We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great End to the Week”

Westshore Beach Inn
Ranked #17 of 198 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Filipino, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hawkes Bays oldest Pub still operating on its original site - 1925 when the current building was established. Licenced since 1851!! Westshore Beach Inn has become a firm favourite with locals and tourists alike. Napiers craft bier library- We have the most fabulous range of craft bier FRESH from the tap - Our own on site micro brewery 25 FREH biers on tap at any one time. Fill here - Take there....YES we fill Pots, Growlers, Camels n Riggers!! We have our Bistro with a fabulous lawn area that starts the day with lunch ( from 11.30am) then continuous through to dinner 7 days a week. The Bistro & Philippine Asian Kitchen all do simple fresh food with produce from Napier County and its artisans. Fresh Food NOT fast food from local suppliers is the mantra we operate to. Free range chicken and Verry's free range eggs feature on all menus. Our sustainably caught Fresh Fish is caught DAILY by Karl and Sarah from Better Fishing - It is the most superb flavour and texture - Often only a few hours since being caught. We are delighted to announce we have opened our Philippine Asian Kitchen with authentic and fresh flavours - OPEN dinner Tuesday to Sunday (Sunday lunch). Cheers & Beers The Bayliss family
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great End to the Week”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Once again the Westshore Beach Inn Bistro proved a winner. The steak was cooked to order and perfection and the presentation of the lamb matched its excellent flavour.
The staff were knowledgeable and helpful and the meal was served in a timely manner and we did not feel rushed.
It was a great way to celebrate the end of a week and good value for money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thanks for the review, nice to hear about things other than Ribs! Ha ha.......We are very happy with our staff and their passion to make people feel comfortable and relaxed. Cheers & Beers Jeremy Bayliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    49
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recycled Rebels lunch”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

As a group of retired bikers, we bike each Wednesday and choose different lunch stops. Last Wed. was the first at Westshore Bistro, but won't be the last!. Excellent food, and having mine host Jeremy come out to greet us, and provide a complimentary cold beer along with explanations of the various craft beers he stocks, was a very welcome bonus. And a young waitress with a winning smile also helps. Well done folks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Cheers guys, great to see some friendly faces. We are pretty keen on our craft beer with over 120 beers on Tap and in the fridge. Cheers & Beers Jeremy Bayliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Econo Lodge”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Spur of the moment to stop and stay.

Abosolutely great choice. Detached/separate little unassuming structures (on the outside).
Surprisingly top quality inside. Very enjoyable stay. Price was equivalant with surrounding area.
I wish I had read the reviews before (as I would have loved to have sampled the food their).
Never mind I think I shall return

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ahwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy B, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for the kind words about your stay. Hope we see you again and you get to enjoy the Bistro Cheers & Beers Jeremy Bayliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Can't Get Past the Ribs!!!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I keep trying but I can't get past the Ribs!!! They are so finger licking good! Great Service and Smiles from the staff, also execellent recommendations on the craft beers..but I can't get past the Ribs...if you are a local and you haven't been you a truely missing a delight...if you are passing through make sure you stop off...and grab a bite!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Ribs and more Ribs...Someone suggested that's all we should sell!! Luckily for the chefs its not - Although they love the feedback. Thanks and see you again soon. Cheers & Beers Jeremy Bayliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Scrummy Food - Great Range Food choices”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

What a great place to take your family or friends for a meal out. Lots of mouth watering choices on the menu - really spoilt for choice with a bit a dinner sharing going on at our table! Thanks...we'll be back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Yes, its funny nobody leaves here hungry...the whole idea of going out I suppose!! Thanks for review. Cheers & Beers Jeremy Bayliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westshore Beach Inn also viewed

 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Westshore Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing