We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great guided walk and bus tour of the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Deco Trust

Art Deco Trust
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.66*
and up
Guided Walk of the Napier Art Deco Quarter
Ranked #1 of 17 Shopping in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Art Deco Centre is your gateway to Napier's heritage and a visit to this city isn't complete without learning about the devastating earthquake of 1931 and the remarkable rebuild that was completed in just 22 months.Visit us for information on guided walks, minibus and vintage car tours and to view a fascinating short film on the 1931 earthquake. The store is filled with uniquely Napier gifts and souvenirs, as well as Art Deco style hats, jewellery, retro children's toys and so much more.Make the Art Deco Centre your first port of call on your next visit to Napier.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great guided walk and bus tour of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We did both the guided walk and bus tour of the city and found the history and particularly the architecture fasinating. The Napier story is one of tradegy, vision and a strong sense of purpose of those who re-built the city after the earthquake. The city is a gem and a must do for all who love anything Art Deco. The Art Deco Trust guides are very friendly,knowledgeable and passionate about their subject. A great tour in a fantastic place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank V8-MGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola P, Manager at Art Deco Trust, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Your review summarises the story of Art Deco Napier perfectly! It's good to hear that you enjoyed your Deco Bus and Guided Walking tours. We hope to see you back here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    204
    31
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Art Deco Delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great tour, we learnt so much from Lesley, our Guide, about Art Deco, a mini style lesson with the stunning buildings a vibrant "textbook" of the varieties she described. The start of the Tour was slightly impaired due to the noisy traffic on Marine Parade, but everything else was great, & a real treat for the Tour to be rounded off with a cup of tea (free) & 20 min film (also free). We were buzzing with enthusiasm & after the Tour rewalked the route & explored more streets to capture the Art Deco spirit

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola P, Manager at Art Deco Trust, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Lesley is one of our team of 70 volunteer guides who love sharing their pride in and passion for Art Deco Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good walking tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We went on a tour of the art deco area, learned about its history, had the various types of decoration described. We also learned how the city had been destroyed by the earthquake and how some extra land had appeared. Very informative and with excellent guide

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AScottyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola P, Manager at Art Deco Trust, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks for sharing your review of the Art Deco Trust's guided walking tours of Napier. It's always good to hear from our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Napier's very own wiki - brilliant enthusiasm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

After a series of adrenaline activities around the north island we wanted something that actually engaged us more with the local history, culture and architecture and this tour didn't disappoint.

It's a much better way to see the city than reading from a guide book or pamphlet as our guide (Wiki) really brought the city alive to us. She was clearly very knowledgable on the town (although understandably couldn't answer every question) but her passion, humour and clear genuineness (is that a word?) made it all come alive.

Well worth the donation to a charity that's working to protect the town we came to see. The tour was totally neat!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola P, Manager at Art Deco Trust, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks for your review. I've passed it on to Wiki who is one of our wonderful volunteer guides who give so much of their time to this organisation to help us spread the word of the wonderful heritage and story of Art Deco Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Informative and Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

This shop provides a 20 minute video on the history of the town and, of course, especially the earthquake and the creation of the Art Deco town. You can also join in organised tours - an ideal way to start a stay in the town.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Deco Trust also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Art Deco Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing