We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“great motel”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is one of the best motels that I have ever stayed at. The grounds and the facilities are outstanding. The owners were very helpful. The unit we stayed in had a heat pump, plunger coffee, and was serviced daily. All units have easy access to the pool and games room. It is located a short walk from taradale shops and a short walk from the New World supermarket.

Room Tip: No fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IandT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    34
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
75
45
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. Grounds are absolutely beautiful. Unit 3 should be designated as studio only as very tiny being stuck in corner. Owner was very helpful and willing to go the xtra to make your stay pleasurable. Would differently stay sgsin and recommend to family and friends.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammyj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
175 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We arrived at this motel around 3pm after having cycled 60km as part of an organised cycle trip. We were told by the motelier that we were far too early and that our room wasn't ready because they weren't expecting us at that time. He also went on to add (insult to injury) that he left the cyclists rooms til last because he didn't expect to see us so soon.
I guess that set the tone for the rest of the stay (only one night). I thought it unusual that they would leave cyclists rooms til last given that most would be hot and tired and wanting to access their room immediately as opposed to someone who had driven in a car and perhaps more inclined to wait.
Everything else about the motel was great. The kitchen was fully equipped which we liked because we wanted to cook our own dinner. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast selection had plenty of variety.

Room Tip: I would avoid room 3 (which we were in) or any of the rooms that face Gloucester Street. Room 3 had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebHnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Staying at a motel can be underwhelming but Colonial Lodge is something exceptional.

The difference is in the hosts and how they treat you. Mark and Sarah are some of the finest hosts any family could want when on holiday.

They went above and beyond to make our stay something to remember.

The facilities at Colonial Lodge were also top class as well, both modern and very comfortable. The kids loved the swimming pool and the trampoline.

If you are planning a trip to Napier then don't go past these guys!!

Thanks again for a fabulous stay!

Alan, Jane, Violet and Olive

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Thanks to Mark and staff our trip was a very enjoyable one. Clean, neat, tidy rooms, with EVERYTHING you need (and kids need) for an awesome stay, facilities were immaculate, in an easy to find location. When I next travel to NZ I will be staying here again for sure. Nothing is too much trouble for them, and felt welcomed and looked after from the minute we arrived to our departure.

Once again thank you Mark and we will see you again in the near future!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hifi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This place had everything we needed. Very friendly and super helpful staff. Well appointed rooms with everything to make our stay easy. Lovely outdoor tables outside each unit. Very comfy pull down bed in the lounge area. Great stay well done!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Slightly out from central Napier, about 7 miles. We had a few problems finding the place initially, Gloucester Road is the extension of Kennedy Road the main route into Napier. This is an excellent motel with very good facilities that far exceed it's motel name. There is a swimming pool, hot tub and games room ideal if you have young children. The rooms are large and well equipped with a functional kitchen area. Our room was clean and modern and surprising quiet. There is a large supermarket just a few minutes away. The owners are very helpful. Napier is a beautiful city and well worth a visit and take advantage of a wine tour whilst you are staying.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank researcher59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.3 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
4.5 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
4.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
4.2 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel

Property: ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel
Address: 164 Gloucester Street | Hawke's Bay, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Highly Recommended on Trip Advisor: Ideally located in award winning park-like grounds just mins to Napier's Art Deco Capital. Walking distance to local cafes, shops and wineries (Mission Estate, Church Rd Winery) * All rooms have been recently refurbished are spacious, fully self contained with contemporary kitchens and bathrooms. * Many on-site facilities including: Heated Swimming Pool, Private Spa Pool, Outdoor BBQ Areas, Games room (Pool-table/Table tennis/PS3), SKY Digi LCD TVs, Air Con/Heat pump,Playground, Restaurant & Bar adjacent etc...* Did we mention local friendly hosts?!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing