We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Bearnaise Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Maison Bearnaise is what you imagine when you think of the perfect B&B. The rooms and the home are lovely. There is a comfortable living room setup to enjoy. And the grounds and gardens are absolutely gorgeous! Not to mention great home-cooked breakfasts.

But the owner Chris is what sets apart Maison Bearnaise. She couldn't be nicer or more helpful. Her tips on local attractions were right on the money, and she always volunteered to call and make any necessary arrangements. We experienced some problems with our rent car while we were there, and she was incredibly valuable in helping us get this resolved, even though she was busy and she needn't have gone to the extra trouble.

I can't recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelers058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 16 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

Maison Bearnaise is one of those B&B which gives you a feeling of being at home. Christine as host does an impressive job - the hospitality was great and she fulfilled all our wishes. She gave us extraordinary tipps for eating and things to do. The room are cosy - espacially the beds are very comfortable. The cleanness of the room is as you expected it at home.
The villa is a nice old building with a nice flair - the garden invites to stay outside.
We had a very lovely stay at Maison Bearnaise and we can truly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cako2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

If you're looking for a relaxing home all the positives -- charming hostess, lovely rooms, spectacular garden with lovely view, close to Napier but quiet location -- you'll find what you're looking for at Maison Bearnaise. My husband and I have traveled to New Zealand repeatedly from the west coast of the United States over the past 15 years, and we've returned several times to Maison Bearnaise. We really can't say enough positives about Chris -- she knows Napier and the region very well, offers thoughtful suggestions of how to make the most of a visit (geared to the guests' interests), and is an overall incredibly warm and wonderful hostess. Her breakfasts are indeed remarkable and will start your day spectacularly, whatever your culinary preferences. We enjoyed lovely discussions with Chris and Graham in the garden (she is very knowledgable about flowers too), sipping yummy NZ wine. The rooms are big and easily accessible (I was in a wheelchair for outdoor movements on our last visit), clean and comfortable. Just off the beaten path, Maison Bearnaise is on the bluff overlooking Napier, but is close to the city and to the winelands of Hawke's Bay. We recommend Chris and her B&B to our friends, several of whom have stayed there on trips to NZ and thanked us for pointing us in the direction of a spectacular B&B.

Room Tip: The corner room off the living room is the most spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We have traveled to New Zealand seven times, staying almost exclusively in B&Bs. Of all the wonderful places we have stayed, Maison Béarnaise is our favorite. We made a special trip to Napier on this visit to see Chris (Christine) and Graham again -- and to re-visit Napier and the nearby Hawke's Bay vineyards. Maison Béarnaise is a lovely home with spacious, well appointed and clean rooms (wish we had taken pictures), a fantastic garden with views of the sea, and a hostess who makes the place seem like home very fast. Chris goes the extra miles for guests: she enthusiastically helped us with suggestions of new vineyards to visit, off-the-beaten path restaurants, specialty shops, and even where to find gas on the route north out of town. We love her breakfasts too -- she offers it all, from Kiwi fruit we've never seen/tasted in the U.S. to yogurt to perfect bacon, you'll remember your breakfast fondly. Located on Bluff Hill above Napier, Maison Béarnaise is quiet and convenient. A short walk takes you into town, and a short drive to spectacular vineyards. We'll visit again. Ask for Chris.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Maison Bearnaise is a beautiful 100 year old villa on the bluff with views of the sea. Christine is a lovely lady, very passionate about her country. At breakfast every morning, she would help us plan our itinerary for the day, recommending places to visit and those to avoid! She would even recommend driving routes that took in the most amazing views.

Napier is a beautiful seaside town known for its fabulous Art Deco buidlings. Christine recommended a free walking tour which took us round all the notable buildings which was very informative.

We stayed for 4 nights in a large bedroom with views over the garden. The room was spotless with a lovely comfortable bed. The room was spacious but a little spartan. But to be honest, we were only there to sleep and relax so it wasn't an issue.

We highly recommend Maison Bearnaise as a great base to tour Napier and Hawkes Bay area. Christine is a wonderful, warm lady, a fount of all knowledge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJSpinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stopped at the Napier Tourist Office and chose this B&B by chance more than anything. However, we were lucky: it turned out to be lovely. Situated high above the town on France Road, it is a nice spot to be located. Nearby are great views across Napier. It is a convenient short drive from the downtown area.

Christine's hospitality and room standard are first class. Nothing is too much trouble, and she spent a lot of time planning itineraries and making various recommendations. Her route around the vineyards was particularly good, and also showed off the local scenery beautifully. She is very attentive to her guests. Breakfasts were fabulous.

All in all an excellent B&B - Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Quiet location beautiful 100 year old house that looks brand new.
Great hosts full of great ideas on how to get the best out of a short stay.good amenities . Great family styled cooked breakfast. Will stay again . Ask for cris

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.2 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
939 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#9 of 46 in Napier
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
805 reviews
1 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Bearnaise Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Bearnaise Bed & Breakfast

Address: 25 France Road | Bluff Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: $109 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Bearnaise bed & breakfast offers a warm invitation to share their charming oasis of ever changing gardens. Both large guest rooms are privately appointed with en-suite bathrooms, Email access is available in the guest lounge. Relax in the sunny courtyard and savor delicious breakfast choices including homemade and local produce. Napier city is ten minutes walk away and a two minute drive to historic Ahuriri will provide many fine restaurant choices. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing