We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, great service!”

Emporium Eatery & Bar
Ranked #9 of 201 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: International, Bar, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Emporium Eatery and Bar is the latest addition to Art Deco Masonic Hotel, and to buzzing inner city Napier. Designed by reputed restaurant designer Tom Skyring, Emporium has a truly unique look and feel – rich leathers, a stunning marble bar, warm wood and just the right amount of Art Deco. Emporium mixes the modern with the classic, to create a very special atmosphere in this iconic heritage building.Emporium isn’t just a bar, and it’s more than an exciting new restaurant, it’s a meeting place. With a menu meant for sharing, and the most extensive beverage list around, Emporium is just the spot to gather friends, family or colleagues to enjoy the finest in Hawke’s Bay hospitality. Ideal for functions, Emporium has optional group spaces available – including Poet’s Corner, a private space overlooking bustling Tennyson Street and picturesque Marine Parade.Long, leisurely breakfasts, lunches and dinners, or delicious all-day grazing with a glass of fine wine or a cocktail or beer from our impressive collection – this is how many a fine Hawke’s Bay day or evening are sure to be spent as the weather warms up. Check out our menus to whet your appetite, still prepared under the creative and skillful hands of Cliff Fernandes of Art Deco Masonic's MED fame, and we’ll see you soon at Emporium.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“great place, great service!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

visited over labour weekend with friends from abroad, very keen to show off the best of the bay, we certainly weren't left dissapointed! we arrived without a reservation and the bar was humming already, we were greeted at the door immediately upon arrival, seated at a high bar table and given water in great vintage spirit bottles(very nice touch!)
Then offered cocktails and snacks to keep us going until a table opened up, we were happy to wait for food but couldnt turn down the drinks, our bartender made us 3 different mojito versions and recommended craft beer for the boys, very impressed all round.
After a 10 minute wait for a table we were looked after very well by a young scottish waitress and given lots of information on our food selection but also we were impressed by her wine knowledge.
The food was delivered promptly and tasted delicious, big portions but flavoursome,
In summary we found the service very attentive , the food delicious and the decor superb, we will definetly return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LCHB2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our bartenders make some of the best cocktails around and love to able to experiment with new creations. You must try the Jamaican Punch served in a traditional Tiki mug, one of my favourites.
Looking forward to seeing you again. Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    380
    83
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Ate at emporium last night, it was very busy, we had to wait about 15 minutes before being seated. Had a nice emerson’s beer and glass of chardonnay before dinner.
When we were seated service was friendly and efficient, food was fantastic. A great experience all round, service, food and atmosphere amazing. Will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hello Ann S
Thank you very much for your recent review. As we are getting warmer more and more people are venturing out and with our large outside area over looking Marine Parade, we are a great spot to enjoy a quiet drink or a meal.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Forgotten”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went into this place around 4:30. To early for supper so we decided to wait it out to 5 by ordering some wine and an appetizer. These came shortly. And that was the last we saw any wait staff. 5:15 I asked the original server if we could be attended to. 5:30 no one still and we called it quits; paying the bill and saying why we were leaving. The place by the way was relatively empty with 4 or 5 staff were milling around in behind the bar. Excuses, explanations - do not matter now. It happened. We have advised accordingly the hotel that recommended this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review.
I can really only apologise for our service let down. I have investigated this with the staff and have concluded that it was a severe breakdown in communication. We have relooked at our systems during this between lunch & dinner period and have made improvements, so that this doesnt happen again.

I am confident that this is an extremly rare error and lapse in service standards. Our Tripadvisor rating and reviews will indicate that this is rare and I am confident the next time you visit, you will be looked after the same as all our other guests.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just what was needed!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

After a five hour drive from Auckland this is just what I needed. Nice atmosphere, simple but good food at a reasonable price and a very nice Nine Tails beer followed by a Ti Point Syrah. My steak was small but very tasty and the mash and asparagus were just right. A very pleasant meal indeed. The service was also willing and attentive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank softballer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I am glad we were able to give you just what you needed. The Ti Point Syrah is one of the wines that we feature in a nitrogen assisted wine dispenser. This enables us to serve some great Hawke's Bay wines that you wouldnt normally have the opportunity to taste. For people coming to Napier after a long drive, you can be rest assured that we will be open. Our hours are 7am to 11pm 7 days.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great decor”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Part of the Art Deco Masonic Hotel, this place has a great location and great views. The decor is fascinating, collections of old 'stuff' - letters, porcelain, toys, soap and matches, postcards - all sorts of things from the Art Deco era. But displayed in avery contemporary way. The food menu was good, well-priced, and the quality of the food was excellent. Reasonable drinks choice too. All in all, recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Outinthemiddaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. The majority of our memorabilia was collected over a coouple of months and also donated to us by local people who just wanted there collectables to go to a good home. The Art Deco Masonic Hotel has recently undergone a major refurbishment and has been also tastefully taken back to the era.
Hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emporium Eatery & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Emporium Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing