We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini break away”
Review of The Landing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Landing
Ranked #14 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our quick mini trip to Napier was perfectly complemented by what started out to be two nights in the bay view suite, but chose to extend our stay for an additional night as it was so pleasant. The room had views to die for and the bed was super large and comfortable. The hosts, Jill and Allan provided a warm and generous welcome and service providing breakfast beyond our expectations and advice on dining and activities in the region, even dropping us down into the city centre for dinner (taxi back NZ$8). Our mini was housed safely in the double garage, which further impressed my husband.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ngaire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanding, Owner at The Landing, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hello Ngaire
Thanks very much for the review. We enjoyed meeting you both, and were glad that you enjoyed the Bayview Suite and chose to stay the extra night. The great Hawkes Bay weather always helps, and we could see you enjoyed the relaxed shopping, and time at the wineries.
The mini was a great hit with our other guests -garage parking no problem!
we'll look forward to seeing you if you are up this way again.
Warm regards
Jill and Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for The Landing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 153 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

A few friends and I were driving to Taupo when our car broke down. The lovely people at the landing picked us up and took us in for the night. Great hospitality, great rooms and an all around fabulous stay. Would highly recommend wish I could of stayed longer

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanding, Owner at The Landing, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Hello Lauren,
Thanks for the review. Glad we had a room available for you -and was no trouble to pick you up and drop you off at the bus station. Hope all turned out okay with the car! -and that you can come back and see us for a more relaxed stay next time.
Regards
Jill and Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Jill and Allan are wonderful and interesting hosts. The house is beautifully appointed and the views are incredible. Jill's recommendations for lunch and dinner were incredible...cudos especially for Enzo at trattoria alla Toscana and thanks Jill for driving us down to the restaurant!
By the way, the farmer's market in Hastings was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanding, Owner at The Landing, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hello Susan,
Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed meeting you both, and could see how much you had enjoyed your evening at the Trattoria. Good to hear you enjoyed the Farmers market. We are lucky here in Hawkes Bay with the abundance of fresh fruit, olives, grapes, cheeses, wines -all those good things that we can share with guests. Best regards, Jill and Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

So we found this B & B and it turned out to be the best!!!!! The location is to die for - the hosts (Jill and Allan) are so interesting and the room that we were in gave a breath taking view of the harbour. If you are going to Napier, you should book this B & B. You could not be in better hands.
When we go back to Napier, this would be the only place for us. Why not go to the best? You will not be disappointed - you will be happy with a big smile. John& Laurie Horrocks Canada

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the front of the house - what a view over the harbour!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanding, Owner at The Landing, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hello John and Laurie
Thank you for your kind words. And your card and gift -we will use them on Christmas Day to make our Canadian guests feel at home! So glad you enjoyed your stay -and were able to enjoy a relaxing time in the Bayview Suite. On such a long trip it is nice to find a place to unwind. We enjoyed meeting you -and hope you can come back sometime.
Regards
Jill and Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were completely blown away by Jill and Alan's amazing BnB in Napier. Jill is the perfect host offering unbelievable accommodation, catering and helpfulness to weary travellers. She advised us extensively on local sights and attractions, how to get around the town, even offering to drive us to our restaurant of choice for dinner. We enjoyed a very peaceful night to wake up to sensational views across Hawke's Bay with its endless parade of boats, large and small. Breakfast was wonderful with lots of home-made delights, all offered while still gazing over the bay and mountains beyond. Don't miss it. Judy and Peter

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanding, Owner at The Landing, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hello Judy and Peter,
Thanks so much for the lovely review. While you only had one night here, we could see that you really enjoyed your time in Napier, and here with us at the Landing. Glad you enjoyed the view from the Bayview Suite -it is hard to beat. Looking forward to seeing you for a longer stay next time. Regards
Jill and Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful experience staying with Jill and Allan this week! Their home is beautiful and their interest and service is exceptional . They were most helpful with dinner recommendations and even gave us a lift in the evening. They had many suggestions regarding areas of interest and were very knowledgeable about the history of the region.,,,and the view is absolutely Stunning !!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CVHBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanding, Owner at The Landing, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Hello folks -wow! -thanks for the rave review. We enjoyed having you to stay -next time perhaps you can come for longer. Thanks too for getting your breakfast underway -you were very quiet coming downstairs! Glad you enjoyed the beautiful view, and a relaxing evening over at West Quay.
Regards
Jill and Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Jill and Allan truly provided a superb experience. Their beautiful property provided unmatched views of Hawke's Bay while only being a nice stroll away from the shops and restaurants downtown. Jill and Allan gave us superb wine tour and restaurant recommendations each day as we set out to explore one of our favorite NZ cities. We truly felt like we were visiting family. We will definitely be back to see Jill and Allan!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanding, Owner at The Landing, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Hello Mark
Thanks so much for taking time to do a review. We enjoyed meeting you both -and are glad you enjoyed the wine tour, and sampling those great Hawkes Bay wines.
Hope the drive on the South Island made for plenty of great photos.
We'd look forward to seeing you again. regards Jill and Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.7 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Watea Lodge
Watea Lodge
#3 of 41 in Napier
98 reviews
1.5 mi away
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
McHardy Lodge
McHardy Lodge
#6 of 41 in Napier
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing

Address: 142 Thompson Street, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Hotel Class:4 star — The Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing