We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the view, stay for the hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Landing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Landing
Ranked #13 of 43 Napier B&B and Inns
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go for the view, stay for the hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The host of the Landing, Jill, was our favourite thing about Napier - she was so warm and welcoming, and she even drove us into town so we could have a few drinks with dinner. The view from the property is sensational, and breakfast was yummy. Just excellent!

Room Tip: If I could do it again, I'd spring for the top front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C0sm0girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanding, Owner at The Landing, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello there- thanks for the review. I thought that was great being a "favourite thing" -I enjoyed meeting you both, and having a chat. I am now working my way through the icecream fridge at the supermarket -not that I needed much encouragement! - but it is hard to beat the local Rush Monroes icecream I was telling you about. I'll save the Bayview Suite for you for your next visit -we'd look forward to it.
Cheers, Jill and Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
131
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here in November( sorry for delay in review ) and could not fault it. The room, the hosts and the town all met my expectations and more! Everything is thought about as previous reviewers have stated and Jill is so friendly and helpful. The view is wonderful over the bay and I think the people who mentioned the container terminal forgot to look around elsewhere fom the balcony!
Absolutely loved Napier and if you like Art Deco you will be in heaven. The people in the Art Deco trust were wonderful , as are most New Zealanders. You won'tbe able to stop taking photographs. Don't miss the National Tobacco factory and the Theatre. Great food down by the wharf area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottyjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanding, Owner at The Landing, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello there -thanks for thinking of us! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay -and that you enjoyed seeing the Art Deco buildings and chatting to the staff at the Trust. The Art Deco festival in February was a lot of fun again -perhaps you can come to that on a future visit. Thanks too for your comments re the container port. While the containers are not very picturesque, watching the ships that come in and out - including the cruise ships -has provided a lot of entertainment for guests. As I probably said to you -"There's always something to see with a view like ours". We'll hope you can come back sometime for another visit. Best regards, Jill and Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at The Landings or two nights. Had a great time with Jill & Alan who couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. The house lends itself so well to B&B with excellent views across the port to the bay. Accommodation couldn't be faulted in terms of cleanliness. Breakfast was good and varied. If you want to walk into Napier from here need to be reasonably fit but there is no need to do so as Alan & Jill happy to drop off and taxi for return around $12. Would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GibPLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanding, Owner at The Landing, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hello folks
Thanks very much for the review.
We are glad you enjoyed your time here, with plenty of times for cups of tea, and to enjoy the view and the sunshine.
We would be happy to see you again -Regards Jill and Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here due to the complimentary reviews we had read. We got a good deal, as we booked on the day before, however we feel that compared with other places we've stayed at in New Zealand, the normal rate is over priced. Jill was very friendly and helpful, even driving us into town for dinner. The room was clean, with with great complimentary wine and chocolates, however it was still quite small and ordinary with a view of the loading docks, and the bathroom was separate off the corridor with a problematic shower head. Although the essentially continental breakfast was nice, we would have appreciated some kind of menu or choices, rather than being asked whether we wanted any thing hot to eat. Would we stay there again? Probably not. It felt quite a way out of the centre of Napier, in a residential type street, and a lot of dollars for what you got. This review may sound rather picky, but we've stayed in such good value brilliant places in New Zealand, that this place appeared more ordinary than special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanding, Owner at The Landing, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hello Jerry, sorry to hear that your were disappointed with aspects of your stay. We always hope our website with location map, and photos and descriptions of the rooms give enough information to prospective guests. The Lookout room does have an adjacent private bathroom -and would have appreciated it if you had told us about the shower head, at the time, so we could have put it right. Perhaps some communication difficulties around breakfast too - I like to discuss options with the guests each morning, and am sorry if that did not work for you. We are glad you enjoyed the full breakfast that is always offerred, and inclusive -regardless of the rate paid. We are pleased that your enjoyed the free transport, wine, chocolates, WIFI etc. All the best for the rest of your time in New Zealand. Regards Jill and Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickens Heath, england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Jill and Allan are very genial hosts who could not be more accommodating and were a pleasure not just to meet but to chat to. The views from the house are stunning and the glass walls make the most of the outlook. Jill makes homemade chocolates,biscuits and muesli and provides lots of nice unquantifiable little touches like a sprig of rosemary on the table at breakfast (a rose on valentines day!). The complimentary bottle of wine and first washing load just add to the welcome. If you are fit Bluff Hill is a nice challenge to walk to Napier but not for anyone with mobility problems. However Jill will almost certainly offer you a lift to your restaurant and a taxi back is only 12$ approx. iIf you start comparing prices with other options in NZ like say a Top Ten or even a city hotel it is relatively expensive but we thought it worth every penny. We loved it oh and the free Wifi that works when you are travelling in a different time zone is worth it's weight in gold. If you can get in just book it and pay the extra for the suite on the front with the great views - you won't be disappointed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank salcrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanding, Owner at The Landing, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello folks,
Good to hear from you. Thank you for that glowing review. We were glad you enjoyed your time here at the Landing -and enjoyed the homemade goodies. You deserved them after all that walking! Pleased too that you enjoyed the rosemary on the table -we don't have much of a garden, but I always enjoy going out in the mornings to pick that for the tables, and have a look at whats happening out on the Bay.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip -and safe travels home.
Do let us know if you are coming back over this way -we'd look forward to seeing you again.
Regards Jill and Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

From start to finish our stay was fantastic. Everything is taken care of and you are made to feel at home while staying at The Landing. Restuarants and things to do and see are recomeended if you arrive and not sure what to do - restaurant indonesia was a great recommendation and finished off a wonderful evening. We could not do the great breakfast justice - all the home made fresh fruit salad, museuli, spreads - even the home made peanut butter. And then if that is not enough Jill does a wonderful cooked to follow to set you up for the day. What was good is that everything is included in the room rate - a full breakfast, secure parking, WiFi, a load of laundry, home made chocolates in the room - no wonder The Landing is so highly rated and it deserves it - we will be back

Room Tip: all are very clean, tidy and come with their own bathroom facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanding, Owner at The Landing, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hello Dave
Thanks for that fantastic review! Glad we could turn on the "sunny Hawkes Bay" weather for you -but enjoyed chatting about windy Wellington, and what a great place it is! As we discussed, guests like to know there are no hidden extras -and we are happy to try and give our guests a good experience both here at the Landing, and in Napier. Hope you can stay longer on your next visit. Regards Jill and Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our whistle stop tour of NZ. Despite not having the front room, our stay was superb. Jill could not have been more helpful, including free taxi rides to various eateries and attention to detail. We were made to feel ver much at home and would definitely return here if we visit the Hawkes Bay Area again.

Room Tip: For views choose the bay view room although the Lookout room in which we stayed is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrWideboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanding, Owner at The Landing, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hello folks - thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your time here -and well done for using the pool and doing all that cycling around the local trails. I hope Napier measured up against the other locations on your list -do let us know if you are coming back over either for another look around, or if work does eventuate. I know you will have been keen to get back to the family -thanks for including me on the morning skype! Regards Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.7 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.3 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing

Property: The Landing
Address: 142 Thompson Street, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Hotel Class:4 star — The Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing