We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel in a good location”
Review of YHA Napier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Napier
Ranked #10 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Average hostel in a good location”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We booked for 1 night, checked in late so we got pin no to enter the hostel after the reception hours. We got double room overlooking the ocean - very noisy at night, but we were both very tired so we just slept. We got in there late so there were no queues for bathrooms, kitchen was empty and clean and the kitchen facilities were all there. An average place to stay overnight, walking distance to Napier town center, more quiet than we expected from a hostel. Would book there again as it was within my budget.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izakrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    69
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
39
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

You know what to expect of a YHA. This one was a bit different, as it was located in a cute wooden house. This also meant a lot of creaking floors and such. Also, there was maybe too few bathrooms. However, the service was good, albeit their insistence on tour bookings not being necessary was a bit annoying. Even if and when they are correct, it would have given us a peace of mind to know that our itinerary is official. Nevertheless, I handled the bookings myself, so all went well. Napier was very quiet at the time, but we managed to fill 2 days just fine.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank undome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights a year ago!
Good place with clean rooms, very clean toilets and fully-equiped kitchen .
We stayed in a twin room just above the reception area, had a lovely view of the beach. Small room but had space to place your luggage and hooks to hang your coats.
(One minus: had soft mattresses, we prefer firm ones)
Lots of travel brochures in the reception area.
Bob (the hostel manager) is a very helpful and informative person. He is kind to lend me a charger for my camera. A million thanks Bob!
Yes, we would stay here again :)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Great spot to stay for a few days - cool old building just over the road from the seaside 7 a short walk back into the centre of town.
Has a relaxed homely feel to it. Great staff, friendly & helpful. I had to change some bus tickets on intercity & as they are an agent it was done with no hassle.
No lockers in rooms but there are $2 lockers in the hall

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timthetraveller_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We are a middle aged couple who have returned from 3 weeks travel on the north island of New Zealand. We stayed in a number of YHAs, and also other accommodation, and our reviews of YHAs will be based on TWIN ROOM accommodation.

YHA Napier is situated in a rambling old building on one of the busiest streets in Napier. Overlooking the water, it has a quirky charm but is not cheap. Be advised to request a room NOT overlooking the water, but at the back of the building, as traffic noise is very loud from very early to very late, including large trucks.

We were allocated an 'ocean view' twin with shared facilities. On both mornings we had to stand in a queue in order to use the toilets and the showers. Unfortunately the toilets and showers, of which there are not enough, are in the room together; a pain if you only want to use the loo but someone is in the room, having a shower.

There is very little outside space, some chairs and tables, and a number of potplants and a small garden patch; and nowhere unfortunately that we could see to hang out clothes; only dryers were on offer.

The upstairs lounge, TV and internet room is large and welcoming.

Bear in mind if travelling by private car that there is no free parking on site; a rather convoluted system of routinely moving your car will be explained once you check in. Once you get the hang of it is not so bad!

The kitchen is rather small for the number of people that can be accommodated and the utensils could do with a clear out and some less stained frypans, saucepans and cooking implements would make the kitchen more appealing.

We arrived on a Tuesday night and stayed for 2 nights and the price was in the high $NZ80s; rather too high overall for the standard of the facilities we thought.

We noted that during our stay that in the fridge was an uncovered plate of BBQ meat which had a note on it that it was from Sunday's BBQ - this was still there when we left on Friday morning.

The staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful.

The place overall is ok but it does need to address kitchen issues and bathroom issues.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LydiaNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
423 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Good location near supermarkets, aquarium, sea front, rugby stadium etc. Friendly staff, the guy even made the whole hostel free soup which was a lovely gesture (i get the feeling this is a regular thing in winter at least!). Clean spacious facilities.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stokie_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Good location. My single room was clean yet incredible small. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roving_Gin_Drinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
772 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
862 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Napier

Property: YHA Napier
Address: 277 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Napier 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beachfront close to Napier city centre, the YHA Napier hostel has character, fantastic sea views (all the way to South America!), spacious rooms, cheerful staff and a convivial atmosphere. Originally a waterfront hotel this rambling survivor of the 1931 Napier earthquake is now a top rated backpacker hostel by Hostelworld.com customers. Backpacker accommodation at YHA Napier includes comfortable twin, double, shared and single rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your YHA Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing