We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attention to detail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairley Motor Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairley Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I thought this hotel was just excellent. All fittings were high quality, facilities were excellent and the rooms were spacious with comfortable beds. Very clean, well furnished accommodation. We travelled with two kids and with 2 TVs & kitchen facilities, we were all well catered for.

Room Tip: This hotel is very close to Westshore beach - great to take the kids for a run about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kalindib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you. We have a great staff that enjoy working here .We appreciate their high standards and they love to hear that their efforts are recognised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    60
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
115
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here in February, 2013. Hugh welcomed me at check-in as if he had all the time in the world. He gave me some great restaurant recommendations and things to do in Napier. The rooms and bathrooms have recently been refurbished and are huge. Good fast internet (although you have to get a free password card from reception). This is a great stop to enjoy the Art deco capital of the world!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heckmondwike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We love to help people to have a great experience while they stay in Napier and the Bay.Your comments are appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights here in the Fall and loved it. Our room was quiet and clean. The owner Hugh was very helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed the spa tub and the kitchen facilities. It was just a short walk down to the beach and pleasant bike ride into town for a look at the Art Deco buildings. Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank for the review. Yes,our location is very special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent three nights here and found it to be very clean and reasonably quiet. However, a little attention to detail would not go astray when servicing the unit each day, ie if there are four people then four towels, flannels etc should be left! A small but annoying detail that happened twice, even after our initial request.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, General Manager at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We have wonderful staff here at Fairley. Perhaps there was a communication lapse with change of staff and you didnt get those extra flannels (we apologise ONCE more) This was easily rectified by coming and asking at the office which you did. We are very friendly at the front desk and we all try our best to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had booked and prepaid a room at Fairley Motor Lodge on a 30day advance rate, based on the very positive description of the motel on its website and overall very good reviews on Tripadvisor.

However on arrival we were downgraded to a basic highway motel 200m down the road and unceremoniously turfed out.
Comparison of the alternative motel vs. advertised features of Fairley Motor Lodge:
- definitely no "luxury" room, it was basic and functional vs. "luxury serviced apartments, modern, quiet lodgings"
- No Star vs. 4.5 stars
- double + single bed vs. queen bed
- no double spa bath
- no iPod dock
- no in room wifi - this was only available at a rickety chair outside the motel office
- main Street location - probably just like Fairley Motor Lodge, but definitely not quiet.

Problems do happen from time to time, but we had the feeling that due to us booking on a favorable advance rate, we were the ones being picked on to bear the brunt of whatever the problem was. There was definitely no attempt by the owner / manager to make an effort to provide a positive experience for us.
Booking and prepaying is a matter of trust in a business. It does not leave the customer with much leverage if the expectations are not fulfilled. A condition of the booking was that "This reservation can not be cancelled". We relied on the reputation of Best Western, on advertisements and Tripadvisor reviews, but were bitterly disappointed and can only caution others to be careful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJ7999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We will apologise once again.This was an unfortunate situation which was fully explained where we were fully booked and we had an elderly American lady and her son (2 units) staying .They had been here for 4 weeks and at the last minute had to extend their stay for 4 days due to problems leaving the country.Unfortunately we had to move two bookings and at the time the only accommodation in the area was the motel down the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We arrived quite late in the afternoon after a long drive. Our room was very spacious and clean and situated away from any road noise. The position is not near any shopping centres, but does have cafes and restaurants close by. As we are keen bike riders, the day after we arrived we hired two bikes and rode along the coast which is where we discovered where the shops were. Despite all of this our hosts were extremely nice and helpful.

Room Tip: If you do not have a car there is not a lot in the local area to see unless you like bike riding or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, Manager at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Yes ,we agree the bike trails (180km of them) are a great way to explore Hawkes Bay.You can bike the winery trail, the estuary water trail and you can join the trail just metres away
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed at the motel and the room was very spacious with a nice private area outside at the back.

Very clean and well maintained with good facilities and was very quiet.

The owners were away and the motel was being well looked after in their absence.

The motel is not in the centre of Napier and is in a very scenic area in Ahuriri where there is a lovely harbour within walking distance with some great restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asascore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Yes,we also enjoy the area .It has everything here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
2.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairley Motor Lodge

Property: Fairley Motor Lodge
Address: 1 Tareha St (off Meeanee Quay) | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand (Formerly Best Western Fairley Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairley Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy true Kiwi hospitality & exceptional comfort (Qualmark 4 star plus) at Fairley Motor Lodge. Superb location, just minutes from Napier's vibrant city centre, across from the harbour village of Ahuriri with restaurants, galleries, Art Deco, sailing, Westshore Beach & Ahuriri Wildlife Estuary giving endless options at your doorstep. Your hosts Hugh and Jane have extensive local knowledge and offer personal service to guests. Fairley offers spacious motel accommodation, most units with a double spa bath, cooking facilities, 32in Sky TV, private courtyards or patio areas. Queen and super king beds. One and two bedroom units have two TVs. Air-conditioning in all units. High quality triple sheeting bed linen and superb selection of teas & coffee. Newspaper and late checkout available on request. Free WIFI and free parking at you door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Fairley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing