We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable and homely stay”
Review of City Close Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Close Motel
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
370 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“A comfortable and homely stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Forget about luxury, flashy decor and all that. The strength of this motel is not based on that. Instead, it is based on cleanliness, proximity and comfortability. The motel is run by a lovely old couple Ken and Kathryn, some of the most friendliest and accommodating Kiwis I have ever met during my 2 weeks trip.

Talk about the room first. I had room no. 6 which has a queen bed, a small kitchen but fully equipped with microwave, oven/hobs and all that. A small separate shower and toilet, all in good working condition. Some people commented on the deco being very old, which feels like the 70s, but I feel there is nothing wrong with that. As long as it is clean and comfortable, it can be a very cute retro experience. At least it was the case for me. Need not to worry about the noise as there is hardly any at night, which ensure a good night sleep, in their surprisingly comfortable bed. Being an asian, I don't like very soft bed, the one they have is just right, which should suit most people. Wifi is provided absolutely free, you just get a password from the owner.

Location wise, this hotel is just opposite a huge supermarket which stays open till midnight. To walk to center of town is just 5 or ten minutes. Only a 2 or 3 min walk to the coach station where people can take buses everywhere in the island. Ken, the owner, does a free airport pick up and drop off, as part of their complimentary services. I am sure he will never forget me as he parked his car on a forbidden spot and got a parking fine, which made me feel so bad, but he is a nice fellow and made no qualms about it.

Overall, this is a very nice motel which should please most people, so long as you are not after modern luxury. I have been traveling around the world, and stayed in all sort of luxury hotels, I am very happy with my 2 nights stay, don't be intimated by the oldness of this motel, you'd be amazed how comfortable it can be. Thanks a lot Ken and Kathryn

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
16
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The rating for this motel is above average. We stayed in a double unit (8) which was spacious, clean with good cooking facilites. A slightly older property with very friendly hosts and within walking distance of everything you want to do in the CBD. The room rate was slightly inflated due to it being 'the Rod Stewart' weekend - but would normally be very good value for money.
A good spot those who enjoy lovely city walks and local restaurants. Try out the mini-golf on the waterfront!!

Room Tip: For families room 8 is upstairs quieter and plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavalier11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton West Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My last afternoon and night in Napier prior to flying home to Perth WA was very restful in this spotlessly clean Motel. Very central to CBD and Marine Parade. I will certainly recommend same.!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Excellent value motel, very handy for the CBD & sea-front. Bit dated, but spotlessly clean. We had 3 adults in a 2 bedroom unit, and we had plenty of room to be comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed here over New Years for 2 nights. I stayed in Taupo for 1 night before coming here and our accomodation in Taupo was absolutely terrible and I was so nervous about things being the same here as I didn't read any reviews before booking accomodation over New Years as it was a last minute decision to go away.

Upon arrival at the City Close Motel I was extremely relieved! The owners were very friendly and welcoming and this reassured me straight away that we were going to enjoy our stay. I was very impressed by how clean our room was. The rooms were also homely and had character and included everything that you would need (heater, fan, SkyTV, internet, iron etc etc).

The location was great as it was a quiet area and a short distance from the main street of Napier. I was enjoying my stay in Napier so much I decided to stay another night at the City Close Motel and the owners made this very easy for me to arrange, they were very accomodating.

I would highly recommend coming here if you would like value for money and great hospitality. Thanks Ken and Kathryn for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAPG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2011

It is very budget and old. The rooms were clean. The beds uncomfortable and tired. The area in the rooms was cramped for a family of 4. The bathroom, shower etc was very awkward, pokey and small. No- where to put clothes etc.It was located near supermarkets, cinema some sort of bar restaurant and a short walk in to town. We did not do the breakfasts. There was no Wi Fi offered as part of the deal. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't plan on preparing family meals in the very awkwardly layed out kitchen. OK for toast and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Napier hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Very good location. We stayed in two separate rooms. One room (#5) was basic but highly satisfactory. The other room (#7) was stated for up to four adults but in reality should only be for two (three at most) as living space too small.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGrath_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.5 mi away
Napier Garden Motel
Napier Garden Motel
#29 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#32 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Motor Lodge
Edgewater Motor Lodge
#15 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palm City Motor Inn
Palm City Motor Inn
#7 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Close Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Close Motel

Property: City Close Motel
Address: 50 Munroe Street, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Close Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City Close Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing