistance to ensure our night was a superbly memorable occasion-and it was! Special thanks to Ailne and Karla ...you are the best.

Room Tip: The Cape View has a lovely sun drenched balcony with fabulous views to The Kidnappers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My friend and I had a wonderfully relaxing time at The Dome in Napier. The apartment was large, luxurious, and full of all the required amenities for a weekend away. The service was very good and the bubbly on arrival a wonderful touch. The views in particular are amazing, and I relished being able to sit in the bath and gaze at the sunset over the ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahemilyyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at The Dome in Napier as a special treat for one night of our Honeymoon in New Zealand & could not fault it - our only regret was not staying for longer!

The location in Napier & the accommodation itself is absolutely stunning. The suite we stayed in was just out of this world, beautiful & immaculate interior decor that really does justice to the iconic building it occupies, extremely well kitted out & a fantastic balcony with views out to sea. Absolutely recommend this as a place to stay & it formed a truly memorable part of our honeymoon. Thank-you to the whole team at the Dome for making our stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Recently we had a quick trip to Napier for business and stayed at the Dome apartments. We had a studio unit and it was spacious and lovely. We also had a kitchen and laundry at our disposal. The location was perfect and we could walk everywhere from there.

If you are looking for something special, this is a gorgous place to stay.

Megan and David Parker
Gisborne

Room Tip: make contact with the people at The Dome, Napier to discuss what room option would best suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Dome was a pleasant surprise for us on our great NZ tour of 2011. We weren't sure what to expect of accommodation in the Hawke's Bay area. We stayed in one of the penthouses with a view of the ocean and it was nicely furnished and well equipped and in excellent nick. Kitchen and bathrooms were up to date and upmarket, with a few designery touches. The oven was a little too complicated though! Excelllent feature was the laundry room - very useful when you are a family on a four week tour! The owner met us and gave us a few suggestions for restaurants which turned out to be good. There was a nice welcome basket of well-chosen treats and staples. The entire apartment was impeccably clean. All in all I feel very pleased with our choice of the Dome, and would recommend it to friends with no hesitation. The actual town of Napier was pleasant enough - it is known for its art deco architectural style, as everything was rebuilt in the 1920s or 1930s after a catastrophic earthquake. Please go with Hamish for your wine tour, as he is a knowledgeable, pleasant and low key bloke With a good sense of humour- just perfect really. Our kids loved him. Must be honest and say I preferred the wines of Central Otago to Hawke's Bay, but this is still a very nice region of NZ and I am glad we saw it. PS there is a good gelato place just downstairs from the Dome apartments which you should try.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
Thank beauchamptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My Husband shouted us away for our wedding anniversary - and to be truthful I don't think he could have chosen better. The facilities are top class and amazing. Everything was top class and so much room. Karla was very helpfuil and friendly right from the time it was booked to when we arrived. It was great to be so central also so we only had to use our feet to visit the super awesome shops that Napier has to offer. I would strongly recommend this accommodation to anyone who wants to do something just a little bit special. Thanks again Karla!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.3 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dome

Address: 101 Marine Parade | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range: $207 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dome 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dome apartments provide the highest level of contemporary modern living and pure luxury. Complete with: spacious living areas, generously apportioned bedrooms and fully equipped kitchen and dining facilities. Many of the bedrooms include, balconies and panoramic sea and cityscape views. This is complemented by luxury decor, with furnishing from designers like Philippe Stark, and artwork by renown local artists like Martin Popperwell, Dick Frizzle, Fane Flaw and Richard Brimmer. The Dome offers an exclusive and privacy which has made it a popular retreat favored by local and international artists & celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing