We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too pricy & bad service”
Review of Marineland Motels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marineland Motels
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too pricy & bad service”
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I would not come back to stay in Marineland Motel.

Why? Firstly, the service was bad. I got an impression that it is just a pain for the receptionist to check people in and out and that people are just annoying her very much when they complain about specific issues (there were people compaining when I came to check us out). Secondly, it was rather expensive (150 NZD per night).

The place was also quite loud. It has a pool but there were lots of kids jumping around so no good for a relaxing swim.

The location is quite nice, next to the Napier beach and Pandora lagoon where you can hire kayaks and windsurfs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OpickaTerezka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner007, Owner at Marineland Motels, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
It is with complete surprise I read "Opicka Terezka's comments about the experience at the Motel. I'm sure everyone would agree that if it was my wife and I on duty at the front desk at this time, the report would be presenting a situation that was completely out of character for us. I can only assume this experience occurred while we were away on holiday in late December. No I'm not rebutting the report but we will certainly take the matter up with our relievers.
In the matter of behaviour in the pool, this is something that should be managed by both parents and management. Jumping in the pool is not permitted and is usually controlled by a quiet word to the offending bathers. However, we are very much a family motel at holiday times and children will be children wont they.

With regard to pricing, I can only say market forces help determine what is charged and while our current structure won't meet "everybody's" needs the fact that we are experiencing full occupancy for most nights during the week, I am happy with our tariff as it is. Having said that, keep an eye on our website or Facebook for special deals, they can appear at any time

As management, we accept this client has not had a pleasurable experience for which we apologise. We strive to ensure our clients get an enjoyable experience at Marineland Motel so without hesitation we offer the member a free 2 night stay, plus full cooked breakfast each morning at a future date. Offer is contingent on the client proving to us the date they stayed with us in December and the free nights must be taken within 6 months of 15/01/11 (we suggest not School Holidays and a weekend would be best)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    49
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
45
63
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Comfortable Family Room, great restaurant environment and supurb food and all topped off by warm and friendly management. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conspectus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner007, Manager at Marineland Motels, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Thankyou "Conspectus" for your comments. It is encouraging to get such positive feed back. Both Motel & Restaurant strive to make our clients stay a positively memorable one, we don't always succeed but it is not for the want of trying. Our industry has been hit hard by the recession but we still continue to invest in upgrading our facilities.
Please use this invitation to seek a 12.5% discount off your next stay with us

Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2010

In spite of a lovely welcome from the owner (and delightful grand daughter) who made a special effort for our parking requirements, it was all downhill from there. I do object to furniture that is threadbare to the extent there are holes in the arms etc. A bed that is so hard that the floor felt welcoming. The plumbing of the neighbouring units was a wake up call at midnight, noises in the ceiling had us wondering of what could befall us by daylight and the whole complex is what it is..... a very old motel, refurbished or not! The 'courtyard' was sad, decrepit and very unloved. The service in the associated restaurant where the service was to say at the very least abysmal! Totally overpriced for the surroundings/ fixtures/table settings etc, believe me there are much better dining experiences to be had than here. (Having said that it was obvious if you were a 'regular' you did receive extra attention)
I stayed here on a very good friends recomendation who had spent considerable time here previously so I have no axe to grind. Sadly this establishment is very tired and I suggest you do as the owner says. Check it out, don't book it online and commit yourselves . Enough said!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CptK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner007, Owner at Marineland Motels, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
We are sorry "CPTK" was not happy with his stay at Marineland Motel. Most of the units here have been fully refurbished infact we have only 4 of the 23 left to do. Those that are left to do are priced accordingly. The CPTK contacted the office about the concern we would have moved them to a newer unit

With regard the Restaurant I am also saddened their experience was not to their liking suffice to say it has won awards for quality of dining and just recently won the "Service" award for outstanding service - in a competition that was run in the Hawkes Bay

We strive to ensure our clients have a pleasurable experience at both the Motel and Restaurant. We would therefore extend to CPTK free accommodation for 2 nights in 1 of our new Executive units and dinner for 2 (3 courses plus wine) in the Restaurant

Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Me and my father stayed at the Napier Marineland Motel on 1 June 2010. I found the owners to be very friendy and more than helpful. The motel unit was very nice and warm. Warm being the most important thing as it was very cold in Napier the day me and my father arrived. We were pasting through on way to stay with other family.

I would hightly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billhamlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

A 2 night stay with proximity to the airport and all our needs were met. Our recently refurbed rooms were very clean and simple but stylish. The shower was awesome and some nice touches in the kitchen inc real coffee for caffetiere. We were also lucky to have a sea view and 'separate' entrance, not important, but nice. The owners were very friendly and accomodating and bent over bcakwards to make sure we were comfortable and had all that we needed. A great find.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof5Cheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The motel is situated on the main street, just 10 min from the city center.
I got a huge room with big flat TV, king bed, jacuzzi bath, all kitchen amenities. Charming staff. Good restaurant (not cheap).
The motel has a covered swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Two nights at this motel was two to many.

Has potential but requires a complete refurbishment.

NOT RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayhorrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner007, owner at Marineland Motels, responded to this review, April 4, 2010
We are at a loss to understand how we have offended this guest so badly. They had a fully refurbished unit (new beds & covers, furniture, all floor covers, decor, Spa cubicle relined all done a little over 12m ago and after a room inspection prior to accepting the room were very happy with the room presentation. We would love the opportunity to put this situation right but we are at the mercy of a travelling client in this case
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
At the Rocks Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Fairley Motor Lodge
Fairley Motor Lodge
#10 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Lodge
Harbour View Lodge
#24 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#18 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#34 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marineland Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marineland Motels

Property: Marineland Motels
Address: 19 Meeanee Quay, Westshore, | Hawkes Bay, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Napier
#9 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#20 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marineland Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The motel, all ground floor accommodation with an official Qualmark rating of 4 star and an Environmental rating of silver. We have a fully licensed restaurant on site run by qualified chef's. We are situated in a lovely quiet area of Napier beside the ocean and within easy walking distance of Napier's Marina and some of Napiers most popular bars and cafe's. Vehicle parking is all off road and free. The range of accommodation available reflects the professional upgrades to the facility only recently completed and complements various room types available, from the essential smaller but air-conditioned over night- bed and bathroom studio for 2, to the latest luxury fully self contained Apartment that sleeps 7 situated on its own secure section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marineland Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marineland Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing