We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and rugby”

Westshore Beach Inn
Ranked #14 of 195 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Filipino, Bar, Asian, Pub, New Zealand, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hawkes Bays oldest Pub still operating on its original site - 1925 when the current building was established. Licenced since 1851!! Westshore Beach Inn has become a firm favourite with locals and tourists alike. Napiers craft bier library- We have the most fabulous range of craft bier FRESH from the tap - Our own on site micro brewery 25 FREH biers on tap at any one time. Fill here - Take there....YES we fill Pots, Growlers, Camels n Riggers!! We have our Bistro with a fabulous lawn area that starts the day with lunch ( from 11.30am) then continuous through to dinner 7 days a week. The Bistro & Philippine Asian Kitchen all do simple fresh food with produce from Napier County and its artisans. Fresh Food NOT fast food from local suppliers is the mantra we operate to. Free range chicken and Verry's free range eggs feature on all menus. Our sustainably caught Fresh Fish is caught DAILY by Karl and Sarah from Better Fishing - It is the most superb flavour and texture - Often only a few hours since being caught. We are delighted to announce we have opened our Philippine Asian Kitchen with authentic and fresh flavours - OPEN dinner Tuesday to Sunday (Sunday lunch). Cheers & Beers The Bayliss family
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“Great food and rugby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

The Westshore is the place to go and watch any sports game and have an excellent meal at the same time. My wife and me met up with a friend to watch a rugby game on one of the big screens and have a meal. We all 3 had one or the other fish meal. We all were very well take by the freshness of the fish. According to our host and owner, Jeremy, caught that day and brought in by one of the local fish suppliers. We all enjoyed our meals very much because it was topped of by a lovely home made apple crumble recommended Jeremy. Special note. They have 50 different beers in stock.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seitznz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Manager at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Must have been that Pink Elephant Craft Beer, kind words - Always fun serving people who like to laugh & have fun. Cheers & Beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    48
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding. Jeremy (owner) and Sandy (reception) can't do enough for their clients - quite overwhelming hospitality!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We are visiting NZ for 2.5 months and chose Napier for our stay. Our family from Wellington (and friends from Perth, Australia) joined us for a short time... Our landlady recommended Econo Lodge around the corner from our holiday pad. Sandy (reception) could not have been more helpful - and Jeremy - (owner) - was full of info on places to see and things to do. The accommodation at Econo Lodge is very clean and comfortable and the meals at Westshore Beach Inn are wholesome, hearty and well priced..... and it is a brilliant place to meet the folks in the bar and get to know the locals... All in all a great place to stay in Napier.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank irenemaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Manager at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
You are too kind - Yes Sandi is a gem. Hope to come back again next year to enjoy Napier. Hope Rangers survive!! Cheers & beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food: Scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We weren't quite sure what to expect as we walked in the door. It's a pub (we over-dressed) Once we walked in we then expected pub grub. Well - I guess it is pub grub, but as it should be!! I think if we had food half this good in anywhere else we'd be happy. The good also arrived really quickly. We had the pizza and the seafood platter followed by the best apple crumble. It was all very delicious and we can't wait to come back. Well worth the visit and the good reviews.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarawera99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
One thing with reviews is they need to reflect who you are - We as everyone knows are not fin dining. We just try and are committed to being the BEST "Pub" Bistro around. We are so glad you enjoyed what we had to offer and delivered. Thanks. Cheers & Beers Jeremy Bayliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great food great time had by all fantastic. Great service

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Awesome review thanks, will make sure the staff know!!! Cheers & Beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
“great pub food and what a beer selection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

nice food - the fish melted in my mouth. the selection of beers is amazing.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelmumo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Great, someone apart from me who loves great beer!! (haha) We only every use fresh fish, so I am rapt you noticed. Cheers & Beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westshore Beach Inn also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Westshore Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing