We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!”

Emporium Eatery & Bar
Ranked #10 of 197 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, International, European, New Zealand, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Emporium Eatery and Bar is the latest addition to Art Deco Masonic Hotel, and to buzzing inner city Napier. Designed by reputed restaurant designer Tom Skyring, Emporium has a truly unique look and feel – rich leathers, a stunning marble bar, warm wood and just the right amount of Art Deco. Emporium mixes the modern with the classic, to create a very special atmosphere in this iconic heritage building.Emporium isn’t just a bar, and it’s more than an exciting new restaurant, it’s a meeting place. With a menu meant for sharing, and the most extensive beverage list around, Emporium is just the spot to gather friends, family or colleagues to enjoy the finest in Hawke’s Bay hospitality. Ideal for functions, Emporium has optional group spaces available – including Poet’s Corner, a private space overlooking bustling Tennyson Street and picturesque Marine Parade.Long, leisurely breakfasts, lunches and dinners, or delicious all-day grazing with a glass of fine wine or a cocktail or beer from our impressive collection – this is how many a fine Hawke’s Bay day or evening are sure to be spent as the weather warms up. Check out our menus to whet your appetite, still prepared under the creative and skillful hands of Cliff Fernandes of Art Deco Masonic's MED fame, and we’ll see you soon at Emporium.
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Such a cool little piece of history, very vintage. We ordered the steamed dumplings which where delectable! So tasty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Hello Grace B
Thanks for the review, Emporium was designed to fit in to the wonderfully Art Deco building that is The Art Deco Masonic Hotel. Its a wonderful piece of Hawke's Bay history.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    371
    81
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Good food, good childrens menu, excellent service. We had some of the small dishes, the crab cakes and tacos were excellent. Went back for breakfast one day and had the Eggs Benedict. Equally as good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank brinda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. That you visited us twice is even better. Our small plates are fantastic and a great way to try different things.
We have just launched a new menu with some exciting seasonal changes, so hope you again.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Plustwokids”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Called in on a moteliers recommendation. Great service, friendly staff. Plate to share was totally sublime and atmosphere was truly cool! Def coming back!

Helpful?
2 Thank 581vickit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We thoroughly appreciate the support we receive from local motels, they are very good to us.
We hope to see you again next time your in town.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Flavour plus, delivered well”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is my second time in the last two weeks at this great spot. It is warm and full of old world charm while still being upbeat and engaging. The staff are just great, and it didnt fell like a Monday night in a small town.

Both meals I have had here are so flavoursome. if you aren't too hungry stick to the small plates they are yummy. The duck and shitake dumplings are really good, and the pulled pork tacos are a close second.

The wine list is pretty good, and if you are looking for a different wine for dinner talk to the wine guy he come up with some good ideas.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Hello and thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your evening, We are proof that smaller cities can still be busy on a Monday night.
Our crew always have a few bottles in the cellar not on any lists that they have snapped up in various places so always something interesting to try if your feeling adventurous.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious burger”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

The day I arrived in Napier, I was sold when reading their special burger on the blackboard outside. It didn't disappoint. It was a substantial meal, and super delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mwi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. Our homemade burger has been a huge hit as a lunch time special, its available every day during lunch. Be sure to check out our evening specials which change daily.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emporium Eatery & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Emporium Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing