We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emporium Eatery & Bar

Emporium Eatery & Bar
Ranked #10 of 194 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, International, European, New Zealand, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Emporium Eatery and Bar is the latest addition to Art Deco Masonic Hotel, and to buzzing inner city Napier. Designed by reputed restaurant designer Tom Skyring, Emporium has a truly unique look and feel – rich leathers, a stunning marble bar, warm wood and just the right amount of Art Deco. Emporium mixes the modern with the classic, to create a very special atmosphere in this iconic heritage building.Emporium isn’t just a bar, and it’s more than an exciting new restaurant, it’s a meeting place. With a menu meant for sharing, and the most extensive beverage list around, Emporium is just the spot to gather friends, family or colleagues to enjoy the finest in Hawke’s Bay hospitality. Ideal for functions, Emporium has optional group spaces available – including Poet’s Corner, a private space overlooking bustling Tennyson Street and picturesque Marine Parade.Long, leisurely breakfasts, lunches and dinners, or delicious all-day grazing with a glass of fine wine or a cocktail or beer from our impressive collection – this is how many a fine Hawke’s Bay day or evening are sure to be spent as the weather warms up. Check out our menus to whet your appetite, still prepared under the creative and skillful hands of Cliff Fernandes of Art Deco Masonic's MED fame, and we’ll see you soon at Emporium.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have just returned home from dinner at Emporium Eatery and Bar with our 10year old grandson who just wanted to order a simple steak with chips. While this was not an item on the menu they were very happy to accommoddate Nicole our waitress was just wonderful and a 'not on menu' quality steak, chips and salad were seved to our grandson. Between us older two we ordered local crumbed Gurnard and a salad of Marlborough salmon with tapanade. Both cooked to perfection. Can't recommend more highly for this style of eatery.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lizzie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We can happily accommodate most requests regarding dietary requirements or a 10 year old boy who just wants Steak & Chips! Thank you very much for visiting us, Nicole has been commended for the service she provided to you as she does to everyone she looks after. We hope that this is the first of many visits to Emporium. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards Sahye Bird - Manager, Emporium Eatery and Bar, Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    355
    78
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
“Highly commended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food that is full of flavour......try the lamb salad and Chocolate desert (despite the risk of having to walk a mile to walk off the calories!) though the portions are sensible and perfect. Service is excellent with great welcome from the staff and an engaged Management team. A fantastic experience and memorable night out.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank globedp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, all the staff including management take pride in Emporium and we love to look after guests such as yourselves. The lamb salad is very much a favourite here as is the chocolate mousse. Next time you visit us you must try the duck liver parfait as something to nibble on before your meals come out, its prepared instantly so you have time to enjoy it before your meals.
Regards Shaye Bird, Emporium Eatery and Bar, Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Holland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super service by Chris the manager!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our stay at the Emporium was made very worthwhile thanks to Chris the manager who made us feel very much at home. next to giving us excellent wine advise, he told us to wait until a nice table was available. The food is excellent and the staff quick and efficient. Would definitely eat there again. Price value is good

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jollenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Chris was thrilled to read this review recently, he is extremely passionate about what he does and makes guests feel welcome on a daily basis. I see that you also stayed in our Hotel and appreciated the charm of this recently refurbished Art Deco Hotel, the roof top terrace is a great place to watch the day go by and occasionally you will see Cruise ships sail by after spending the day in Napier.
Regards Shaye Bird, Manager - Emporium Eatery and Bar, Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Exceptional service and beautiful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our Art Deco Cafe Crawl started at the iconic Masonic Hotel with our entree in the newly renovated Emporium Eatery & Bar.

It must have been a real challenge for the staff when 84 hungry diners descended on them filling the restaurant. We selected a comfortable corner table, placed our orders and made a quick trip to the bar, beers at $8/bottle and wines at $8/glass, were very reasonably priced.

I choose the Duck Rillette with Cumberland sauce; walnut and fig crostini that was right up the standard I would be expecting in France; while my wife selected the beetroot cured Aoraki Salmon with potato, fennel, capers and watercress. Both dishes were beautifully presented and full of flavour.

The miracle was that the staff could serve so many guests in such a short time with such high quality dishes.

Congratulations Emporium Eatery you did exceptional well and made a memorable start to a great night out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Over Art Deco weekend we served over 1700 meals. Our staff did a fantastic job keeping up with the pace of the weekend and your group were a delight to look after. Hopefully it wont be a year before you visit us again. We also hosted functions on our balcony overlooking all the festivities which was a great success this year.Kind Regards Shae Bird - Manager, Emporium Eatery and Bar, Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Emporium Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten at this establishment 3 times since it reopened as Emporium. Once in a group of 14, once in a group of 4 and then as a couple. Each time I am pleased to say the service was excellent, the food catered to all palates and the range of wines was exceptional. The managers wine knowledge certainly helped us with our choices and we were not disappointed with his recommendations. Non-alcoholic cocktails were novel and although the cocktail list was pricey ... in general I believe it to be competitive with most other restaurants/bars. Our visit as a couple was the only time the eatery was not exceptionally busy and our choice was a wonderful shared platter, which I have no hesitation in having again. I am happy to say that we have never had to wait great lengths to receive our meals when we visited in groups. We have made a point of trying something new at every visit and we have not been disappointed. I have no criticisms to make and would be happy to recommend Emporium to anyone. It is in a great location, service and wait staff were knowledgeable about there product, parking is wonderful (recommend anywhere along the Parade) and it has always been pleasant to stroll along Marine Parade back to your car after a wonderful evening meal.

Helpful?
Thank Napier N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and the fact you are fast becoming a local. For locals and frequent guests such as yourselves we have a loyalty card program which will accumulate points every time you visit us and will also give you .50c off every coffee you purchase. So next time you visit please ask one of our crew and we will happily help you join up.
Kind Regards Shae Bird - Manager, Emporium Eatery and Bar, Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emporium Eatery & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Emporium Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing