We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creme Brulee - Yum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westshore Beach Inn

Westshore Beach Inn
Ranked #12 of 194 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Filipino, Bar, Asian, Pub, New Zealand, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hawkes Bays oldest Pub still operating on its original site - 1925 when the current building was established. Licenced since 1851!! Westshore Beach Inn has become a firm favourite with locals and tourists alike. Napiers craft bier library- We have the most fabulous range of craft bier FRESH from the tap - Our own on site micro brewery 25 FREH biers on tap at any one time. Fill here - Take there....YES we fill Pots, Growlers, Camels n Riggers!! We have our Bistro with a fabulous lawn area that starts the day with lunch ( from 11.30am) then continuous through to dinner 7 days a week. The Bistro & Philippine Asian Kitchen all do simple fresh food with produce from Napier County and its artisans. Fresh Food NOT fast food from local suppliers is the mantra we operate to. Free range chicken and Verry's free range eggs feature on all menus. Our sustainably caught Fresh Fish is caught DAILY by Karl and Sarah from Better Fishing - It is the most superb flavour and texture - Often only a few hours since being caught. We are delighted to announce we have opened our Philippine Asian Kitchen with authentic and fresh flavours - OPEN dinner Tuesday to Sunday (Sunday lunch). Cheers & Beers The Bayliss family
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Creme Brulee - Yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

three of us had an early dinner this evening. Started with garlic or cheesy bread. Fish - tick. Lamb Shank - tick. Chicken salad - tick. Creme Brulee - out of this world. Very pleasant unpretentious dining area with lovely waitress.
Small wine list - our first choice wasnt available but she recommended something else that we had never trie and it was a very acceptable substitut. Will go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Crème Brulee having a break...great new 70% chocolate tart - All our deserts are 'made here" nothing brought in except the Ice Cream. Thanks for coming over. Cheers & Beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    47
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
649 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Return visit proved memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My nephew pronounced them 'the best ribs he's ever had in NZ'. And I heartily agree! Service was excellent, space was warm & cozy & BONUS...the HD giant screen with the rugby was on during our meal. Large portions of delicious spareribs with salad & veg for 23 bucks is good value and warrants our top marks in all categories. Highest recommendations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Great, its a fun night when the rugby is on and everything is humming. Glad we kept our standards up in a very busy time...and the AB's had another win. Cheers & Beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ribs & Craft beer - Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Im a chef and a craft beer enthusiast, Last friday we had the pleasure of dinning at the westshore with the kids and another couple. We critically analysed the very interesting and wide ranging beers, as we devoured the plentyful, tender & sticky Ribs.
It was a perfect evening, highly recomend this to everyone!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks, yes craft bier is specialty, up to 70 different bottles, 14 on tap and nearly 40 breweries represented. Neat your kiddies felt safe and welcome. Cheers & Beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Beautiful meal in a great casual environment. Excellent choice of food and drink. Very friendly helpful staff. Their was no long wait for meals, which was important as we had young kids. Would recommend to anyone wanting a delicious meal at great prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review, we have just redone the kids menu with a few more healthy options. Glad the staff were understanding and food out quick for your family stay. Cheers & Beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Casual evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Really good, nice casual meal that was not expensive, the meal was inventive, well balanced in flavour, and also fulfilling it certainly delivered in flavour, while the establishment did in service, setting, staff and in particular the fantastic variety of craft beer including not only NZ's best, but also some of its best kept secrets. Please give this place a try, and don't just write it off as the "ol Westshore pub" you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MitchnBonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for nice review - Glad you enjoyed the Craft bier selection. Our goal is to be the best l'old pub in New Zealand. Cheers & Beers Jeremy Baylisss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westshore Beach Inn also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Westshore Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing