We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ron and Glenys "Tired and Hungry Travellers"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairley Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Whanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ron and Glenys "Tired and Hungry Travellers"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had arrived late after being on the road all day with walks to waterfalls en route so were glad to randomly select such a nice place to stay the night. We found it really clean, spacious, particularly the bathroom and the bed very comfortable.Unfortunately didn't have time to use the spa bath due to our late arrival and need to promptly find somewhere to dine out. Our host suggested the closeby Estuary Restaurant which had wonderful food, knowledgeable and friendly service. Despite being so close to the main trucking route, the unit was surprisingly quiet. A good night's sleep was needed and had. Thanks.

Room Tip: Choose room further away from main highway as heavy trucks travel along here 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenys J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janewestshore, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
We are glad to enjoyed your stay. All of our units are concrete lined so are very quiet and comfortable. The Estuary restaurant just 50 metres down the road is an excellent restaurant as you found.They even will deliver an a la carte meal to your unit in the motel. We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    62
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
119
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Durahm
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed in Napier for one night and wished we had stayed for longer! We were warmly greeted by the hosts Hugh and Jane who made us feel so welcome. Our room was spacious, clean and very well appointed. Jane was only too happy to tell us what to see and do in Napier and I would recommend walking around the Art Deco buildings in the city centre at Napier. We had dinner in the Blue Whale on the harbour front and although the place was busy we were seated and served delicious food in no time.
Napier is a must see place in NZ and I would highly recommend a stay at the Fairley.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janewestshore, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our wonderful location . I know we live in a special place where within minutes I can be walking through the estuary,walking along a beach or then walking over to Ahuriri with its restaurants,art galleries and boutique shops.I agree with you that Hawkes Bay is a stunning place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This motel is well priced, very clean and spacious and the owners are pleasant and helpful. We recommend it if you have a car for the short journey to lovely Napier or surrounds. The end room has a particularly comfortable bed along with a verandah looking towards the sea.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private if somewhat spartan courtyards. The end unit has a verandah looking towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snipsnipssnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janewestshore, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. Our units are very spacious and we are pleased you enjoyed them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Wonderful owners, very helpful. Large dedicated parking spaces with glass front units with privacy curtains. Unit was sparkling clean with a nice kitchenette. No air conditioning, but was near the harbor and had a nice breeze with the windows open, a cooler type fan and heater were provided. Short walk to a nice restaurant. Very convenient to drive to town. Great value on a weekend with a major town concert event.

Room Tip: They're all off the highway, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janewestshore, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at Fairley & your nice review All of our executive units have air conditioning but we usually find with a coastal breeze it is not required
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. Hugh the host was very welcoming and helpful in providing local information and things to do and see in a Napier & Hastings. Location on Westshore was great and very close to lovely restaurants on West Quay - only a 8-10 minute walk away. Our room was absolutely lovely, huge with a very large bathroom with separate shower and spa bath. We also had a very large and private courtyard to sit and relax in. A nice touch were the cosy bathrobes. Room was spotlessly clean, had superb air conditioning and extensive range of toiletries were provided. An excellent place to stay in Napier.

Room Tip: We had room 14 which seemed to be more spacious than rest and had a private courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janewestshore, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for you review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very friendly hosts. The situation is very quiet and near the sea and some good restaurants. The room was clean, with great bathroom and a comfortable bed. Parking was very easy too. So excellent service for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janewestshore, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We love interacting with our guests and we like them to feel comfortable with our motel and of course enjoy the great location that we are in . Thank you for spending the time to review us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Well laid out unit, which was clean and well appointed.
The only negative comment was that we had booked a 1 bedroomed unit for 3 adults and, although the bed in the lounge was made up, it was covered to look like a couch.
It would have been more welcoming to have been shown as a bed, complete with pillow, instead of having to hunt for the pillow (finally found in a drawer).

Great to include a free bottle of water.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janewestshore, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your time sending a review.We have furnished the one bedroom units so the living area ,looks like a living area and not a bedroom. The designer cover on the bed and cushions allow you to sprawl out and watch TV etc .Take the cover off, look in the drawer and you have a bed at bedtime. We do say in the compendeum that there are pillows in the drawers But perhaps people do not read our compendeums . Anyway I am glad you enjoyed your stay and perhaps you will come back and enjoy some of our other units
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
2.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairley Motor Lodge

Property: Fairley Motor Lodge
Address: 1 Tareha St (off Meeanee Quay) | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand (Formerly Best Western Fairley Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairley Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy true Kiwi hospitality & exceptional comfort (Qualmark 4 star plus) at Fairley Motor Lodge. Superb location, just minutes from Napier's vibrant city centre, across from the harbour village of Ahuriri with restaurants, galleries, Art Deco, sailing, Westshore Beach & Ahuriri Wildlife Estuary giving endless options at your doorstep. Your hosts Hugh and Jane have extensive local knowledge and offer personal service to guests. Fairley offers spacious motel accommodation, most units with a double spa bath, cooking facilities, 32in Sky TV, private courtyards or patio areas. Queen and super king beds. One and two bedroom units have two TVs. Air-conditioning in all units. High quality triple sheeting bed linen and superb selection of teas & coffee. Newspaper and late checkout available on request. Free WIFI and free parking at you door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing