We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaview Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Lodge
Ranked #9 of 43 Napier B&B and Inns
Loxwood
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Sea view lodge is at the end of a narrow road on Bluff Hill and when you get there you are looking out over Hawkes Bay albeit with a new hotel just beneath you. However this does not spoil the ambience of sitting out on the balcony looking at the sea whilst being in the middle of the famous Napier Art Deco town. Catherine was very attentive and informative and we thoroughly enjoyed her continental breakfasts. Our en suite room was clean and spacious and we enjoyed the character of the very old building perched on the hillside. We were ableto walk to many good and one outstanding restaurant and had the best fish and chips in New Zealand at Emporium.
Chris and Liz A - West Sussex UK

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hi Chris and Liz, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found my recommendations re restaurants helpful. It is always g pod to know where the great fish and chips are! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NZer in Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I can highly recommend this wonderful place. Catherine and Evert were so welcoming and not only provided transport to and from the airport but to the Planetarium too which was 4 km from the town centre. Breakfasts on the balcony were delicious and even included heavenly croissants! Very close to Marine Parade; a quick walk down about 80 steps and you're there. Bedroom spacious, clean and had view of the sea. The bathroom was not ensuite. Lovely to hear the soothing lapping of the sea at night. I was there during the Art Deco Festival so there was some noise coming in in the evenings but no too loud. The festival itself is magnificient!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanieNZerinAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

This charming, victorian home is a wonderful retreat by the sea. Nice view; the beach and main area of Napier are within easy walking distance. Catherine is a gracious host who understands the perfect balance between being available, when needed, and also respecting your privacy. We had the ensuite bedroom, plus the entire 2nd floor to ourselves (since we were the only guests for the evening). Unfortunately, the weather was not as coorperative (chilly/rainy); but, after enjoying dinner out, we were cozy and warm in our seaside digs. Catherine also turned our car around in the tight drive area and it was ready to roll the next morning. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for the ensuite room, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

When Catherine, one of the hosts, greets you at the door, you feel like you have arrived at your best friends house. Her energy and charisma fill the house and you feel at ease immediately.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed and we had the advantage of having the entire place to ourselves.
The walk to town is easy and convenient and Catherine seems to know everybody in town and can hook you up.
Slept beautifully to the sound of the ocean which is right at the base of the cliff.
Breakfast was simple but lovely and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Life-is-a-Banquet-JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

This was our second visit to Napier which we enjoyed just as much as the first. Previously we had stayed a bit further out of the town but really liked the fact that this B&B is so close to the centre. Catherine is a very charming host with lots of helpful information. We had the only bedroom with en-suite, which I would recommend although it doesn't have the sea view.

There is so much to do in Napier. We particularly liked going to Te Mata Peak where we did some walking and then drove near the top and walked the last bit. The views are incredible. There are some beautiful drives in this area and a visit to Hastings is a must.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJT06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have stayed here three times now and would't stay anywhere else in napier. Each time we've stayed we have booked the largest double, which has beautiful seaviews but it is still very reasonably priced. The whole property is lovely.
The first time we stayed Neil was our host, and the second two times it has been Catherine one of the owners. Everytime we have had huge amounts of help with finding the best restaurants, things to do etc, and they have been booked for us. They'll also often turn your car around for you on their very steep narrow drive- I have no idea how they do it! Breakfast is lovely with a good range of things to eat. In summer you can eat out on the balcony overlooking the ocean.
The only people perhaps wouldn't recommend the B+B to would be those with limited mobility, as there are a far few steps to walk up the get to it from the beach front.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaknott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Had a wonderful 2 night break. Catherine and Evert are so friendly and incredibly helpful without being overbearing. From booking our wine tour with vinny (excellent), dropping us off as mission winery for a lovely dinner and putting us in touch with a local mechanic!
Our room was very elegant and had lovely views and a huge comfy bed. Living area very stylish and plush with a great terrace. Continental breakfast was lovely. Overall probably the best B&B we have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppav101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.1 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Lodge

Property: Seaview Lodge
Address: 5 Seaview Terrace | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing