We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Motel considering Lack of Pre-Booking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Staff very helpful - excellent instructions on how to get to the Colonial Lodge from City Centre.
Motel unit of a very high standard with ample supply of crockery, glasses, linen etc. The use of a laundry was another added bonus. The site layout and location of facilities within the site a real inspiration. As no longer need to travel with children it is still a pleasure to see that families with children of all ages are well catered for at this motel.
This was the 3rd Motel in the Asure group that my mother & I stayed at during the previous week and while the other 2 were very good this was an excellent motel for the above reasons plus many more that I've not mentioned.
Maybe my next trip to New Zealand will include Napier again especially now that I know it's not that far from the Mission.
Thank you for the attention and wonderful service.
Elizabeth Macpherson

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Manager at ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thanks very much, Elizabeth for taking the time to write this review ...great you enjoyed your stay and found the ASURE group of such a high standard. Lets hope you do make to back to NZ and especially Napier the and lovely Mission Estate!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 201 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

We choose the Colonial Lodge Motel because of its price; a special one-off rate for a Sunday night had us sold. But- when we arrived I was astonished to see such a lovely, quiet peaceful garden setting (how many motels even have gardens anymore?!?!) with top-notch facilities. Our room had been upgraded and the short walk to the room with the motelier felt more like a walk through a park than a motel. The room was spacious and had everything we needed and more; it was spotless and there was even a little welcoming note from the housekeepers. Although we were in an upstairs room there was a baby gate available for stair safety. The services offered in the motel information pack were much more than I have ever seen anywhere else and unbelievably, the bed was more comfortable than the one we have at home! The swimming pool and children's play area were beautifully maintained and saved us money on extra activities, and it was very refreshing to be greeted and served by moteliers who clearly love what they do; they're in it for all the right reasons. The best value for money I have had from a motel ever. Thank you all- we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle n Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Our 3 Basketball teams (group of over 45) stayed at Colonial Lodge. Mark and his team were brilliant hosts and did everything to make our stay very comfortable. There were lots of different areas for our kids to hang out together without getting under each others feet - pool, spa, recreation room and lots of outdoor areas including hammock. The kids were able to do 'hot n colds' even after a later game - facilities were readily available. The rooms were very warm and comfortable with good quality beds. There was plenty of off street parking that we were able to park 3 vans and a large trailer. The RSA next door was a bonus with exceptionally affordable meals. Some of our group left gear behind , no problem - it was posted back within the week. We would highly recommend and would definitely book there again. Thank you Mark for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Last minute booking for the Mission concert lead us here. Warm welcome on arrival, we did have some concerns about the room size we ended up with but as it was last minute waht do you expect. The room was comfortable, clean tidy and well decorated. We did raise our view with the Manager who did a fantastic job and managed to juggle us into another suite. Perfect.
If wanting a place close to Mission then you cannot go wrong here, but remeber book early!

Room Tip: Some units share an upstairs downstairs arrangements which are sometimes shared, can be a little noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We decided to stay at the Colonial Lodge after reading the stellar reviews written by previous guests. We were not disappointed. When we checked in, the host walked us to our room to make sure everything was as we expected. The room was everything we needed and more, and we enjoyed using the pool and spa pool facilities. The hosts did an excellent job of providing a community/resort feel on the property. Everyone seemed to be enjoying the amenities, but the property remained quiet and peaceful. A friend of ours who was local to the area came to visit and was so impressed she decided to rent a room of her own! I look forward to visiting the Colonial Lodge again on our next visit to the region and would highly recommend it to anyone passing through the area.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great rooms: super clean and quite fresh. Friendly staff. This is a real gem if you are traveling with (especially smaller) kids as there is a pool and a game room plus more. The only drawback at this place is that the internet is total rubbish--so slow you can´t really get anything done.

Room Tip: Get a one bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snabelfisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Booked for a two night stay at the Motel. Although located some way out of town the room was spacious with a separate bedroom and a well fitted kitchen area. Just up the road was a shopping area with a well stocked Supermarket.
The owner was very friendly and helpful. There was also a free 6 hour access to the internet, something that larger hotel chains should note.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikewhillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
587 reviews
4.3 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
4.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
805 reviews
4.3 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#11 of 46 in Napier
104 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel

Address: 164 Gloucester Street | Hawke's Bay, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Price Range: $96 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Highly Recommended on Trip Advisor: Ideally located in award winning park-like grounds just mins to Napier's Art Deco Capital. Walking distance to local cafes, shops and wineries (Mission Estate, Church Rd Winery) * All rooms have been recently refurbished are spacious, fully self contained with contemporary kitchens and bathrooms. * Many on-site facilities including: Heated Swimming Pool, Private Spa Pool, Outdoor BBQ Areas, Games room (Pool-table/Table tennis/PS3), SKY Digi LCD TVs, Air Con/Heat pump,Playground, Restaurant & Bar adjacent etc...* Did we mention local friendly hosts?!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing