We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our concert weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Napier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quest Napier
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our concert weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were a bit wary of booking an apartment as opposed to a motel but did it anyway.
As it turned out ,what a great decision.,The location was perfect ,central Napier,walking distance to the concert & restaraunts & marine parade .
We chose a studio apartment ,it had everything we required & was spotless.
Clinton on reception was outstanding ,we had never stayed at Quest
Hotels before but will be first on the list for in the future ,it made our weekend ideal.
We are heading to Brisbane in March & will be checking to see if Quest have hotels there.

Room Tip: studios are more than adequate for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billyboston42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    107
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
40
169
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Quest Napier was a good central hotel for exploring the area. Accommodation was excellent and staff very warm, friendly and professional. Only two things let it down. Firstly wifi was charged $24 per device for 24 hours. I feel free wifi should be included as this is the way many people stay in touch especially when travelling overseas. The second was the parking........again this should be free.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helentweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Even though a tropical storm was brewing my stay was spot on. The service was great and the facilities clean and comfortable. The Quest is in the heart of Napier so everything was just a short walk. which was great especially when it was raining and blowing. I will be back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Arrived in Napier late one Wednesday night and were stuck where to stay. Called a few Motels and for the prices they were wanting and what we got was a bit of a joke. Called through to the Quest and asked for the best price for the night. And we got a pretty good price. We were blown away by the service we got. Knowing that this was now after hours. Reuben was more than helpful. Gave a quick tour of where the facilities are, and then to our room. With it having the Quest name there are standards that they are required to meet. I felt they exceeded these. The room was very comfy. The view - well who cares about the view. Check out was a breeze.
If you have doubts about staying here dont.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had 2 nights in a studio room and found it to be very well equipped, clean, comfortable and very well priced. The location for Napier town centre is perfect. Nice , helpful front of house staff also. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Fairly good rooms, modern, view of a tin roof, well equipped, but service was poor.
Advised on arrival there was no where to wait for friends we were meeting- but lots of coffee shops in town. There is a room for guests,no idea why we were not worthy.
Stayed 2 nights.
Housekeeping decided we didn't need hand towels, coffee or milk for day 2.
The rooms seem to have pointless balcony's, closer view of the tin roof on a coffin sized space.
Charmingly however the sparrows dive bomb and try to get in the room.
Oh and the dishwasher-it's in a drawer, as part of the fantastic "kitchen in a wall" affair.

Its also on the street with the Adult shop and the charity/ pound shops- very eclectic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest N, Owner at Quest Napier, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest - Thank you for staying with us recently and sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.

We apologise that there appears to have been a misunderstanding upon check-in. We can only think that your arrival time was prior to the release of your studio and the staff had suggested a number of cafes to visit and a map of the city so that we could prepare your studio for release. As our confirmation details outline, check in time is 2.00pm and for those arriving early in the morning we do offer luggage storage.

Had we been aware you were an early arrival we would have tried our best to allocate a room that is available but with a full house the night before, this may not always be possible. If you were a mid-morning arrival, it may have been that someone was still occupying your studio.

All guests are ofcourse most welcome to avail themselves of the Reading Room to wait in. We can only think that perhaps some of our business guests were using the Reading Room for an informal meeting and it may have not been available at that moment. It is a public area and available for all to use, so please don't be shy to ask next time. There is a free cappuccino machine to use and magazines and papers for guests to read.

I would also apologise that your hand towels were not replaced and the coffee and tea not replenished. There is no reason why this should not have been done and we are sorry for this oversight.

Glad to see that you were able to get out and about in the Hawkes Bay and take advantage of all the activities and flavours that the region has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here for a few weeks through August & September and the Quest team was amazing. This was my first time in NZ and I couldn't have asked for a better stay. The staff was very professional and knowledgable, they were extremely kind. From the moment I walked in I felt very welcomed, they greeted me with a warm smile, escorted me to my room and explained everything to me that I needed to know. Throughout the entire stay they were always very helpful, they always had answers to my questions and were able to recommend numerous fun and exciting activities, restaurants, and attractions for me to check out.

The hotel itself was very clean. I stayed in a Studio Apartment which had more than enough room for myself. All the rooms have kitchenettes which comes in very handy when staying for a long time and spacious bathrooms. My room was serviced daily and the housekeepers were also extremely friendly.

Thank you so much for making my stay unforgettable Ruben, Fiona, & Clinton!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngtraveller1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.3 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Napier

Property: Quest Napier
Address: 176 Dickens Street, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest Napier, located in the heart of Napier. Walk to all the shops, cafes, Farmer's Market and Art Deco attractions that this unique city is famous for. Our stylish self-contained apartments each contain a kitchenette for self-catering. Supermarkets are located right behind our building for convenience.Marine Parade and the MTG Hawke's Bay Museum are a short stroll from our front door step and this compact inner city area is a walker's dream. Discover at your pace or hire bicycles to venture further afield on any of the numerous bicycle trails. Our Historic building blends the old with the new for a unique accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Quest Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Napier Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing