We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Landing
Ranked #15 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Thank you so much for an incredible experience! From the friendly and welcoming hospitality to the breathtaking sea views that we would wake up to each morning. Our suite (Bayview room) is modern, impeccably clean and spacious. In a word - Stunning!

We have stayed at numerous B and B's while traveling overseas and we can honestly say that none come close to offering the type of quality we received from our hosts Jill & Alan. The Landing offers so many extra points of difference, from the complimentary bottle of wine on arrival and the delicious home baking. Jill even went out of her way to taxi us to one of the local restaurants that we were keen to try, and expected absolutely nothing in return for this service.

Breakfasts are sensational too, with an offering of fresh fruits, assort of preserves, toast, yogurt, cereals, juices, tea or coffee - followed by a deliciously cooked breakfast, that's if you still have room!

It has to be one of the most relaxed and fun short holiday's we've had and we will definitely return without hesitation.

So my tip to you, if you are looking at the Landing as a place to stay - don't even think twice about it - Just do it! I promise you will not regret it!

Nick & Joy Pearce
(Hamilton, NZ)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hearnwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 153 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2010

we joined 2 couples (old mates)at the landing for 2 nights for the Mission concert weekend, what a great time we all had, My wife and I drew the short straw and got the room with the unbelievable view, you look out over the bay to the mountains in the background. The light is constantly changing and the sunset was amazing. The room and amenities were spotless as were the rooms our friends were staying in.At breakfast Jills homemade jams and cereals were just like mum used to make and allan was a first class host. Would we stay again,Yes most definitly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandadAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We have just had one of the best weekends ever. We attended the Mission Concert and Allan and Jill organised everything perfectly. Add to that the marvellous view over the ocean, the spotless cleanliness and Jill's home cooking and you couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awaruastn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We had a lovely visit to Napier staying at The Landing. Very nice position but the walk back up the hill was a bit of a challenge! Very nice breakfast and comfortable, modern furnishings.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandgrounder_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We have traveled throughout NZ to several B&Bs and would rate this up at the top. The ocean view suite is the most amazing room we have stayed in. The hosts, Jill and Allan are welcoming, it really felt like we were "at home". The beds were comfortable, breakfast to order if you wanted hot food on top of continental style. We wanted to bring dinner in just to enjoy the incredible views. Really well run. The only downside is no wireless internet (there was a high speed computer there to use that was wired), which we have had in every other B&B.
Fantastic stay-wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swtrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed at The Landing in November while we were visiting New Zealand. We stayed almost exclusively in B&B's, and this was by far one of our favorites. Jill and Alan made us feel at home the minute we arrived . They were so friendly, made sure we had everything we needed, and gave us a wonderful bottle of wine to enjoy. They can tell you the best places to eat and give you tips on different places to see as well as any wineries you should visit. Unfortunately, when we stayed at The Landing, the Bayview Suite and the Lookout Room were already booked. We stayed in The Studio which was great. It is located at the back of the house with its own separate entrance. The room was very spacious with a new wonderful king size bed, nice modern bathroom, and refrigerator . The Landing sits high on a hill where you can sit in the living room or on the deck and enjoy the spectacular views of the harbor . You walk into town or you can take an inexpensive cab ride.

Thanks again Jill and Alan for making our trip to Napier so wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillg350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

It's always comforting when travelling to have hosts that make you feel like your at home in their home. The house is ultra modern & everything we could possibly need was catered for. We had a wonderful breakfast each morning where everything was home made including the spreads... A bottle of local wine on arrival, warm & friendly hosts, secure parking & then there's the room.
We stayed in the lookout room & it was great. A large comfortable bed, amazing views to wake up or fall asleep to, personal bathroom with modern decor & even our own fridge as if we were in a hotel. We couldn't have asked for anything more as everything was available. My husband even tells me the pool was great for a quick dip. I was too busy having a glass of wine taking in the breathtaking views.
It's a shame we couldn't stay longer but when we pass through Napier again we will be coming back for sure. A big thanks to Jill & Alan for their warm hospitality, great knowledge of the area & amazing home. All the best & see you both again, soon we hope!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walshes_184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.8 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#11 of 46 in Napier
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
939 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#9 of 46 in Napier
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing

Address: 142 Thompson Street, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Hotel Class:4 star — The Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing