We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wine tour”

Grape Escape Wine Tours
Ranked #1 of 24 Food & Drink in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wine and Food Tour company
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wine tour”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We took this wine tour in April 2013 on our way through Napier. We had a wonderful time. Since we had not been on a tour before Gregory lead us through the wine tasting steps. He was very knowledgeable about the wines and made us feel very welcome and relaxed. Gregory also was helpful in giving us some information about the area, what to see and directed us on a nice scenic route to Wellington. It was very helpful and we really appreciated the information. The tour was fabulous and I would recommend it to anyone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    81
    5
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic wine tour”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a fabulous day we had with Grape Escape. Peggy was just wonderful about putting a tour together for us on very short notice. In fact, all guides were already committed so Ralph, the owner, did it himself. Ralph was very knowledgable and fun, and we all learned a lot about Oregon's Pino Noir; we are now all major fans of this wine. We loved that they custom designed our tour to meet our interests.. We visited Brooks, Bethel Heights and Amity for total of 6 hours. We also liked that the tasting fees were included and the food Ralph brought for pairing was outstanding - fabulous cheese and fruit along with salmon spread tray for app, poached salmon and 4 delicious sides and yummy dessert and cheese. It was all presented beautifully and made the wine experience so much better. The cost was a bit more than others; however, the value was more than the difference in cost.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great host, great locations, great wine”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a great time. The driver was chatty and welcoming, the wineries were beautiful, and the wine-makers were very interesting and informative. We toured four wineries which ranged from supermarket brands to boutiques. Tasting Salvare's wine slushy is a MUST. A cheese platter was provided halfway which went down well. 5/5.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saraviatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time, and great value”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had an amazing day with Grape Escape. Greg was a lot of fun, with lots of knowledge of the area and recommedation of other things to do during our stay in Napier. We visited a total of 5 wineries and had the freedom to drink as much as we wanted with out having to drive, which was a real treat. The cheese and crackers provided on the trip where perfect and added a lovely touch to the whole experience. Absoulte lovely time, and as Napier isn't too far away from Wellington I'll expect we will visit them again, next time we are in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravKayway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, N
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful tour!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a fabulous half-day wine tour with Grape Escape. Greg was a knowledgeable and congenial guide -- he had us laughing straight all the way through, and really made it an amazing experience. We visited four different wineries and the tour ended with a lovely wine and cheese snack. It was one of my favorite afternoons in our two week trip to New Zealand!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank emu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grape Escape Wine Tours also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Grape Escape Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing