We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Breckenridge Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Art Deco Masonic Hotel(Napier)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albatross Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$92
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Court Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$57
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
expressotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Quality Inn Napier Travel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nautilus(Napier)(Great Value!)
$73
$71
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
172
5
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
172
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine pairingnew zealandlavender roomoutstanding chefhillside overlookingmaster chefown gardenfor pre dinner drinksstunning foodgastronomic delightmichelin star standardevery biteoutstanding dinnerpicture bookaccompanied by local winesrecommended wineother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 179 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

What an amazing lodge! We stayed at Breckenridge for 3 nights and loved it. The setting is beautiful - overlooking vineyards, surrounded by gardens, a great place to sit outside and enjoy a cup of coffee or a glass of wine! Our room was very clean and comfortable with a terrace overlooking the gardens. Malcolm is a fantastic host, and a remarkable chef. We were lucky enough to have 2 dinners at the lodge, and both were delicious. Malcolm pays special attention to likes and dislikes and caters each meal to your preferences. Not only does Malcolm grow many of the ingredients himself, he also pairs each of the 5 courses with a local wine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed for three nights at Breckenridge Lodge, a house in an interesting garden overlooking a vineyard. It was like staying at the home of friends, one of whom was a masterchef. The atmosphere was relaxed and nothing was too much trouble for Malcolm Redmond and Ellie. One afternoon we got in about 3.30 p.m. and Malcolm asked if we would like a cup of tea. We said not, but perhaps we would like tea about 5.00 p.m. Sure enough at 5.00 p.m. Malcolm appeared to ask if we would still like tea. For one night we were the only guests having dinner and the following night we were the only guests in the lodge. On each evening we had the most superb dinner prepared specially for us. Although five or six courses are served at dinner they are well balanced and interesting and not overwhelming. Malcolm advises on appropriate wines for each course. Although we felt we had "done" Napier in three days, we would happily go back just to stay at Breckenridge Lodge. Just one little fly in the ointment is that guests eat breakfast and dinner all at the same table. This can work with a congenial group of guests but sometimes perhaps doesn't.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Breckenridge lodge is in the valley of Omarunui, which is gorgeous. Our room overlooked a vineyard and the mountains. It is a very special B&B. The owner has done much of the work on the lodge himself. It has personal touches throughout. Our room was huge and so appealing. The hosts were so welcoming that we felt we were with old friends.
We had dinner both nights at the lodge. We are 'FOODIES" and the food and presentation was as good as any 5 star restaurant in the States.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhtnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We recently stayed for 3 nights at Breckenridge Lodge early this month. Simply put, our stay was superb. Our room was the 'Vanilla' Room which is upstairs overlooking the vineyard and has its own balcony. The room was cosy, the bed extremely comfortable and incredibly clean. No dirt, grime or mould to be found - anywhere. It was also well insulated which meant that we never heard any noises outside our room. No late night disturbances or sounds. Just what you need when you're on holidays. There was a small kitchenette where you could help yourself to drinks (soft drink, wine, tea, coffee etc). However the biggest surprise was the degustation dinner. We don't usually partake in these as it always seems the majority of the courses don't suit our tastes but if you stay, you must MUST have at least one. Every course that was delivered to us was not only a visual feast, but so delicious. It was one of the highlights of the stay. This just happened to also be the night were the Lodge was booked out (10 people) and it was wonderful to have a 'full house' around the table and meet people from all around the world. The night lingered pleasantly on and we were all reluctant to head off to bed. Malcolm and Ellie are the consummate hosts. The food is incredible (the homemade muesli is to die for), the Lodge is well built and located - only 10 minutes or so outside of Napier and approx 15 minutes to the airport. A must to add to your list. Bill and Irene (Australia).

Room Tip: The Vanilla Room has the most amazing view over the vineyard.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Malcolm redmond and his team of two assistants' unique combination of gourmet cooking and excellent hospitality makes this one of our top 5 places to stay in the world. Even the breakfasts were of Michelin presentation standard and served individually (no buffet here) and include, for instance fresh Local fruit in season served with home made lime sorbet, followed by homemade granola soaked in apple guide and served with local yoghurt, then a different hot dish every day I had French toast with warm bananas. We stayed here for four nights and stayed for dinner for all 4. Malcolm shops for fresh ingredients daily and serves local wine to accompany. Only 5 rooms so book ahead. Malcolm will arrange local winery tours to taste fab Hawke's bay wine

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heleneb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews