We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and efficient - with interesting memorabilia too”

Emporium Eatery & Bar
Ranked #10 of 195 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, International, European, New Zealand, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Emporium Eatery and Bar is the latest addition to Art Deco Masonic Hotel, and to buzzing inner city Napier. Designed by reputed restaurant designer Tom Skyring, Emporium has a truly unique look and feel – rich leathers, a stunning marble bar, warm wood and just the right amount of Art Deco. Emporium mixes the modern with the classic, to create a very special atmosphere in this iconic heritage building.Emporium isn’t just a bar, and it’s more than an exciting new restaurant, it’s a meeting place. With a menu meant for sharing, and the most extensive beverage list around, Emporium is just the spot to gather friends, family or colleagues to enjoy the finest in Hawke’s Bay hospitality. Ideal for functions, Emporium has optional group spaces available – including Poet’s Corner, a private space overlooking bustling Tennyson Street and picturesque Marine Parade.Long, leisurely breakfasts, lunches and dinners, or delicious all-day grazing with a glass of fine wine or a cocktail or beer from our impressive collection – this is how many a fine Hawke’s Bay day or evening are sure to be spent as the weather warms up. Check out our menus to whet your appetite, still prepared under the creative and skillful hands of Cliff Fernandes of Art Deco Masonic's MED fame, and we’ll see you soon at Emporium.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
450 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Convenient and efficient - with interesting memorabilia too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great to find a place in Napier serving local coffee – we walked past quite a number of other places looking for somewhere that did offer a local bean. We were there for breakfast - the wholegrain toast with marmalade was good, fruit platter generous and with plenty of yoghurt, and nice fresh pastries. Coffee well made, lots of local photos and historic memorabilia of interest to peruse, and plenty of newspapers to read over breakfast. Nice toilets and spacious dining area. A few small things let the place down – in particular I never leave feeling the same about a place that charges a surcharge on a public holiday, whereas one that doesn’t stays in my mind as a place I will look forward to returning to. But as a breakfast destination, handy to the sea and the city's retail area, this works well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hawthorne Coffee is our supplier and they will be thrilled to read this. We always look to support the local community as best we can, we source locally our Cheese’s, Olive Oils, salami’s and Bacon and of course all our fruit and Vege just to name a few as we believe its very important to support local producers, so when people come to Hawke’s Bay for a holiday they are treated to local produce.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird, Manager, Emporium Eatery and Bar, Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    368
    80
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food in a fine art deco period space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were staying at the hotel and decided to try Emporium. It is a big, well designed space, but it can get loud very quickly due to all the hard surfaces. We chose a corner spot for an early dinner and it was fine. The service is friendly and quick. We asked for the wine list and found out that most of the wines are from Marlborough- why? it is located in the heart of Hawke's bay which produces amazing wines. Why not support local? I then saw in small print to ask the waiter for a list of changing "local wines" by the glass- so I did, only to see 1 local wine out of 8- doesn't make sense. Anyways, the food choices were interesting - I had the Haloumi salad, which was very large and fresh. My husband ordered the Tagliatelle, which was done well but could have used a hit of spice- somewhat boring. The people next to us ordered dessert, which looked great, but we full and passed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winegirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel and also Emporium, Our wine list does change very regularly and we try to list wines from all regions to appeal to our local clientele, as much as we do our best to support the local wine industry, not all varietals in Hawke’s Bay we succeed in growing to the high standard that we look for, so we look further afield. At present out of 55 wines on our list 29 are from Hawke’s Bay, this will change regularly and we are in current negotiations to have our wine on tap, which has been very well received, to be sourced locally. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Shaye Bird, Manager, Emporium Eatery and Bar, Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Have seen this particular location as a few different eateries over the years and I hope this one stays as it is.

Four of us dined on Easter Sunday so it was quite busy thus a short wait for our table to become free but we were well looked after.

The first hing that impressed me was the menu. It is really quite extensive offering a very wide variety. Especially impressive was that the all day grazing menu which offered more relaxed lunch time style options, which was great if you didn't want to splash out on the fuller, more complex evening meals also offered.

We opted to share some baked bread and oil to start, plus I couldn't resist the Salt and Pepper Squid with a chilli aoli. Both fresh and tasty. The squid especially well cooked.

For mains two went for options on the grazing menu; Malborough Smoked Salmon and the Angus Beef Burger. The salmon was perfectly cooked, and the burger was clearly home made and was simply massive with all its extras. The fries were probably not needed but we didn't complain about that as they were shared around the table!

The other two went for the Pork Belly and Lamb Rump from the 'substantial' menu. Here we received something you would expect from a fine dining restaurant without the ridiculous price tag. Both dishes were exquisite, everything on the plate marrying up nicely.

Dessert was not needed however we did anyway opting for a couple of Chocolate Mousses which came with Ice Cream and Cardamom Strawberries, plus one of the $4 options of Biscotti biscuit with Chocolate Ganache. The strawberries were unbelievable and the mousse very tasty but quite rich so perhaps 2 scoops of it was a bit much, although it was helped along with the ice cream. There was also popping candy throughout the mousse which was a unique touch. The biscotti and ganache was just a perfect bite size to end a meal with the coffees and teas.

One downside for me is that the Wine list is a little bog standard and there is not a great variety on offer. Being on the doorstep of a tremendous wine region I would expect more of a showcase of the local wines.

Overall, very impressed and I look forward to coming back as their is so much awesome looking options on the menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachwelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your very detailed review and we are thrilled you enjoyed it so much, a lot of thought and time has been put into Emporium as we wanted it to be a local meeting place, which would also appeal to the many tourists we see over the summer period. Our chefs will be happy to read this and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Our Autumn menu will be released shortly which will have some fantastic seasonal changes as well as our more popular dishes.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird, Emporium Eatery and Bar, Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing Gluten free pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a fantastic dinner here. there was 5 of us and chose the deal with the sharing some meals and a pizza for I think $75. The food was so good that I had to check that the Gluten free pizza was actually gluten free as it was the best tasting base I have tasted and reminded me of the days I could eat the glutenous good stuff! Service was great too very attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatLouBak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
The sharing plates & pizza are a fantastic way to eat with a group of people as it gives a chance for you to try many dishes and with a pizza it makes a great meal and great value. Next time we see you you must also try the Chocolate mousse dessert, you won't want to share that.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird, Manager, Emporium Eatery and Bar, Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, where's the beer?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stopped by for a drink in the late afternoon, but owing to the Good Friday, Easter Trading Restrictions we had to order food as well. It seems that, in an otherwise very secular New Zealand, one cannot sit and enjoy an alcoholic drink at a bar or restaurant on Good Friday unless it is part of a meal. For a moment I thought I was back in the Texas Bible Belt. Seems downright un-Kiwi-like.

We opted for the Hawke's Bay Seasonal Platter. At $40 it wasn't quite a bargain for two people who really only wanted a drink. However, it was tasty enough and carried us over until breakfast the next day. The menu looked promising but we did not make it back before heading back home on Sunday. Service was incredibly slow even though there were but a handful of customers; I'm sure the holiday pay leads management to cut the wait staff to the bare bones. I suspect that on a more typical day the service is better, maybe even great. One certainly gets a sense that such a grand place must do better than we experienced.

The bar is well decorated with appropriate art deco furnishings, brass, incredible wooden back bar, marble bar top, tile accents, and ceiling fans straight out of a F. Scott Fitzgerald novel. It is a shame that a bar of this visual quality lacks any decent beers. Stella Artois, Steinlager Premium and a short list of exhausted mainstream beer certainly cannot be the best such an iconic hotel bar can muster.

We were warned of the Easter Trading issues by a prominent sign posted in the bar entrance. Additionally, there was a warning sign posted in the bar that, because it was a holiday, there would be a 15% surcharge. I understand that the religious observance was not the Emporium's doing. I also get the fact that New Zealand's bars, cafes and the lot are required to pay time-and-a-half to wait staff on national holidays. However, there should be a rule that warning signs should be limited to one per day. I would think that the Masonic Hotel could manage to either: 1) forgo the surcharge, 2) staff the bar sufficiently, or 3) close altogether as many do.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brownprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for review, I do understand your frustration with Easter trading laws, however this is not our doing, we are purely operating within the law. Staff wages are a concern on public holidays as on top of the time and a half you mentioned in your review we also are obliged to pay the staff a day in lieu, so essentially opening on public holidays we pay staff 2 and a half times their regular wage. We have looked at closing, however with all the other bars in town closing over this period, there would have been nowhere for anyone to go.
Our tap beer selection contains Steinlager Pure (first bar in NZ to have on tap), 2 Australian craft beers from James Squire, a wheat beer from Crafty Beggars, Stella Artois, a pale ale from Macs which aside from us is only released to the Macs Brew Bars around New Zealand, along with the main stream beers, Macs Gold and Isaac’s Cider. We also have around 30 beers from all over the world available in bottle. When you visit us next we will also be able offer Emerson’s Pilsner on tap as well as a selection of their seasonal release range.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird, Manager, Emporium Eatery and Bar, Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emporium Eatery & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Emporium Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing