We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and service”

Emporium Eatery & Bar
Ranked #10 of 195 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, International, European, New Zealand, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Emporium Eatery and Bar is the latest addition to Art Deco Masonic Hotel, and to buzzing inner city Napier. Designed by reputed restaurant designer Tom Skyring, Emporium has a truly unique look and feel – rich leathers, a stunning marble bar, warm wood and just the right amount of Art Deco. Emporium mixes the modern with the classic, to create a very special atmosphere in this iconic heritage building.Emporium isn’t just a bar, and it’s more than an exciting new restaurant, it’s a meeting place. With a menu meant for sharing, and the most extensive beverage list around, Emporium is just the spot to gather friends, family or colleagues to enjoy the finest in Hawke’s Bay hospitality. Ideal for functions, Emporium has optional group spaces available – including Poet’s Corner, a private space overlooking bustling Tennyson Street and picturesque Marine Parade.Long, leisurely breakfasts, lunches and dinners, or delicious all-day grazing with a glass of fine wine or a cocktail or beer from our impressive collection – this is how many a fine Hawke’s Bay day or evening are sure to be spent as the weather warms up. Check out our menus to whet your appetite, still prepared under the creative and skillful hands of Cliff Fernandes of Art Deco Masonic's MED fame, and we’ll see you soon at Emporium.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great place for drink, coffee or a meal - we had a meal, and the pork was really great - the staff knew the menu well and organised a change to one of the dishes to fit dietary requirements with no fuss, they were attentive without being overbearing. The price for the meal and drinks were very reasonable , and we will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy_Hut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello Wendy
Thank you for your review. The pork dish is a very popular dish as it is a little different because it is a dish designed for sharing, so great for 2. All our staff are well trained and our philosophy is that any change including dietary requirements are happily made to make it as easy as possible for our guests. As you are a local we hope we see you again very soon.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    368
    80
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a couple of visits over the weekend. The first was cocktails and really enjoyed the experience. The barman did a good job with the drinks and was chatting to us while making them. The next night we had a meal, overall it was a good night, only detracted by the waiter who tried a bit hard to be a minor basil fawlty, not sure if that was his intention, but he was a fail, especially when he thought he could remember all the orders (5 people) but forgot all the sides, which arrived 10 minutes after the mains when every one had eaten, they were sent back. The meals were good, but the little games they played with the layout of the food were tragic as was the fish and chips delivered in a paper bag? I guess they are trying to be a bit different to justify the high prices, but it didn't really work.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryMcKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We have built a reputation on providing some of the best cocktails around so I am glad you enjoyed yours. We constantly look to provide fantastic value for money with our food offering and we are confident that we exceed our guests expectations.
We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food - excellent decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The fish and chips were to die for. A good place to meet people and have a relaxing afternoon drink, watching the vintage cars go by, listening to the old boys playing 1930's tunes live. Was like going back in time, brilliant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moosh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. The fish n chips are one of our most popular dishes, as we use fresh fish which arrives daily.
I hope next time you visit Napier you will consider our recently renovated Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Gresley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Stunning Food. Stunning Surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Where to start ? I was staying in the adjacent hotel, The Art Deco Masonic. I arrived travel weary and had had a problem on checking in, I needed a good meal and some decent wine...

I saw a steak & fries offer for $30 and took it, hoping the chef would be willing to cook it as blue as possible, I wasn't to be disappointed, my plate was a work of art in its presentation, the bluest of all blue steaks was topped with crispy tobacco onions and some very tasty fries and all washed down with an amazing 2011 Hawkes Bay Gimblett as recommended by a wonderful Scottish waitress (from Shetland).

The following night I ordered the fish & chips, again, beautiful presentation and this time I was recommended a Hawkes Bay Chardonnay, equally as delicious.

On both nights I finished my meals with a cheese board of local kiwi cheeses... what a work of art (picture attached) worth having this alone with one of their many decent wines !

If you are staying in the Masonic Hotel, I can also thoroughly recommend the breakfast at the Emporium. A good choice of English breakfast with locally produced bacon and sausages (the mushrooms were delicious), a good choice of cereals with a daily fruit yogurt and cut fruit always on offer and a further choice of delicious pastries with some really good coffee.

I can't wait to eat there again in 2014 !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr Iain M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Iain
Thank you for your wonderful & detailed review, we really appreciate it when people take the time to say positive things about Emporium.
Leigh (Scottish waitress) was thrilled to read this review she commented that you were a pleasure to look after and it was lovely talking with you.
Hotel reception also enjoyed assisting you.
We hope to see you in 2014 and im sure your stay will be even more memorable.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird, Manager Emporium Eatery & Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lunch fantastic !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had to follow the trip advisor advice and try the open chicken kebab for lunch. Words can't describe what a delicious dish it is, lots of coriander pesto .....I was very happy. My husband had the sirloin steak special with French butter and shoe string fries, he was just as happy! We are both so grateful to read the other tripadvisor reviews, hence mine. Our lunch was a true delight and very memorable .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacko05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. As Tripadvisor reviewers have pointed out our Kathi Kebab has been a wonderful addition to the menu and our guests can look forward to that dish being available throughout summer if the demand for it keeps up!!!
We hope to see you again soon in Emporium and are pleased you manage to try and enjoy a couple of other great restaurants in Napier.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager Emporium Eatery & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emporium Eatery & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Emporium Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing