We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and clean”
Review of Cedar Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Court Motel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and clean”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed in a room overlooking the estuary, the estuary also made for a great early morning circuit walk.Location to the roadside made it a bit noisy when traffic started up, probably not such an issue in winter when you can keep windows shut. We had a car so location was not a problem if I was walking I would possibly prefer closer to town.
Most importantly to me the units were spotlessly clean and management were friendly on arrival and getting a little extra milk was no trouble. The 2 bedroom unit allowed for sleeping if someone was up a bit late watching telly. I liked the balcony to sit on. Our unit had some slightly tired chairs, but everything else was great, I appreciate the new owners are doing their best to update methodically, all easily changed bits like the kitchen stuff, was new and sparkling and in good working order.
Loved the grey flannel embroidered for Makeup removal, nice practical touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joken630, Owner at Cedar Court Motel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thanks for your review and comments. Your unit is one of our favourites, especially with the Estuary view from the balcony. We have now replaced the tired chairs with a more comfy 2-seater and chairs. Hope you can try them out on your next visit. Thank you for your comments re our make-up removal flannel - they have been very popular. Regards Ken & Jo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    40
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
46
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Lovely new owners who have done a lot to make your stay comfortable. Modern spotlessly clean unit with everything you need. Spacious bathroom and they give your proper milk. Bonus! Will stay there again. Lovely soft big towels. Wi fi was great

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh-Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Cedar Court is on the Motel Strip of Meeanee Quay, approaching Napier City from the north. Rooms overlook a charming estuary with conservation department walks to see wetland birdlife. The Westshore beach is only one street away. This is a typical older style kiwi motel with spacious units from roomy studios to 2-bedroom family accommodation the size of a small apartment. The owners were welcoming. The rooms and grounds are well maintained and scrupulously clean. A good option for budget travellers, but particularly good for families on holiday looking for space and nearby activities of beach, board walks and estuary walks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnabusbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This is the 2nd time I have stayed here in 10 years and I forgot this is one I shouldn't stay in. Right on the State Highway so noise of trucks can be heard at night. Didn't feel the warmth for the owners previously stated in other reviews. No shampoo was provided which I found odd and only 2 facecloths for 3 people both days. Was awoken at 0800 one of the days with the cleaning trolley being driven passed the bedroom window. Shower is designed for short people, anyone taller needs to bend. Close to the beach which could be why there is a $140 pricetag attached to the room. Not close to town. I have stayed in nicer, newer, friendlier establishments for less this price. The only noticeable positive point was when they didn't put guests right next to each other instead leaving a gap in between with an empty room, so it was quieter with no loud neighbours.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2011

While the motel is only a three star it lacks nothing whenit comes to comfort, facilities and environment. Margaret Bryson one of the owners is a ball of energy, finding solutions to everyone's questions. Incredibly generous with her hospitality I saw Margarret organising a free beer & wine to a couple who arrived late at night as they were quite frazzled from their travels.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauraki Plains
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Stayed Queens Birthday. This motel has the loveliest beds. The unit was very clean and had everything you wanted. It was nice that it had a sofa to sit on too. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muffin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Albatross Motel
Albatross Motel
#11 of 47 in Napier
560 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#18 of 47 in Napier
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm City Motor Inn
Palm City Motor Inn
#7 of 47 in Napier
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
At the Rocks Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Sunset Court Motel
Sunset Court Motel
#28 of 47 in Napier
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairley Motor Lodge
Fairley Motor Lodge
#10 of 47 in Napier
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Motel

Property: Cedar Court Motel
Address: 50 Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensuring your stay at Cedar Court Motel is most comfortable and welcoming, hosts Ken and Jo provide great customer service and are happy to give advice or help organise your transport and/or things to do while you're in the Hawke's Bay. Not only is Napier renowned for its Deco qualities, there's plenty to do while you stay in the beautiful region - so bring the kids, the bikes, your walking shoes and even the dog ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Cedar Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing