We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco Weekend 2013”
Review of Art Deco Trust

Art Deco Trust
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.45*
and up
Guided Walk of the Napier Art Deco Quarter
More Info
$34.22*
and up
Art Deco Bus Tour of Napier
More Info
$148.28*
and up
Napier Art Deco Vintage Car Tour
Ranked #7 of 32 Tours in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Art Deco Centre is your gateway to Napier's heritage and a visit to this city isn't complete without learning about the devastating earthquake of 1931 and the remarkable rebuild that was completed in just 22 months.Visit us for information on guided walks, minibus and vintage car tours and to view a fascinating short film on the 1931 earthquake. The store is filled with uniquely Napier gifts and souvenirs, as well as Art Deco style hats, jewellery, retro children's toys and so much more.Make the Art Deco Centre your first port of call on your next visit to Napier.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Ongaonga
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Art Deco Weekend 2013”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Another superbly organised weekend - a well-oiled machine - everything just seems to slot into place. WELL DONE GUYS!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LastoleaveLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    212
    33
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
753 reviews
266 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

the arts trust is full of lots of very intersting information about the area,both past and present. the staff were very friendly and helpful

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I'm into anything vintage and this tour seemed right up my alley....it took a little convincing, but I got my husband to add this to our activity list while on our honeymoon in New Zealand. We opted for the evening walking tour and it ended up being just the two of us and our guide. Besides a rocky start (our guide didn't show up for a while),the rest of the tour was very informative and interesting. We got a great overview of the history of Napier, plus some fun facts about Art Deco in general, and the city. The walking tour was also neat because we got to see the whole downtown area while learning about the history. Good time!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsG1447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great overview of the history of the town”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We recently took the guided walking tour round Napier. I had read you could do a self guided tour but, as still jet-lagged, we fancied someone else doing the thinking! Very glad we did. Our guide was friendly and very informative and gave us a great insight into the town.

My only negative comment would be that we were told it was due to finish at 11am and had arranged to meet a friend but actually that doesn't allow for the film at the Trusts building. We had to miss that but were told that we could go back later and show our tickets and see another showing but sadly we don't have time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank scottishgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nostalgia lane”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great stuff from the art deco age. Pricey though. Good place to potter around looking for stuff that brings you a blast from the past. From times when baby boomers were toddlers or times even before they were born.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laozoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Deco Trust also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Art Deco Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing