We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oldies Roadie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Oldies Roadie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Four oldies left Auckland on 8 May 2014. Headed for 4 days at Taradale via Mt Maunganui/Opotiki/ Gisborne, taking side trips on way. Our intent was to take in
Hawkes Bay sights etc. Arrived Asure Colonial Motor Lodge, to very pleasant greeting
from Sarah, shown to our Unit (#15), all facilities were pointed out. Unit clean tidy
and well presented. Spa adjacent to Unit and used to advantage. Next day visited
Havelock North and area 'Arataki Honey' worth visit. Magnificent views from Top
Lookout 'Mata Peak'. Sought a coffee from Te Mata Cheeses which one of the couples
had visited previously, sorry now not operational a real loss, needs to start up again
when visited previously had a great range of cheeses. One winery visited and on to
'Silky Oak Café and Chocolate Factory' for lunch and purchases of Factory Products.
Next day semi rest sought a winery advertising in brochures that had lunch facilities,
to find this facility had not been operating for some six years. Recommended that we
try 'The Filter Room' great choice. Next day north of Napier Esk Valley area. Lunch
at 'Crab Farm Winery' Mussel meal to die for. Thank you to Sarah, Mark and the
pleasant staff for our very comfortable stay. Thank you for the extras that you provided
with out hesitation. Would recommend your facilities to all.
Carol & Doug M

Room Tip: Have only experienced Unit 15. Would not think that there would be problem with any of the Units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    34
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
75
44
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This motel was clean and spacious the hosts were polite and friendly.
They were only to obliging to help in any way they could.
The spar was great I had trouble tying to unbolt it to take home.
Thankyou for a great stay

Room Tip: Nice place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a studio unit. Had everything we needed. A laundry just across the way, a kitchen to cook in as well as a BBQ just down the way. We enjoyed the hot tub and the pool. The fresh apples were a great treat. Hosts were great! It would be a great place for a family as there is lots of outside space.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chargap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I would like to extend a massive thank you to Mark and all his staff at his Motel. My girls and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and your hospitality as first time visitors to your Motel was outstanding. We were very happy with all amenities and facilities available to us. The staff were very courteous and friendly. The price for our stay were very reasonable. We will definitely stay at your Motel again.
Nga mihi nui kia koutou.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidays556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

As a large family group we stayed in Colonial Lodge's fully furnished house at the back of the property. The spacious house was well equipped, and immaculately clean. We felt we had the best of both worlds - a quiet retreat to enjoy time with Grandparents, plus full use of the outstanding facilities dotted around the well-kept gardens. Our children especially enjoyed the heated outdoor pool. A short walk to Taradale's Bay Espresso cafe for a classy breakfast (and free coffee thanks to Colonial Lodge!). We will definitely stay again - a very professional outfit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the self catering house at the back of the property which was spacious, clean and well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wairarapa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Facilities are well maintained and unit had everything we needed. Owners very friendly and helpful and provided additional support when an unexpected health matter arose.Great place to stay. Stayed here as a couple recently and as a family in the past and will continue to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Room was in an awful location..tucked in the back of the property, facing a driveway.
Room had a musty smell
Wifi reception was not good
Room was clean, but small
Would not stay here again
Also, a bit away from the town of Napier

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tom15betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.3 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
4.5 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
4.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
4.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel

Property: ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel
Address: 164 Gloucester Street | Hawke's Bay, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Highly Recommended on Trip Advisor: Ideally located in award winning park-like grounds just mins to Napier's Art Deco Capital. Walking distance to local cafes, shops and wineries (Mission Estate, Church Rd Winery) * All rooms have been recently refurbished are spacious, fully self contained with contemporary kitchens and bathrooms. * Many on-site facilities including: Heated Swimming Pool, Private Spa Pool, Outdoor BBQ Areas, Games room (Pool-table/Table tennis/PS3), SKY Digi LCD TVs, Air Con/Heat pump,Playground, Restaurant & Bar adjacent etc...* Did we mention local friendly hosts?!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing