We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairley Motor Lodge
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Booked Fairley Motor Lodge for a business stop over and location was the main reason which was ideal.

The check in process was easy and we were made to feel most welcome, even had an upgrade to include a king size bed as I had my wife accompanying me on this trip.

The bed was very comfy, the bathroom was huge and the other amenities were excellent.

My one complaint is: there is a pipe in the wall between rooms 13 &14 which expands and contracts, the result is intermittent knocking. Avoid these 2 rooms and you will have a great stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank-you for your review. These two large studio units are very popular. There has been an occasional contraction noises coming from a pipe. We have tried to get this corrected but due to our concrete walls we have been unable to get into the wall. We will attempt to look into this again because a peaceful nights sleep is paramount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 277 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had a very comfortable night in this lovely well presented unit. Owner Hugh and staff made us most welcome. We had a one bedroom unit which was very quiet and very comfortable sitting area. Well equiped kitchen, a great spa bath and good desk area for business people. Happy to stay there again and would recommend this property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene_ReTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

thankyou Irene.We look forward to seeing you back at the FAIRLEY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hugh the host was very welcoming and informative, with lots of useful info about the Art Deco streets to visit, restaurants to dine out and the vineyards worth a look (and of course, a tasting!). Hugh's language could be rather colourful but only to be expected from a kiwi and it was all done in the best possible taste! (but then we are English, so unused to such honest humour!). Our room was lovely (a studio), spacious and clean, modern and well-equipped. Great outdoor private patio area (if only it hadn't been raining!).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank De4nn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, Manager at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hugh has missed his calling- he should have been on stage .!I am glad you enjoyed your stay!Jane (Hughs wife!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I thought this hotel was just excellent. All fittings were high quality, facilities were excellent and the rooms were spacious with comfortable beds. Very clean, well furnished accommodation. We travelled with two kids and with 2 TVs & kitchen facilities, we were all well catered for.

Room Tip: This hotel is very close to Westshore beach - great to take the kids for a run about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalindib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you. We have a great staff that enjoy working here .We appreciate their high standards and they love to hear that their efforts are recognised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here in February, 2013. Hugh welcomed me at check-in as if he had all the time in the world. He gave me some great restaurant recommendations and things to do in Napier. The rooms and bathrooms have recently been refurbished and are huge. Good fast internet (although you have to get a free password card from reception). This is a great stop to enjoy the Art deco capital of the world!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heckmondwike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

We love to help people to have a great experience while they stay in Napier and the Bay.Your comments are appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights here in the Fall and loved it. Our room was quiet and clean. The owner Hugh was very helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed the spa tub and the kitchen facilities. It was just a short walk down to the beach and pleasant bike ride into town for a look at the Art Deco buildings. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank for the review. Yes,our location is very special!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent three nights here and found it to be very clean and reasonably quiet. However, a little attention to detail would not go astray when servicing the unit each day, ie if there are four people then four towels, flannels etc should be left! A small but annoying detail that happened twice, even after our initial request.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, General Manager at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

We have wonderful staff here at Fairley. Perhaps there was a communication lapse with change of staff and you didnt get those extra flannels (we apologise ONCE more) This was easily rectified by coming and asking at the office which you did. We are very friendly at the front desk and we all try our best to please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
2.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
581 reviews
1.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.6 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 46 in Napier
96 reviews
1.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairley Motor Lodge

Address: Corner Tareha Street & Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand (Formerly Best Western Fairley Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Price Range: $94 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairley Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy true Kiwi hospitality & exceptional comfort (Qualmark 4 star plus) at Fairley Motor Lodge. Superb location, just minutes from Napier's vibrant city centre, across from the harbour village of Ahuriri with restaurants, galleries, Art Deco, sailing, Westshore Beach & Ahuriri Wildlife Estuary giving endless options at your doorstep. Your hosts Hugh and Jane have extensive local knowledge and offer personal service to guests. Fairley offers spacious motel accommodation, most units with a double spa bath, cooking facilities, 32in Sky TV, private courtyards or patio areas. Queen and super king beds. One and two bedroom units have two TVs. Air-conditioning in all units. High quality triple sheeting bed linen and superb selection of teas & coffee. Newspaper and late checkout available on request. Free WIFI and free parking at you door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing