We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmest BBH and GREAT hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toad Hall Backpackers
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Reviewed November 17, 2012

i stayed in toad hall for 4 weeks and enjoy there very very much! The lady host- Ruthie bakes great dessert and we have them almost everyday! the room is very clean and comfortable, the price is even better! if i visit napier next time, there is only home for me! love there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank museshao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Toad Hall Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 39 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

If you are looking for a very cheap motel type room, with the most comfortable bed in the cleanest room - you will be happy
If you are looking for a meeting place, with friendly guests, and a really inclusive vibe - you will be happy
If you are looking for clean backpackers accommodation with knowledgeable hosts and a social space - you will be in heaven
Couldn't be happier with our stay, thanks to Ruthie and Gareth. Surprised at how comfortable and clean a backpackers could be, in a huge ensuite room with a great bed and lovely linen
We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the ensuite room, fantastic value
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

..And I've stayed in A LOT! This place really, really is a home from home. Ruthie & Gareth are so welcoming and friendly, and will go out of their way to make sure you have a lovely time there. I've stayed here 3 times now & never once had any complaints.

The hostel is in a perfect location, a 5 min walk from the CBD and with a great roof terrace to hang out on in the summer. Rooms are great (I've stayed in a couple of different ones) - perfect if you're wanting a dorm or a private room, a great price and really comfy & clean.

But the best thing about this hostel is definitely the atmosphere! It has a great games room downstairs where you can hang out til the small hours if you so wish without disturbing anyone, a lovely lounge area to socialise and watch TV, the awesome roof terrace, and a really well-equipped kitchen to cook up a nice dinner (and enjoy Ruthie's amazing cakes!) A lot of the guests are long-termers so it's really easy to make friends, and for the short termers its a great place to meet people too.

Definitely recommend this place to anyone going through Napier - it's the best!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maisie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The best hostel I stayed in during my trip to New Zealand. Ruthie and Gareth are exceptional people, who are more than willing to help you out with anything you need. I Have to say they really make the place what it is! Theres generally a good mix of longer term people and people who are staying for a few nights and the social aspect is good. I made many good friends here during my stay.

The building itself is centrally located and close to everything in the city, amazing roof terrace which is a real plus point to the building. The rooms (myself and my partner stayed in several during our stay) are decent sized with comfy beds. The place is clean and tidy.

I'd recommend Toadhall to everyone travelling through Napier on a budget and will certainly go back there the next time I'm in Napier.

Thanks for everything Ruthie and Gareth

Room Tip: Room 1 costs a bit more but is well worth it
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevec776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Ruthie and Gareth are one of a kind. The really made the hostel what it is. Greatest hostel in the islands.

Beds are comfortable, facilities regularly cleaned, and people are top notch.

Room Tip: Single room has its own shower and toilet. Best room in the place.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Being relatively new to backpacking, this was the first Hostel/Backpackers I stayed in, in New Zealand. The atmosphere was very pleasant and relaxing, with a mix of young and older visitors. Plenty of space in the kitchen, a wonderful rooftop to hang out on and watch the sun set, and a popular 'lounge'/social room.

The owners were incredibly welcoming and friendly, always up for a chat, and greeted you with a smile every time they saw you (no mater how many times you came through the door during the day). They offered some excellent suggestions on things to do in Napier, things they had done themselves.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaomiM452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here for one night, it looks a bit old and shabby from first glance, everything is clean though. Owner is very nice and everyone gathered in the evening to socialize in the living dining room area. Nice little deck in the roof to catch the last bit of
Sunshine ! the night we stayed there were young drunk youths outside but it was the bronze
Medal rugby finals so I guess that it's not the case everynight, it was ok but I'd probably go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shetland5497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Napier
YHA Napier
#9 of 34 in Napier
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Archies Bunker Backpackers
0.2 mi away
The Dome
The Dome
#5 of 34 in Napier
131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toad Hall Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toad Hall Backpackers

Address: 11 Shakespeare Road | Bluff Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range: $40 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located city accommodation. Breakfast is included in room rates. Room types to suit your needs. Self-catering kitchen, TV room, games room, outdoor areas with barbecue and views over the city. We make it easy for you to enjoy Napier. Book on-line or call us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing