We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Breckenridge Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fern Motel(Napier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
171
5
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
171
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine pairingnew zealandlavender roomoutstanding chefhillside overlookingmaster chefown gardenfor pre dinner drinksstunning foodgastronomic delightmichelin star standardevery biteoutstanding dinnerpicture bookaccompanied by local winesrecommended wineother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 178 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2011

For once the blurb in the brochure was correct in every detail - any description of Breckenridge Lodge must truly be a combination of superlatives. The warmth of the welcome from Malcolm and Leanne was exceptional and the comfort of the room was great. Dinner was a tour de force of all that is best in New Zealand food and wine. Dinner was a succession of courses beautifully prepared and served by Malcolm - each accompanied by a complimenting wine.

This was a wonderful oasis of calm to return to after a day in the wine area of Hawkes Bay or the art deco of Napier. A truly wonderful experience. I'm only sorry that we were only there for two days.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinJan5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We attended the "Cooking School" evening offered by Chef Malcolm Redman..
It was an amazing night - one that we thoroughly enjoyed - and one that we would gladly reccommend to other "Foodies" Malcolm entertained us, fed us simply delicious food and during the process showed us how we could do likewise for guests in our own home. We had a full tour of the lodge and all that it offers. Anybody who is fortunate enough to be able to arrange to have a night ot three here will not be disappointed with anything. Thank you Malcolm, you did it so well. Ian & Merrylyn

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

If you have eaten at Waterside Inn, the Dorchester and other Michelin three-starred restaurants, you will know what to expect at this wonderful lodge in terms of the culinary experience. Plus it comes with a friendly informality, set within a Mediterranean style garden looking out over a vineyard.

We stayed for two nights and wished it had been longer. one the first night we were joined by two other couples and it was just the two of us for the second evening. In both cases, we were presented with the most wonderful selection of (different) courses and matching wines, complete with explanations of how each had been prepared or where each had come from. Malcolm coped effortlessly with allergies and food preferences.

Even breakfast was special, with a variety of small dishes, specailly prepared, to make a refreshing alternative to the more usual (though often excellent) fare offered at the other lodges on our trip.

The rooms and bathrooms are of a high standard and beautifully presented, and you have to take a stroll around the gardens...not least so you can spot the ingredients you are about to consume!

In a wonderful, month-long tour of New Zealand, staying in many excellent lodges and B&Bs, this lodge stood out as quite exceptional. If you don't include it in your travel plans, you really will have missed out. This is NZ hospitality at its absolutele finest.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerkhamstedJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Every detail of the stay in Breckenridge has been thought out from the moment of arrival to leaving. Beautifully situated next to a vineyard and very well decorated and maintained. Malcolm cannot do too much to make the stay memorable from the offers of tea and coffee on arrival to the superb dinners that should not be missed. Each course is a masterpiece and accompanied by a recommended wine.
Local information is given and suggestions for the next leg of the tour. We do not often give 10 out of 10 but it is difficult to find a fault.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed here for three nights in April and we are struggling to think of something to add to all the other reviews, other than to say "believe every word". We spent five weeks touring New Zealand and stayed in 15 B&Bs. While 14 of them were all very good, five were outstanding and of those five Breckenridge Lodge was one of the best three. This was the only B & B that offered an evening meal, but what meals they were! For us, the breakfasts and meals that Malcom provided were not only the best in New Zealand, we would be pushed to think of other meals that we have ever had that rivalled them.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyHertfordshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews