We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food, Wonderful Wine and Luxurious Location”

Emporium Eatery & Bar
Ranked #17 of 222 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: International, Bar, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days from 7am to 11 pm Emporium is the award winning bar and restaurant at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, in buzzing inner city Napier. Emporium has a truly unique look and feel mixing the modern with the classic, to create a very special atmosphere in this iconic heritage building. Emporium isn’t just a bar, and it’s more than an exciting restaurant, it’s a meeting place. With a contemporary menu and the most extensive beverage list around, Emporium is just the spot to gather friends, family or colleagues to enjoy the finest in Hawke’s Bay hospitality. Ideal for functions, Emporium has optional group spaces available – including Poet’s Corner, a private space overlooking bustling Tennyson Street and picturesque Marine Parade. Enjoy long, leisurely breakfasts, lunches and dinners, or delicious all-day grazing with a glass of fine wine or a cocktail or beer from our impressive collection.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband recently took me here for my birthday and we were not dissapointed. The new look is amazing with every detail taken care of in the recent refurbishment. We chose the option of four plates to share so that we had a chance to try a selection and everything was devine. The prawn sticks and duck pancakes were absolutely delicious and my only complaint was that everything on the menu looked so good it was hard to choose! We will deffinately be back to sample more of the fabulous menu. I had the tap wine (sav blanc) and was pleasantly supprised, it was absolutely devine, so good I couldn't resist a second glass. We sat outside and were able to enjoy the sunshine. The service was attentive but not intrusive. What a lovely way to spend a lazy Sunday afternoon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank West008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craighay, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and in particular the sharing plates which is a new style of dining we are happy to say has really taken off. If you think the sharing plates was hard to choose from next time pop in for dinner which we serve till 11pm every day, the wine on tap concept is also available in 500ml and 1 litre carafes.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird - Manager, Emporium Eatery and Bar, Napier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,158 - 1,162 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

We took the extended family here for brunch over the weekend. We were impressed by the new look. The waitress was helpful and arranged for a high chair. Unfortunately the communication seemed to breakdown between the waitstaff as coffees were missed and a meal was missed too (unfortunately for the same person!) Overall the food was very nice, it was only the service/communication that let it down. Will try again in the future given time to find their feet.

Thank Pina_Colada28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craighay, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you taking the time to review our fabulous new eatery and bar. All our team members have worked extremely long hours during our opening and we are heartened by the amazing feedback we have received. Next time we see you I hope you will try our all day grazing menu available from11am through till 11pm. We apologise for the communication problem and hope you return soon to experience a flawless service.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird - Manager, Emporium Eatery and Bar, Napier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited Emporium after its opening following refurbishment. We had a fantastic evening. Designer Tom Skyring, has created a visual treat – it is truly stunning. The drinks menu is enticing & an enjoyable read. I loved my Pineapple and Cardamom Collins. The Wellington of roasted peppers, forest mushrooms, spinach & Jerusalem artichoke puree was perfect with Shaye’s Pick Syrah. The puree was divine. T had the mussels & raved. Unfortunately we were too full for desert, after starting with olives & bread. The coffee was good too. The staff were enthusiastic & helpful. I can’t wait to go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JJG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craighay, Owner at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for being the first to review after our recent refurbishment. We are very pleased that local people have supported us and are as enthusiastic about the new venue as we have been about presenting it. I hope next time you get to try the deserts as I managed to squeeze in the Panacotta a couple of nights ago and can recommend.
Kind Regards Craig Hay - Owner, Emporium Eatery and Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were staying in the Dome apartments and ate here both evenings: cleverly put together food with a good mix of Asian and European styles (we always like that sort of thing) and able to find several flavours of sorbet to allow our dairy-free kids to have a dessert for once.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MacDaddyinSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have dined at this restaurant a couple times and i like the consistency of the food and the high level of service. Since its re opening the menu is different with some Asian dishes and i must say the pork dish is one of the best i have ever tasted. The entrees are good value for money and very tasty. Shame it was so quiet. Highly recomended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank habibi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emporium Eatery & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Emporium Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing