We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Friendly Hotel”
Review of Quest Napier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Napier
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Small Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

This is a great small, clean, well-managed hotel in a great location in Napier, NZ. The owner gave us great service and advice about how to make the most out of our visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohntheProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    117
    44
    13
    3
See reviews for
42
180
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Münster
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

The Quest Napier is a wonderful hotel! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Napier and found Fiona and Ruben to be outstanding hosts. The whole staff was very friendly and provided a brilliant service. Whatever we needed or asked for we got.
Our room was not overly large, but clean, modern and tastefully furnished. We just felt at home. We enjoyed the guest lounge and the free coffee Fiona prepared for us.
If you are into architecture, Napier certainly is a place worth visiting and the Quest itself is located in a historic building. A supermarket and loads of restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Staff were great,very helpful. Rooms were top notch,modern and clean. My one gripe was the fact there was no air conditioning and consideringit is the middle of summer made the heat unbearable. We would stay again in winter but not summer.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquaribbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We were really impressed with Quest Napier. It was super clean, friendly and modern and went out of its way to look after us. The box of toys and dvd's to keep our little one entertained was wonderful. My only complaint was the lack of air conditioning. Even with the windows open and the fan going the room was really really hot. Oh and I'm glad we booked a car park in advance.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tumbleweed37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2011

There was a slight mixup with our reservation (human error and these things happen from time to time--not a big deal). The true mark of a well managed hotel is how well they handle such situations. In this case, we were extremely pleased, Ruben and his very friendly staff fixed the situation quickly for us and provided us with everything we needed. We ended up having a lovely stay in this nice, clean, beautifully refurbished hotel. We found the rooms to be well appointed, clean, comfortable, and quiet. The hotel is really centrally located so you can access all the shopping and restaurants of Downtown Napier with ease. For the price, I don't think you can beat this place and on our next trip to Napier, we won't bother looking for an alternative. We'll happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winetasterRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Quest Napier hits the sweet spot between cost and comfort but does have a few problems. We were there during an early heat wave and got a room on the west side. If we opened the windows we got more street noise than breeze and our ceiling fan was acting up. Much to our surprise, no AC. We complained to the resident manager and since he did not have another room, he fixed up up at another local hotel and paid the extra cost without us even asking. The next day he moved us to the other side of the building, which was cooler.

Just in case it bugs you, New Zealand has legal brothels and this is across the street from the block with three of them. I suspect that's where the extra noise came from at night. It's not that it is a bad neighborhood with crime or drunks, it is just noisy.

By the way, the Hawks Bay wineries are great, take a wine tour. Pity most the wines we tasted are not exported to the US.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We have stayed in a number of Quest apartments in New Zealand and Australia and this one is by far the most impressive. The building is stylish and the rooms very comfortable. The location is in centre of town so there are plenty of restaurants around and you can walk from the door to tour the historical centre.The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbl0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
904 reviews
0.3 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 47 in Napier
784 reviews
0.1 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 47 in Napier
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Napier

Property: Quest Napier
Address: 176 Dickens Street, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest Napier, located in the heart of Napier. Walk to all the shops, cafes, Farmer's Market and Art Deco attractions that this unique city is famous for. Our stylish self-contained apartments each contain a kitchenette for self-catering. Supermarkets are located right behind our building for convenience.Marine Parade and the MTG Hawke's Bay Museum are a short stroll from our front door step and this compact inner city area is a walker's dream. Discover at your pace or hire bicycles to venture further afield on any of the numerous bicycle trails. Our Historic building blends the old with the new for a unique accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Napier Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing